Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Friendly staff but rooms need work

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, comfortable rooms and good breakfast area.
Cons: Hallway appearance, doors need replacement on rooms. The shower area needs to be redone. The constant laying of caulk on caulk just doesn't cut it.
Location: Great location!! Easy to find and tons of food within walking distance.
The lady at the front desk was extremely nice. I had zero issues checking in. The carpet down the hallway is quite worn and the doors for all rooms really need replacement. The rooms themselves were quite nice except for the shower area. The maintenance people painted the walls within the bathroom but neglected to paint behind the toilet which can be seen from all angles. Nice beds and right off the main drag on Broad St. Tons of food around!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Had to wait a bit for service but was well received when given attention.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dontLikeSurprises

NO surprises please!!!

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Don't understand why you can't pay in cash. Not everyone lives by the plastic!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel, convenient, and good location

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: House keeping and maintenance
Location: Lots of restaurants
This hotel would be just a bit better if the property was maintained accordingly. My door jamb looked liked someone pried it open...carpet was filthy, and the room was dirty and run down. Not sure how several pieces of hair end up on a "newly made" bed, and why hair is still on the cleaned sink. There was a water leak from the ceiling right in front of my door, a bucket half full of water just sitting there. Have to assume it was leaking for a while, where is the maintenance folks? I'm sure not all the rooms are in that condition, take a close look.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Funky smells and loud noises

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Pros: The hotel staff could not have been friendlier or more accommodating, comfortable beds, step-in shower, great fitness center, nice breakfast, location
Cons: Do something about the smell! Put a shut-off switch on the ice machine in the breakfast area--way too loud to carry on a conversation.
Location: Lots of different places to eat and shop
A++ for a friendly & accommodating staff! Two things, however, will keep me from staying there again. The rooms (and sometimes the halls) smell quite badly. My husband feels it is from smoking, I feel it's from moisture. The first room we had was unbearable (& the AC was loud and wasn't cooling well). The wardrobe also smelled, so I used it sparingly (there are only 3 small desk drawers for clothing/items so the wardrobe is a must) and didn't shut the doors. I thought I was getting used to it, but during the night when I rolled over in bed, it hit me again hard and I had to ask for a new room. The front desk attendant immediately moved us. The second room was much more spacious for the same price, but still had a smell (funky mixed with air freshener). It was more bearable, however, & the wardrobe didn't smell as bad. (Still have to air out my clothes I had stored in the wardrobes). This 2nd room was at the end of the hall right across from the vending room with the ice machine and across from the exit stairs. The ice machine noise was not a problem, but the doors to the vending room and stairs closed very hard with awful clangs. Luckily, I travel with earplugs. That's the first I've had to use them in a hotel though. Also, the nice breakfast area is ruined by the overbearing noise of the ice machine. It really should be shut off during breakfast hours (& no, that wouldn't hurt it; it would actually give the compressor a much-needed rest).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenville, NC

Decent hotel, terrible staff

Posted Mar 20, 2016
The room was what is to be expected for a 2 star hotel but I did have several issues. 1. My toilet was continuely running. 2. The phone in the room did not work. I called the front office about these 2 issues (using my personal phone) and the front desk was not very helpful with fixing the issues. They appologized but was not willing to fix anything. 3. I left an item in the shower and realized it hours after checkout and was too far away to turn around and retrieve it. I called the front desk and let's just say that it took 7 hours and numerous phone calls back to them to even get somewhat of an answer. An answer as to if the item was in the room or if house keeping kept or if they can ship it to me with me paying for the shipping. The front desk was very unhelpful and I felt as though it was not made a priority at all. We had to contact the manager at the comfort suites next door to get the sleep inn staff to actually do anything to retrieve the item.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2016
I had a workaholic stay no problems with anything at all. I will be returning soon and plan to book again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No tub

Posted Feb 29, 2016
Did not have a tub. My boyfriend and i were expecting to have a tub not just a shower. How romantic was that....no tub?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Parrish FL

Convenient hotel that met our expectations.

Posted Feb 29, 2016
Comfortable place to stay when you have to be in Sumter on business. Breakfast and wifi were nice pluses.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boynton beach, florida

Not good

Posted Jan 4, 2016
We had a very desapointing experience. the room was not ina good condition and we complained, the desk person said we will gave someone calling us back and we haven't heard from anyone...