Ratings based on 1,466 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Old Small room

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Lower price
Location: Good
Best to forget ...Ro om was old and small, certainly not 4 star.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Decent hotel overall. Quick early check in. Elevators very small and slow. Room was nice, but shower head was very low especially for anyone tall. Minimal water volume and water sprayed everywhere from tub faucet when shower in use. Checkout very easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham UK

Ticks all the boxes

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Just back from NYC four night break at the Marriott East Side. Hotel is in a decent location and can walk to many of the main tourist sites which are situated mid town. This hotel is situated on Lexington Ave / 49th street which makes transport easy, the East subway is situated around 400m at 53rd street which links you to downtown and Jamaica station which then links to JFK airport. We found this very useful and used the Subway and airtrain (Jamaica station to JFK) both ways as our flight times both coincided with rush hour. The journey from JFK to hotel via the train/subway takes around 1hr 10mins, very useful. The hotel itself is well maintained and the furnishings are very comfortable and I enjoyed my stay here. On arrival it was a swift check in, they had all my details to hand, quick swipe of my card and given the room key, no sales pitches or additional fees etc. The room on the 28th floor was a generous size and much bigger than we would get in the uk, the view wasn't great but there were other rooms at the booking point which ŵith the additional cost would have perhaps given a better view. The room itself was very good, bathroom very good, bed very good, can't really fault it. Overall I would recommend and was happy with the price I had paid for this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Terrible Experience!!

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Not much!!
Arrived Hotel after 1am. Couldn't have a shower as water was brownish. In the morning water was really brown. Had to wash from basin warming water by the glas in coffee maker. Staff lent husband another room to shower. This was like shared facilities having to walk down the corridor with your showering gear. Disgusting for the price we paid. Returned to hotel around 10pm to find water was still brown & only warm. Complained again so then had to pack everything to move at 11pm to a new room. Sam and Josh were very nice as was the Lady at the concierge desk. Staff at Reception on the third day of our stay were rude and didn't seem keen to help us regarding a Tour Group check-in problem. After 3 weeks travelling in the US and not having any problems with accommodation this hotel was so disappointing at a time we required a rest. Would never return!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Dated Hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: location and ease of check in; price
Cons: some of the staff seems disinterested; the place could use a facelift in general; there is very limited seating in the lobby; wifi isn't free :(
Location: location is great (midtown) with easy access to the Metro and attractions
The location is great. The check-in was easy and the staff at the front desk and the bell desk were friendly and helpful. However, the hotel bar staff was slow and lacked service generally. We had a suite with 2 double beds, and a sofa bed in a separate room. The room was dark and there was a constant humming noise coming from outside - that really impacted out stay. It sounded like a generator... The bathroom had mold and someone (a prior guest) had left clothing in one of the drawers. There is no free Wifi in the rooms - only in the lobby (which lacks seating). The hotel (decor and staff) is dated. But, if you like OK - then you'll be happy. We got a good deal and liked the location - but, won't stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Great location

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Great vacation, clean Rooms, location was Convient to every think we were wanting to do
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Argentina

Nice location, terrible rooms

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: the rooms
Location: shopping, restaurants
Too expensive for the extremely small and old rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2017
This hotel was very clean, staff was excellent and when we needed a car to get us to the airport the staff were very prompt. It was a wonderful stay
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jul 10, 2017
The room was a nice size. The view and the placement of the toilet in the bathroom were less than desirable. Great location not too far from 3 major attractions. Staff was super friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Good hotel, bad first impressions.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Cons: Reliability
Location: Close to everything.
I just stayed at this hotel and I must say that it was not one of the best Marriott experiences I've had. For the most part my stay was not bad, but the first day when I went in to check in the receptionist told me that they didn't have a room available yet (ELITE Member) and that they would call me when my room became available. That was at 10AM and it wasn't until 7:30 that I actually showed up at the hotel that they gave me a room. They wouldn't have called me otherwise, I checked again and they had the correct phone number. I don't know why that had to happen. It was pretty much the only unpleasant experience I had, but the first impressions always mark your overall experience.