Ratings based on 1,270 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

LAX shuttle service

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Wave must be more specific about their LAX shuttle service.This is misrepresented and they admit that many people have been caught by service finishingredients at noon on weekdays. A further expense and wasted time sorting out the situation when shuttle failed to turn up, very annoying. They did not seem very concerned about their failure to provide the advertised service or their failure to rectify the situation over an extended time period.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

False advertisement of free airport shuttle

Posted Jul 9, 2017
We chose this hotel to stay for one night close by the airport, before heading out to our California road trip. Expedia and the hotel advertise FREE Airport Shuttle service, which was the main reason to choose this hotel. Upon arrival at LAX airport (around 10:00pm) and calling the hotel, we got the information that the shuttle does not operate anymore that day. A cab ride is about USD 25.- from the airport. When checking in, we asked the staff at the front desk about a refund of the taxi fee and were told that only the manager would be able to offer such, but would not be in the hotel until the next morning between 9:00-10:00am. We planned on leaving at 7:00am in the morning, so this was not an option. Bottom line, this false advertisement caused that we paid a room rate plus a USD 25.- cab ride. At the end of the day, staying at a true airport hotel, i.e. one of the larger hotel chains, might charge a higher room rate, but the all-in costs would have been equal or less.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from albuquerque

ok for the price

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: the bathroom
Cons: a/c needs to be fixed.
Location: ok location.
nice bathroom and shower, very stiff bed. and very noisy a/c.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's just ok

Posted Jul 1, 2017
The room was clean, parking was free, free breakfast was blah, it's under renovation, but still a very old building, it was ok to stay for what it was, one night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S.Korea

It will be nice hotel after finishing renovation.

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Still renovation works are going on. Only few rooms are available.I booked 2 queen rooms but they gave me a gueen room and 2 single rooms. The queen room is given was so terrible and full of smoking odor. I think this hotel is good for heavy smokers.there is no non-smoking room in this hotel.specially I do not recommend this hotel for family who accompanied with kids.but recommend for heavy smokers.this is heaven of heavy smokers.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from r

Hotel close to beach

Posted May 30, 2017
If you are looking for a short walk to the beach! This is a good place to stay. But the facility is crappy pool and jacuzzi are both filthy. I would not recommend this place to anybody.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Not what I expected for the rating

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: Location was convenient, but was overpriced and over rated on stars. This is a bit of a stretch at 2 star hotel.
Cons: Start with a good cleaning, new paint and constant building maintenance for pleasant appearance. Install Dimmable light switches!
Location: reasonably close to shops, food and ocean.
Kind of a worn place. Currently under Renovation, Disgusting pool, empty and gross Jacuzzi, Noisy refrigerator. Lighting way too bright and not Dimmable esp. the lights over the beds! Tv on wrong input and took us a few minutes to figure out why snowy picture, desk drawer inserted upside down, coffee maker not assembled plus rusty. Beds seem just above the bottom bargain kind (at least we didn't get poked by the springs) Pillows were flat like what used to get on a airplane and don't deserve to be called pillows. Light switch cover in bathroom did not fully cover the wall cutout and for just being remodeled clearly poor workmanship!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted May 24, 2017
Staff was very nice and helpful! They let me check in early. Had an issue with the toilet and they came and fixed it right away. Clean rooms and a nice breakfast. Pool was not opened but it wasn't a big deal for us. I would stay here again for sure!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boise, ID

Borderline false advertising

Posted May 21, 2017
The beautiful picture with cool lighting makes this look like a modern, clean and funky hotel. In reality it was miserable, the pool was effectively abandoned- a magazine floating in it, and closed, with no work evident. The rest of the hotel looks out of date and dirty. The Airport shuttle that was advertised only runs until NOON. So if you arrive in the afternoon or evening, (you know, when you can actually check in), you're paying for that yourself.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2017
Hotel under renovation; pool closed; very minimalist decor, breakfast set up and other amenities