Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Dead insects on the first floor. Large toenail on the first floor. Switched rooms due to the rooms being dirty. New rooms were dusty. Furniture scratched up, iron missing from my room, carpet needs to be replaced and the was sink pulling from the wall. I am fully aware that this isn't a five star establishment but if I wanted a room like this, I could have booked a hotel where you enter your room from the parking lot like Motel 6. LaQuinta or Comfort Suites would be a better alternative. The front desk ladies were great and the bed was made up appropriately and comfortable. The shower was nice. This location needs serious updates and more attention to detail by housekeeping. I originally was suppose to stay at The Marriott.............
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2018
Business trip. Convenient location. Other nearby options for next time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sumter SC

Posted Dec 25, 2017
I've stayed at Sleep Inn before and it's never been like this, dirty lobby, dirty elevator, I had to change rooms because the first one wasn't cleaned properly, I did get a better room, Sleep Inn is suppose to be better than this,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen, UK

Leaves a Bit to Be Desired But Good Price

Posted Dec 23, 2017
Pros: Hard to beat the price, breakfast was good, staff was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Cleanliness could be improved, and if anything could be done to sound-insulate the rooms that would be a major improvement.
Location: Sumter has a Starbucks now, very nearby!
This place has gone down in recent years. While the staff is excellent and the breakfast is good, the rooms are not particularly clean. My sister, in a different room (we were there for a death in the family in Sumter) had a dead cockroach in her bathroom. It was removed by the staff after two days. Her room had a strange smell. Mine smelled distinctly musty. The floor boards above my room creaked most of the night. The floors and the walls are too thin. I regularly heard arguments in other rooms, as well as other encounters I could have done without hearing. Two pieces of equipment in the fitness room were not functioning. I wouldn't recommend the Sumter Sleep Inn
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta Ga

Sleep inn high jack

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Early check in wasn't available even if there were rooms available , deposit for incidentals was too high. Overall I wouldn't be a return customer !! Too my competitors on Board st. that would love too have my business $$ (4star brands hotels) at the same price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jamestown,NC

Nice room.

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Shower in the bathroom had no towel rack so had to leave towels on the floor, otherwise nice room
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Bay, Fl.

Nice hotel close to restaurants

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Hotel was nice but a bit outdated. Could use a renovation. Staff was great, breakfast was good, room was clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pinewood, SC

Unexpected gem in Sumter

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pleasant surprise as an inexpensive room for this area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scarborough, UK

A comfortable stop-over hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Comfortable hotel, pleasant staff, very good breakfast, plenty of parking, a selection of restaurants close by for dinner in the evening. I'd use it again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Fit for a crackhead

Posted Oct 31, 2017
The entire hotel was nasty. The room appeared to have not been used in some time. There was a dust cover over the entire room. The floor of the room was spotted with trash. I had to use a baggage stand to prop up the desk cause it was broke. Bugs were found in the bathroom light and appeared to have been there some time. The walls were splashed with a dark sticky substance, which I assume was soda. When speaking to the staff they were either rude and/or didn't care. I pointed out that the entry floor mat hasn't been vacuumed over my 3 night stay and was told "oh yeah nobody cleans that area".