Ratings based on 270 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Scenic

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: remoteness
Cons: security, video surveillance
Location: not much nearby, town about 7 miles
Unfortunate experience, room was burglarized during wedding event
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nipomo, United States of America

Excellent Staff & Food

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Cons: Install security cameras and/or have security people roaming around
The food at both places was excellent. The staff was very attentive, from check in, to a problem with our air conditioner. The only bad thing was that my Uncle & Aunt's room got broken into, and her purse was stolen. Their room was on the back side of the resort. There should be security cameras especially on the back side of the resort. We were there for our Niece's wedding. Very nice!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maui, HI

WE WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Location: Genoa is beautiful and of course Lake Tahoe is not to be missed but there are much better places to stay than here.
We have stayed at Wally's many many times however, this trip made us never want to return. In the past we were treated nicely and our room was upgraded depending on availability. We had toured the property last April and although we decided not to buy, we really enjoyed the presentation and were actually reconsidering it this trip. Here's what we discovered....This is a timeshare resort so if you are not an owner or unwilling to do a presentation, they now give you the old outdated rooms. Also the price of the spa treatments as well as the cost of entry $60 ea just to use the facilities was ridiculous considering what you get. I am not sure where these changes are coming from but the entire reason we stay here is to enjoy the hot springs and NOW we are expected to pay $120 extra PER DAY to take a quick soak and sauna? $25 would be much more realistic for what they offer. The young lady at the hotel front desk was completely un-friendly and lacked basic hospitality skills. This was not a very busy time for the resort and she could have easily upgraded us to a nicer room or offered a 2 for 1 dinner or spa entry but she showed zero compassion or interest in easing our disappointment and frustration at these added costs and the shabby room. Again, we are 5 time REPEAT guests but that did not seem to factor in to her whatsoever. Without affordable access to the spa and hot springs, there is very little reason to stay at this resort. We won't be back
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and outdated

Posted Oct 18, 2016
The hotel looks nice from the outside but is old and outdated inside. The room appears to be from the early 90's. The carpet is ripped, stained and wornout. The bathroom is dated and needs to be gutted and redone. I would not recommend this hotel if in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NV

Terrible.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
This is a timeshare location. All they focus on is selling you a timeshare. Hot springs are an ADDITIONAL $50 a person. Total scam. Will never return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alamo, CA

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Genoa is a cute town. Hotel is comfortable + relatively quiet A very enjoyable environment. It is a great spot. Pools are very nice. With a short drive you can visit Tahoe and or Reno and retreat back to a quiet calm safe relaxing retreat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, FL

Great place, beautiful, serene location!

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Beautiful location, friendly staff. I would go back again to this hotel!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Watsonville, Ca

Super nice resort!

Posted Sep 6, 2016
This resort is in such a peaceful location! The staff is so friendly and welcoming! I enjoyed my stay, the resort couldn't have been any better.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA.

Unforgettable!!

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
It was really wonderful besides being my wife birthday. Unfortunately, there was no hair dryer, iron/table in the room as promised. Other than, it was an excellent stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reno

Lovely hotel and location

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The hots springs, the restaurants, nice rooms overall.
Cons: Get new mattresses for the pull out beds
Location: Go biking - you can do a round trip of 50 plus miles on lovely country roads, and it's not too steep. Afterwards you can soak in the hot springs.
Loved staying here EXCEPT for the pull out bed in the living room. It was so awful, I had to sleep on the floor. Other than that, we really enjoyed our stay, the kitchen, bathroom, and sleeping room were great. We loved our dinner at the restaurant, and breakfast at the cafe was very nice. If you enjoy cycling, bring your bike, there's great biking along the road that Wally's is on. We did the Groupon "dip and dine" which is a great deal considering they will charge you $50 plus / person to use the hot springs. For $20 more, you can get a lovely 3 course dinner and access to the hot springs.