Ratings based on 329 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire

Was attending a conference at the same venue.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: good value with helpful pleasant staff
Cons: cant think of anything
Location: not sure as I didn't leave the hotel
brilliant - friendly helpful staff, clean comfortable room. Used the swimming pool, wonderful. Bar meal was good, breakfast was excellent. Good parking. Conference facilities were good and the buffet lunch had plenty of choice. Would recommend staying here
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

The Belfry Struck Only One Bad Note

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: See aboveok
Cons: Better Breakfast
Location: Ok just used as an overnight stop when traveling North
The breakfast was poor. The coffee, cereals and toast were good. Only a margarine was available no butter. The hot food was dry and lukewarm. The hotel, staff and facilities were good. Pity it was let down by a poor breakfast. The restaurant where we had dinner was very good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brentwood

Clean and Comfortable....

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Advised them we would be arriving early and requested early check in. We arrived even earlier and unsurprisingly were told our room was not ready but we were shown where all the facilities were. Moments after walking away, we were called back as our room was ready. One lady at reception asked if I needed a taxi booked as she heard me say we were going out at 3pm. I thought that was good of her to notice. The room was very spacious and clean. We visited the spa. The staff there was all very friendly and helpful. Had some lunch Iunch in the bar. Waited a few minutes as the bar as nobody was there, then a gentlemen who was chatting to a guest seemed to notice me and quickly came to take my order. I think he was a manager so I thought it was good that he didn't leave me waiting for the usual staff. I heard a glass smash In the kitchen so think she was attending to a mishap. Lunch arrived, wrong drink (appletize instead of apple juice). They offered to change it but I took it anyway as I wasn't that fussed. Sandwich looked unappetizing and wasn't great. Brown bread instead of granary and it didn't seem very fresh either. Ate out that night as wasn't filled either confidence with hotel food. My bed was comfortable enough but mums was dipping to one side so she didn't sleep so well. The shower in the morning was running from lukewarm to cold. Breakfast was good. Check out excellent. The lady from the day before greeted me by name and was very efficient. (Claire).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Wedding Night overshadowed

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Pros: Rooms clean and modern.
Cons: Staff (specifically night staff)
Location: Off the M1, on a business park. Great if you have a car, no bus service.
After arriving after a wedding, the bride, groom, bridesmaids (me included) and groomsmen all arrived to have a farewell drink together, without the buzz of the other guests, chat about the day and have breakfast in the morning. We arrive with a 'grunt' from the receptionist, with no congratulations, information about breakfast, how to get to our room etc. After climbing over dried up smelly sick in the corridor to find our rooms which were very clean and modern, we all dropped off our bags to head back to the bar. Informing the receptionist of the sick in the corridor again replied with a 'grunt' We asked where the bartender might be, as it's advertised as a 24-hour bar, again with a can't be bothered' attitude, another gentleman appeared at the bar to attend our needs. When checking out we all informed the receptionist of the issues who were more than apologetic, it's a shame they couldn't have been there for the night shift. A day later I was informed the groom contacted the hotel to inform the manager, who advised he would be in further contact. Still no reply a week later. Just disappointed for the amount of money you pay for the hotel, what ever hour you should still get the same service. VERY disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Nice stay with great breakfast

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Room was nice, staff were friendly and helpful
Cons: Food and prices in the restaurant
A very busy hotel but it was a nice stay, the room was spacious, well equipped and clean. Dinner in the restaurant was overpriced and bland (Burger and Tuna dishes). Staff were friendly and welcoming. Spa facility was good although very busy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Emma

Amazing hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
We upgraded to a larger room and it was huge, the room and bathroom were clean. The gym and spa was amazing and not too busy. The hotel itself was busy with a wedding and hen parties but it didn't effect our stay. It was a 20 min drive to the centre but we would still stay again. The one issue was that after 12 drinks from the bar had to be charged to the room which we weren't keen on but thats their licencing policy so not their fault.
4 out of 5
by Robert

good hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
A very pleasant stay in nice hotel. The staff were very pleasant and he Ful.
5 out of 5
by Shelley

Best hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
We could not fault anything, from the staff to the cleanliness, one of the best hotel we have stayed in.