Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right in the middle of everything.

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Easy to walk everywhere or take the metro. Great places right there for good meals, and good coffee shops.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but rooms not nice

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Good location but the room had a very narrow window with etchy glass. Not very clean. Stuff don't speak English
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
The location is excellent but apart from that this is not a hotel to recommend. It's extremely noisy at night. The shower inside the room started to leak a lot of water and the staff was very rude about it. Very unprofessional.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice convenient budget hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
This is a budget hotel/room right in the centre of Madrid. Very little English spoken, however the receptionists were pleasant and helpful, allowing us to leave our bags until the evening on the day we checked out. Our en suite room suited our needs. Clean enough. Fridge, TV and a safe (one euro each time you open/close). Lift worked. Lots of eateries, bars with live music and the city tour bus etc just steps from the hotel. Great convenient location. Our only issue was the noise (revellers, rubbish collections etc) in the streets below well into the early hours - and beyond!! If you are looking for a convenient budget hotel right in the near Sol - this could be the place for you BUT TAKE YOUR EAR PLUGS!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Sol

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Proximity to the sol, just around the corner from Sol. The convenience for going out was the main reason we chose the hotel.
The room was small but that was expected. The staff were not always the most friendly, we could hear them arguing with each other and overall it was a little uncomfortable. Also if you don't speak spanish plan to have trouble communicating. The bathrooms were clean and the was a shower, but no toilet inside the room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cairo egypt

The best thing it is near Puerto del sol

Posted Jan 7, 2016
It fits slim guys only. And I mean it. Only slim couples
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super Central Hostal

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
Loved the location of this hostal. Amazingly close to Sol and Gran Via for the price. The rooms aren't large, but are very clean and there is 24 hour reception with good wifi in the rooms. I would stay here again!
2 out of 5
by Ana

Not staying here again

Posted Jul 30, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was good for the price and the location is great as far as things to do in Madrid. The only reason I rated it low was because the owner was very rude from the beginning and after I asked for a sheet to cover up with in bed he became belligerent and disconnected the air conditioner while we were gone so that we could not use it the next night. We were sweating while attempting to sleep through the city that doesn't sleep. Needless to say, I would not stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Boston MA

Adequate Lodging, Great Location

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: The FuenteSol is steps away from Puerta del Sol and public transportation, and a walkable distance from several major museums, including the Prado.
Cons: Be forewarned that the Puerta del Sol location -- mostly an asset -- can be rather noisy, and there's noise wuthin the building as well..
We spent two nights at FuenteSol. The accommodations are very basic, but clean and perfectly adequate for a short transitional stay. The private bath was better than anticipated. The staff was friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by Siddhartha from Pittsburgh, PA

Fuentesol review

Posted Jan 29, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed 2 nights in Hostal Fuentesol, in a single room. The room was fairly small, and there was a little shower inside but the toilets are shared in the hall. Overall, I thought the room and service was fine, since I was traveling by myself. I also think it might help to speak some Spanish with the staff (I did not try speaking in English, so I'm not sure). It was fairly economical, and the main attraction is the central location just adjacent to Sol, which is very convenient. I think there are some larger rooms with 2 beds for example, but for a solo traveler, I think this room is fine.