Ratings based on 857 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dallas

Nice beach. Hotel and pool need updates

Posted Aug 15, 2014
A little expensive for the property. Rooms need upgrades and the pool needs to be redone. We had fun but the advertisements about the property are a bit misleading.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Took chance on all-inclusive for quick honeymoon

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Beach! Pure white sand with crystal clear water. Mild waves for just wading around. Tons of trees for shade and plentiful choices for lounge chairs
Cons: Beach/pool-side bar closed at 6p.m. Always felt we could stay out longer, but the scene faded after that.
Location: Approx 50 min. cab ride from Cancun Airport (that's taking an independent with no other stops). Cost $60-$120 if you do not plan in advance :(
After over thinking destinations for our "mini-moon" (we were leaving our 10 mo. old for 1st time), chose Riu on recommendation of wedding-planning friend and really had a great time. Our biggest concern was meals due to our gluten-free, dairy-free, meatless, basically-vegan lifestyle…and it was possible!! Next chief concern was beach, and this one delivered. Brought our ENO hammock from home and there were nice palms in the shade to hang it. The beach was beautiful and we actually never used the really fun looking pool with swim up bar because we were so excited to be by the ocean (traveled from Colorado). Got awesome daily massages in the cabana. In summary, we're really glad we booked this vacation and was very happy with the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawthorne, CA

Best vacation ever!

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Staff was so attentive and made sure you were well taken care of if you needed anything. The hotel was amazingly beautiful in a gated community and with amazing views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful!

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: The staff!! The beach and the scenery was amazing.
Cons: The beds were incredibly uncomfortable - quite hard. The pool water was really hot but not much you can do with that sun beating down!
Location: Snorkeling was great!
The staff was excellent! Super nice, helpful and friendly! So fun and absolutely beautiful beach, pool, and hotel! Would definitely go back for another vacation there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

nice hotel... beautiful beach near Playa del Carme

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: beautiful beach and I liked the fact that is located in a private area and close the Playa del Carmen.
Cons: qualify of food on the restaurants specially the reserved dinner ones. buffets were ok but not excellent.
Location: Playa del Carmen is very close that u can even walk or take a taxi. I recommend to visit 5th avenue its very fun with nice restaurants and shopping.
Very nice hotel overall... only two complaints: food was ok didn't like the dinner at Brazilian restaurant at all meat was very low quality and also we requested a king bed and had two twin beds fitting together that was very uncomfortable and too hard.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Hotel needs an update for the price

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: The staff and beach location.
Cons: Air conditioning, musty/cleaning solution smell. Better food and drinks.
The Riu Group has big hotel down to a science. The staff is very well trained and the guest feels welcome. The hotel runs very efficiently. But, the hotel itself is due for a serious refresh. The rooms are humid and a bit musty. There is a heavy smell of cleaning solution, and I do believe the rooms are clean, but the smell is a bit much. I am in the process of washing every article of clothing even the ones I didn't wear. And my luggage is stinking up my closet. The food is adequate and plentiful. It's not gourmet it's buffet. Designed to feed a whole bunch of people fast. The two buffets felt like a cross between a cafeteria and Golden Coral. The drinks are free flowing and served fast and with a smile but very sweet and very short of alcohol. The hotel is on a stunning stretch of beach. The pool is big, a bit tired looking, and actually pretty gross considering there are hundreds of people in there but probably the same at any large hotel pool. The pad around the pool is crowded and crammed with chairs. The beach is much nicer and cooler under the palms. Chairs around the pool are hard to come by after breakfast but there are plenty on the beach. The hotel runs like a cruse ship with activities every hour on the hour and shows at night. If this hotel gets a major update and face lift then it will be great. For now the price is bit high for the outdated accommodations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Riu Palace: A marvelous resort.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: The scenery is absolutely spectacular. Beautiful grounds.
Cons: The front desk needs to do a better job at explaining how the restaurant reservation system works.
Location: Located on a beautiful beach. Conveniently located to Excaret and Tulum.
My wife, daughter and I had a fabulous time. I have nothing but nice things to say about our experience. The grounds are beautifully maintained and the staff was always friendly and accommodating. As for the pristine beach, it is as if we had stepped into a postcard. That is how beautiful it is.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RoLi

Nice Hotel ! Nice beach !

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Very nice hotel next to the beach very good stuff /good bars /good drinks /good entertainment and activities! Few more towels in the room could be good!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Great Hotel for the price!!!

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Good restaurants, good food!
Cons: replace the bed sheets
Location: location is amazing... very nice beach and very close to 5th Street
The hotel is old but vey well kept. Bed sheets is kinda old but clean. Hotel room smells a little "old" nothing that would prevent me to go back. Yes, I would stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Wonderful Vacation

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Service was outstanding, all the staff was wonderful
Cons: Nothing
Location: Playa Del Carmen, all water sports you could imagine , so many excursions to several other attractions
This place is amazing, everybody we came in contact with was so cheerful never came across anybody that was not helpful. Every part of this place had no disappointment. We ate at two out of five of the restaurants on the property along with both buffets , all were 5 STAR. Room was amazing, king bed , jetted tub, unlimited drinks in refrigerator and mini bar. Beach was so clean along with the pools. We would recommend this place to anybody