Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver island, Canada

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Cons: Breakfast saved after 8h is not really convenient. I would think this could be improved.
Location: You need to walk a fair distance to get to any restaurant or any other services but the area is once and I would say safe to walk any where close by.
We had a room for 4 and it was very nice and spacious, we were very happy about the room. Staff were great.,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2014 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Enrique Gomez from KY

Not the best

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels
Lets start with access to the hotel. As for June 2014 the road in front of the hotel is under construction, so, there is no access to the hotel. Either you walk with your suitcase or try to get some help. The hotel sent an email stating they were going to sent somebody to pick us up from the airport and they confirm the date and time and at the end nobody went. Once you arrive to the hotel, the service is very informal but polite. The rooms have only fans, the first room was super simple, no TV, the night tables were empty plastic containers and the fan had no cover. The second room was a bit better but equally simple. Breakfast was simple but with good flavor. Only one person in charge of the breakfast. Getting in and out the hotel was the worse, you had to walk for 10 min to get a taxy. After 6pm is not a good idea to walk around the neighborhood because you feel unsafe. If you are traveling on a low budget and just want a place to sleep, this is ok. Otherwise...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Howard from Santiago, Chile

Classic Rio

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: This is not your typical Rio hotel. It is not near beaches or bars, and it has a character all its own.
Cons: When access improves, which is not under their control, the hotel would be all the more desirable.
We had a comfortable two nights at the Mangomango. The staff was very helpful and polite in all respects. The room was very large and comfortable. Once we understood how to get up there (there is a lot of construction on the steep road leading to the hotel) it was close to the places we wanted to visit; the Municipal theater, the Corcovado, the Art Museum, and the famous tiled steps.
4 out of 5
by Betsymexico from McAllen, Texas

EXCELLENT CUSTOMER RELATIONS

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels
The staff went over and beyond what was expected. I would return in a minute. Many, many stairs, not good for older persons. Great breakfast in a family environment. Very recommendable.
4 out of 5
by peter b from braidwood

great place but

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels
overall place and every thing about it including breakfast were great even the overall location it just has poor road acess up a steep hill but at moment there was major repairs happening the full length of the road and so made it hard
4 out of 5
by Damgaard from Copenhagen

Great hide-away in St Teresa

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels
A very cool hotel in the old part of Rio and with a considerable history. Rooms simple but very clean and comfortable. Very hot in high summer, but otherwise very good location. NIce service and great caipirinhas!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yami from Panama

PLEASE READ!

Posted Oct 16, 2013
The hotel has a good location, its very neat and very cozy, as long as you dont walk around. PLEASE ALWAYS USE BUS OR CAB. DO NOT WALK around this area, beware of motorcycles and avoid being in the street alone. We got followed and robed on a monday at 10am by two guys in a motorcycle around 20 feet from the hotel. This area is very calmed, but they came from down the hill where is more dangerous, and the street was not too crowded. There were like 3 other people walking in the street, but we were carrying one backpack to go to the beach. I guess that's why we were more interesting for them. The area is OK, just DONT walk around, call a cab in the hotel or wait for the bus inside the fence of the hotel. We were ok this way for about 3 days and nights, then the 4th we decided to take a walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good budget hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2013
The property is like a garden on the side of a hill, very pleasent. My room was basic (no TV etc, didn't miss it) but nicely decorated and very clean. Staff is helpful and speaks english. Couldn't use the internet in my room which was a bit up the hill from the main building; in the reception area there is a decent connection though, reasonably fast (and free). Take a left (up hill) to get to a few restaurants and bars in the Santa Teresa neighborhood; or go right (down hill) to Lappa. You'll need to take the bus or taxi to get to Ipanema of Copacabana beaches etc Overall, a good budget option in Rio.
4 out of 5
by Taku from Washington DC

Difficult to rate for others

Posted Aug 5, 2013 on Hotels
After all, I liked this place, mainly because of my overall experience with the staff and my exploration of the city. However, the room that I got had a problem with pluming in the bath room and smelled bad every now and then. I really hope they fix this problem as soon as possible. In addition, the room was a loft, and the space on the ground floor was basically useless. I did not mind as I was alone. Cleanliness of room and hotel was good with very unique characters--not like a regular hotel. Quality of service can vary, depending on who is available to respond. The hotel had a pool, but no one was using it. The hotel location is probably one important factor for a discussion. It somehow worked for me, managing to find a bus/a van, but a few taxies refused to give me a ride from Lapa to this place, probably because it's too close and streets are made of cobblestones. During the daytime, it's fine to walk, but not after the sunset, I felt. But if you can overcome this transportation problem, it's a very convenient place to access Lapa. For your information, although this trip was not, I used to a lot of backpacking trips. In addition, this place hosted also elderly/middle-aged couples.