Ratings based on 1,905 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Best Hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: The hotel is walking distance to many great restaurants and close to many historic sites
I found rooms spacious and beds are perfect. Staff are very friendly and helpful. I would come back again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Very good location, large comfortable rooms.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Very good location, large rooms, comfortable beds. Staff in lobby very attentive.
Cons: Noise level a bit high...can hear hallways as the doors don't seal well both noise and light from hallways. Gym is too small.
Location: Just two blocks from DuPont Circle metro station.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Kostenloses Upgrade in eine höhere Zimmerkategorie, tolles großes Zimmer, schönes Bad, bequemes Bett, sehr zuvorkommendes Personal
Cons: Kleine Abstriche waren, dass man im Zimmer die Fenster nicht öffnen kann und das wlan im Zimmer teilweise schwach war.
Location: Bei Dupont Circle, angenehme Wohngegend, einige Lokale in der Nähe, eine U-Bahnststion zum Weißen Haus
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: staff and location
Cons: Italian sausage at urbana. it tasted like fish
Location: so many restaurants and bars. metro is close bagel shop across the street is awesome
wonderful hotel! staff was so friendly it is not "loud" like the other reviews stay. Nothing more than normal for hotels the room was nicely decorated and the location cant be beat.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Suite was not sweet...

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: The location was great near Dupont Circle, easy distance to the Metro and dining options.
Cons: The construction quality of the room left a lot to be desired.
Location: Easy access either by walking or Metro to all the traditional touristy things to see and do.
Since this hotel has such high ratings, I have to believe my experience is based more on the room type/location than the overall hotel. Reserved a suite and ended up on the second floor next to ballrooms and a view of a parking lot and fence. With a nicer room reservation, I would expect more. The hotel was sold out and I had a late check in. I suspect that had something to do with my room choice. The overall quality of the construction was poor. The sliding bathroom door left a two inch gap in coverage, so no privacy. Similar privacy issues to the adjoining room. If I can hear their alarm clock go off in the morning, what can they hear from my room? The ambience of the hotel was good, I think it just lacked in the execution physically.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The only place to stay

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Too many accolades toblist...this is my favorite place in D.C.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Nice Boutique Hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2016
A nice boutique hotel, only a few blocks away from Dupont Circle. I was particularly impressed with courtesy in terms of service. The room was clean, spacious and well kept. I'll definitely stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Why I was let down

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: It was close to some delicious food stops. 2 Blocks from metro is decent location.
Cons: Give customers their money worth. Downgrade the hotel to 2 stars 3 if you're being generous.
Location: Take the metro to see the sights, and the embassy row is fun to see.
Ill just list all the things wrong with my stay: Put my new fiance and I next to our future to be in laws (Obviously requested a change) To change they tried to upgrade me.. ok i get it its sales but the room was the same so no. Electrical problems in the bathroom, a scene out of a horror movie. It would randomly turn on and off and flicker, really creeepy. Hotel bed corners so sharp I now have cuts and bruises on them. All 4 of us traveling have cuts and bruises on our shins because of this. (Watch your step in the middle of the night) Backlighting on the bed didnt work Hotel cleaning didnt replenish wash clothes. Hotel soap sticks to the tray they give you to put it in. You need vice grips to get this bad boy out. The Hotel doors slam, and you can hear every single person on your floor who opens and closes their doors. The view was atrocious. The bed is a joke, they probably bought it from ikea. Hotel staff wasn't knowledgeable about where to eat in the area. Hotel doorman opened doors 50% of the time. Cheap wine served during 5-6pm. Pillows leave you with a neck cramp. The thermostat turns off in the night and you are left super hot and uncomfortable. I don't know what to say, I normally love traveling and have great luck with hotels. But honestly, this one wins the award for being my worst one I stayed at.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA Wine country

Bathroom was tiny

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: See comments above.
They were very short staffed, elevators, halls , etc, were dirty. Need to shampoo carpets. Room was nice, but bathroom was the tiniest I have ever seen. We were three people and barely one could fit in bathroom. No coffee pot in room, no key to mini bar. Lots of add on fees, including over $8 dollars to print a voucher out of their computer. Front door staff were surly and pushed people into taking taxis instead of UBER.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Fabulous stay in Dupont!

Posted Aug 30, 2016
My husband and I stayed at the Kimpton Palomar in Washington, DC for a long weekend. We chose this hotel based on the amazing reviews we read on Expedia and TripAdvisor and because it had a pool (although we didn’t end up using it, it was an ideal option to have with the heat wave we experienced!). The location is ideal – you can walk pretty much everywhere, from Georgetown to the White House and National Mall (we did all of the above and with ease!). The hotel itself was fabulous. Our room was HUGE and well appointed. The bedding was soft and the toiletries smelled amazing (they were Atelier Bloem and very nice!). The in-house restaurant, Urbana, was lovely and the happy hour was super well priced, delicious and convenient. The hotel also has complimentary coffee and tea every morning from 6-10am and a complimentary wine happy hour from 5-6pm every evening! Definitely a huge bonus! I mentioned we did not use the pool but saw it from the gym at it had plenty of space for guests to relax and unwind. The Fitness Center was great – super clean with great machines and accessories, towels, water and fresh fruit. Also, we do not have a pet but saw lots of dogs as the hotel is pet friendly! Another amenity we noticed but didn’t (and should have!) taken advantage of was the bicycle rentals. What a great way to get around town! Lastly, everyone we interacted with at the hotel was friendly and helpful. Thank you, Kimpton Palomar DC, for a wonderful stay. Will will certainly be back!