Ratings based on 867 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Had a nice stay. Good staff and good food. Many Mosquitos in our room the first night but staff took care of it and later moved us to a room that did not have any Mosquitos.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles ca

Great hotel- loved it

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Great experience ... Loved the hotel and the staff was incredible .. Super friendly.. Highly recommend this hotel ;) can't wait to go again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chandler, Arizona

tropical paradise

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: service, clean, location, food, top shelf drinks
Cons: The tour company in the lobby called TOP TOURS. They were not honest to us about our trip. Wimur&Bruno no good.
Location: need to drive for outside events
The Hotel was beautiful, well kept and we loved the contemporary style, was clean. people were always working hard cleaning. Our room was nice , and maids kept it clean daily. Advice to tip the maids once you arrive they work hard. The restaurants service were wonderful Estaban the manager was on top of things and really took care of his guests. Jorge at the bar in Lobby makes great drinks and his service is impeccable. The pool and beach were all just wonderful. The Caribbean was great. we loved our vacation and will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Playa Del Carmen

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: We loved the hospitality.
Cons: The toilet paper quality. Lol
Location: Tulum is a must, chinchen-itza if you can afford a 13 hour day. 5th Ave is a lot of fun.
I just came back with my family from Playa Del Carmen and had stayed at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya. First and foremost the staff is fantastic. They are very accommodating and will do anything you ask for. The beach is beautiful but the fumes from the sports activities kill the fun very fast unless you don't mind the fumes you'll have a great time. My partner and I traveled with our two sons who are 18 and 21. They had a fantastic time. The Riu Palace is in an enclosed secured area where you can take a walk at night to the other 4 hotels owned by Riu. At Rui Tequila there's a night club and the night life is fun if you like disco or travel with young ones like we did. You can take a $9.00 US cab to 5th Ave and shop, eat, walk, take pics with very cute monkeys... It's a fun place to visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Great staff

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: I loved the hotel interior design and great location
Cons: Making sure the mini bar is full
Location: Great location near to centro
Had the best experience in this hotel, staff is extremely helpful. Just watch out for the wedding staff which is another department( separate from the hotel staff).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

What a great vacation!

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: I liked everything about this hotel. No complaints from me
Cons: Nothing, everything was wonderful
Location: Shopping, walking and seeing the beautiful surroundings. Visit the other Riu hotels.
beautiful hotel and very clean. no bugs at all in the room. air conditioning worked great! water pressure and hot water was plentiful. fridge remained stocked every day. hotel staff is very humble and hard working. they were always trying to make you happy. if you needed anything brought to your room, it was there within minutes. pools were clean, beach area was clean. towel service was very efficient and plentiful. there were enough sun beds both near the beach and around the pools. expedia rep was helpful and efficient. she made sure we had everything we needed. she made sure we were scheduled for return pickup to the airport. overall, we had a wonderful holiday stay and can't wait to return again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chile

Great Week!

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Gran semana. Buena comida y servicio. Ideal para ir en pareja con amigos.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phila, Pa

Enjoyed going back!

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: The staff was great!!
Cons: Making reservations for dinner is a bit inconvenient, having to wait around almost everyday at noon can run into daily plans
Location: 5th Ave is a relatively close walk, or a short taxi ride. Xcaret is only a 15 minute drive-nice!
We love visiting the Riu Palace Riviera Maya, this is our 2nd stay here. The grounds are incredibly beautiful, the staff is always courteous and willing to help. The entertainment group is, well, entertaining! This sight is within walking distance of 5th avenue either by street or by beach, we chose the beach to keep cool. The only downfall I saw this time compared to our last visit was the food was a little less appetizing and the rooms-at least ours was-more noisy. The walls are pretty thin and the screaming child in the room next to us was at 3am was a bit, how do you say, ANNOYING!! This also goes along with the other room next us who had their tv playing ALL night!! You may want some cotton balls or ear plugs for your visit. Other than that, I think I'll continue to visit this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Fantastic Beach! Gorgeous Hotel!

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: We loved the clean white sand beach so close to the pools! Even had waiters by the beach! Lots of shade from the many palm trees! Calm, clear ocean!
Cons: I honestly can say that we would loved every part of our stay and would not change a thing!
Location: There is so much to do at the resort, you don't need to leave the property, but there are many popular tourist attractions around Playa de Carmen.
We spent a wonderful family vacation at Riu Palace. We experienced exceptional service at every part of our stay--from checkin, to dining, to the pool side bars-the service was first rate! We loved the food and drinks at this all inclusive resort. A wide variety of delicious food and every drink imaginable offered day and night! So impressed with the gluten free options available!! Riu resorts are definitely first rate and our family agrees that this particular resort in Playa de Carmen is among our favorites!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dallas

Nice beach. Hotel and pool need updates

Posted Aug 15, 2014
A little expensive for the property. Rooms need upgrades and the pool needs to be redone. We had fun but the advertisements about the property are a bit misleading.