Ratings based on 1,138 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tempe AZ

You get what you pay for.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: You definitely get what you pay for but I think you could maybe find a little bit of a nicer place for the same amount of money.
Cons: Everything. It just has overall rundown look that could be fixed with just a little TLC.
Location: The beach
The bathroom light was broken and the carpet was not affixed to the floor. If you peeled it back you could see the water damage underneath.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Hotel is run down. Old carpets, no smoke detector.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Big room, really old and dirty. In need of major renovation. A lot of money for a dirty old hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Retro and Close to the Beach

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Desk staff, Free parking garage, distance to beach and restaurants
Cons: The rooms need some updating (ex. Flat panel TVs in all rooms) Interior design.
Location: Manhattan Beach, Eateries
We spent one night at The Wave Manhattan Beach prior to concluding our vacation to LA and San Diego. The desk staff were great and helped get us our reservation straightened out with Expedia. Apparently our booking wasn't provided to the hotel. To accommodate our inconvenience the hotel provided us with a double room. That was really the only issue that we faced during our short stay. The beach is close, although parking can be difficult to find. There are plenty of restaurants in the area and best of all it's extremely close to LAX. Don't be confused, this isn't the Ritz Carlton, but a place to lay your head after a day away from your hotel room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Had a pleasant stay!

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Hotel fine for price paid. Stayed one week -happy.Check in smooth. Room comfortable. AC worked great in hot weather. Pool small, water dirty, leaves & feathers floating. Jacuzzi small but enough for short relaxation. Beds comfortable, sheets changed often, enough covers & blankets. Bathroom spacious however bathtub dirty and usually clogged, missing small garbage can (only one tiny per room). Stained and soiled three chairs for four occupants. Had to play "musical chairs" in order to eat anything by the table. Filthy carpet must go! Sorry. Could be replaced either with tiles or linoleum - more sanitary. Laundry room - great idea. Detergent vending machine only swallows quarters without dispensing any detergent packets. Breakfast room area nicely kept, clean, coffee hot, TV news. Breakfast boring, could add variation such as waffle maker.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, bad on all other accounts

Posted Jul 26, 2016
The hotel was dirty overall and we had an ant problem. The light was broken when we came in as well. The maintenance team was willing to fix it but the other members of the staff were not so nice. It was certainly just a place to sleep in - we wouldn't have relaxed there for a second.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Cons: Only thing that I did not like was the fact that the shower in the room did not work.
Location: hotel is a mile from the Manhattan beach pier.
Great experience at this hotel. Staff is very friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ct, usa

Get what you pay for.

Posted Jul 19, 2016
From reading other reviews I knew that the hotel would be old so in fairness I don't want to give a low rating for something I knew about and booked anyway. I know that it costs a great deal of money to renovate but it is not expensive to do little things. The pool area had orange cones above missing tiles. The outside of the pool looked like it hadn't been painted in years. My light switch cover was cracked in my room. A little more pride could've been taken in the appearance of the hotel. These things are not expensive to fix. The hotel was in a great location, was clean and had great receptionists, ESPECIALLY CHRIS !!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

El hotel está muy descuidado en su estructura.

Posted Jul 19, 2016
La estadía muy bien muy cerca de restaurantes, bancos y otras tiendas, lamentablemente la estructura interna está descuidada.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kansas city

not a nice hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: close to beach
Cons: so much to say
Location: the beach was 20 minutes away the only thing that was good.
nothing worked. had to change rooms because of dirty chairs and tv didn't work. 1 ice machine in the hotel and they had a washer and dry but it was broken. then had a pool that it was broken all around it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oakland, california

For price, ok

Posted Jul 12, 2016
The hotel seems to be trying to improve conditions on property. It seems understaffed, but those present do seem to be trying. Breakfast was minimal in quantity and quality. But the rate is lower than most in the area. Though not on the beach or in view of the water, it is close.