Ratings based on 156 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Fine. Good if attending event there.

Posted Nov 26, 2016
A little worn. Bathroom could use an update and the toiletries were just adequate. Check-in staff and waitress lovely.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Grand, but actually decent

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Location: No idea.
The Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel provides all the services of a three-star hotel. But the bar closed at 10. And breakfast starts at 7. I needed a little later at the bar, since I came at about 10:30 and I had to leave for work before 7. The room is nice, but really standard in amenities. Comfortable bed and pillows. Nice towels and bathroom amenities. Shuttle to/from Amtrak. Not anywhere else that I needed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Perfectly fine hotel!

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: The Poughkeepsie Grand is conveniently located, clean, and comfortable.
Cons: The pillows could be improved, but they weren't terrible.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Chihuly Surprise

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: The beautiful Cihuly glasswork and the proximity to two great restaurants. Free parking
Location: Across from bus station and two blocks from Main Street.
The hotel right off Main Street is decorated with beautiful Chihuly glass chandeliers and sconces. There are two excellent restaurants two block from the hotel. Breakfast was better than average. Large room and bath with small refrigerator and coffee pot. Free parking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice!

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Great place to stay...nice staff at front desk and bar!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Nice, but not worth the price

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Close to the river.
Cons: Price! This room should have been 150 tops.
Location: Close to the river, about 3 blocks from a nice park and coupe of nice places to eat.
Nice room, but nothing over the top. In a not so good section of town, but close to the river.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Lee, NJ

Not many other options

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The room had been recently renovated, so it was clean and looked pretty good. The breakfast was also quite abundant.
Cons: Basic functions of all rooms and facilities need to be checked. The property needs some staff with professional hotel management training.
Location: The Culinary Institute of America is a foodie's dream! There is also lots to do in Hyde park - Vanderbuilt Mansion, Roosevelt Library.
If your looking for a hotel around the Culinary Institute of America there are not a lot of options. But keep in mind the term "Grand" can be deceptive. This is NOT an upscale hotel. The staff lack the experience and professionalism of a upscale property and the rooms while acceptable are far from high-end. In our room, the coffee maker did not work, numerous outlets were nonfunctional, and the television remote barely was able to change the channels (needed batteries). We had dinner at CIA and were told that the hotel would pick us up if we called, after dinner...took them over an hour to get there...we could have walked the 4 miles quicker.
3 out of 5
by seth from 06770

ok

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
decent hotel not worth $250 a night by any means, seriously in need of updating you can tell its old and everything has seen better days. They give you a nice breakfast which is good and have a nice bar in lobby. Also no ice maker on 4th floor is annoying. Not bad but not great either.
3 out of 5
by Mike

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Amanda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels