Ratings based on 4,221 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Great hotel in convenient location for all my business meetings. Friendly staff and lovely room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

excellent location next to dupont circle metro

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Staff is exceptionally courteous and helpful. My husband accidentally slipped on the street outside of hotel due to icy street, when back to hotel, they assisted me in taking care of his wounds PLUS follow up calls to see if he is ok. Makes a visitor feels very, warm and safe .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Attentive staff

Posted Mar 16, 2017
My last trip was eventful. I left my credit card in the cab, but the hotel staff - Julian - helped track it down, which saved me! Later there was a minor issue with my room where the blowing wind was making a loud howling sound. The staff gave me a new room, and a complimentary drink at the bar. This hotel is always a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

exceptional customer service

Posted Mar 14, 2017
The customer services were beyond exceptional. The staff were courteous and went above and beyond to ensure my stay was enjoyable. The first night, they upgraded me to a room with view. The second night, due to a forthcoming water shutdown in some part of the building, they moved me to a larger room with panoramic view plus a breakfast voucher.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: bartenders were slow at making drinks.
great location. loved the bar overlooking Dupont Circle. service good be quicker. cafe very good too. attractive common areas (bar and restaurant included) room layout was not great. bed and linens excellent would prefer in room coffee maker. servers, desk, doormen were all very friendly, professional and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Chicago. IL

Friendly, comfortable well-located hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Location: DuPont Circle is the heart of the action in DC. The hotel is walking distance to the Zoo, Foggy Bottom, White House, China Town.
When you check into a hotel, you are pretty much guaranteed that the first night you will toss and turn in an unfamiliar bed. Not here. Slept like a lamb. In fact, I woke up late! That's the downside of a comfortable bed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Horrible experience - beware of booking this hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Cons: Customer focus. Empathy. Better treatment of customers. More than two Bath towels. Cleaner bathroom area.
This was the most disappointing checkin experience I've ever had. When I arrive at the hotel at a reasonable time (about 4pm) to checkin to my room, the trainee at the front desk promptly informed me that they overbooked their hotel and that they went ahead and cancelled my reservation. Unbelievable. She then told me that they also went ahead and booked a room for me at a much more expensive hotel clear across town, and nowhere near where I needed to be. I asked the trainee to speak to the manager. The manager re-iterated the cancellation, and I told him that this was absolutely unacceptable. I asked why didn't they try to contact me? They could have easily called me to let me know beforehand, but there was no effort made to contact me until I got there. I stated that overbooking their hotel was their mistake, not mine, and that they needed to honor my reservation. The manager finally gave me my room key, so it was clear that there were in fact rooms available. My guess is that they were hoping to get me to pay for a more expensive room at another hotel. Untrustworthy and Shady. Totally horrible checkin experience and I will make it a point to never ever recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Gem in the heart of DC

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, good value, great location, room design.
Cons: Service in the bar could use some improvement but it is always very busy.
Location: Excellent location near DC Metro. All of DC is accessible.
Great location on Dupont Circle with easy access to the DC Metro. This 50s-era building has been completely updated with a sophisticated boutique hotel style. Heated bathroom floor is a nice detail. Extremely helpful and friendly staff from the bellman to the restaurant staff. Very attentive front desk staff and restaurant staff. The bar is very popular, but service can sometimes be lacking. Overall a great experience. I hope to return and recommend this gem to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Excellent Hotel Stay

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: I loved the location most of all. It was so close to everything.
Cons: The shutters on the windows are a little old and therefore didn't stay in the positions I'd have liked.
Location: Everywhere we wanted to go was a short Uber ride. We were so close to all the sights it was shocking. There are also tons of restaurants nearby.
I really liked this hotel. Wes stayed in one of the Grand Deluxe rooms and it was a really nice option. The best thing about it is that we were close to all the sights in D.C. The check-in was smooth and effortless, be careful with Valet as it is a tad bit expensive compared to other places I've stayed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Would not recommend this place

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Staff was nice and good location
Cons: Organization and management
Location: Good location, plenty of restaurants and close to train/metro
Hotel was in great location but 1) AC didn't work in our room 2) Move channels didn't work on our TV and 3) shower drain clogged and their was no tub. We asked for assistance on #1 and #2 above, and no one could fix them.