Ratings based on 1,079 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Beautiful hotel by the beach

Posted Jun 30, 2015
My family enjoyed our stay so much. Excellent Service from all staff, cleanliness was exemplary! Great food and drinks! Incredibly beautiful setting. Do not order excursions from beach vendors. The seaweed is bad, but Hotel workers valiantly kept beach clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northeast Ohio

Great location and atmosphere. Staff great.

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location! Very consistent service over the years.
Cons: Fitness center equipment definitely needs updating. Although not the fault of the hotel, the seaweed on the beach took away some of the ambiance.
Location: Walkable to Playa del Carmen.
This was our fourth trip to the Riu Palace Riviera Maya (10th to Cancun/Riviera Maya). There is no place like the Riu Palace.....the staff is extremely accommodating and they really acknowledge past-patrons. Food is always good and tremendous choices. Very clean and strong communication with customers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denton TX

Staff is great!!!

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Customer service
Cons: food and pool
Great customer service! They have an awesome entertainment crew. We had a great time here. The pool desperately needs repair and the food was a bit disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

RIU Palace Riviera Maya

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: Not overcrowded , plenty of spacing, shaded beach area and a sunny beach area, very "spread out". Front desk was very helpful.
Cons: Number system on floors . We asked for a 2nd floor room , but found out they are numbered , 0,1,2,3. So we actually had a 3rd floor room .
Location: 25 minute walk thru a gated community to 5th Ave in Playa Del Carmen. Other RIU resorts are only a 5-7 minute walk away. Ferry to Cozumel is $10
I have been to several resorts in Riviera Maya and this one is by far the best. Great Staff , always lounge chairs available , plenty of room on the beach, great food , very nice rooms, excellent location. Any issue's were promptly dealt with , in fact literally " in the moment". Free WI-FI , worked in lobby and rooms , but was a little slow on the beach. Our TV quit working , a call to front desk and within 5 minutes it was fixed. A light went out in the bathroom , within 3 minutes of calling the desk , it was replaced. At other resorts , pool lounge chairs are practically touching each other , at RIU , there is plenty of elbow room , nice spacing , ! Entertainers were incredibly friendly , always helpful , as were bartenders, and all hotel staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tomball , TX

Nice hotel, but ......

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Food was sub par Drinks were not consistent I believe they use the cheapest liquor available and the drinks were very sweet... The mixed drinks were not consistent, if you had one made good, they couldn't duplicate it .... Inexperience on the bartenders ... And cheap drink mixes ...(too sweet) Beer was great Dos XX Entertainment crew was limited and music was shut off way to early .... Same boring playlist everyday ... We played pool volleyball, yet they would only give you the ball for about an hour or two.... Then shut it down .... Evening Restaurant food was ok but not spectacular .... Would recommend going to Alux for dinner one night .... The Japanese restaurant made my group sick.... Don't get the soup !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmond, OK

Such an amazing experience

Posted May 31, 2015
Celebrated our 5 year anniversary at Riu Palace Riviera Maya. Can't think of a single thing I do didn't like about the resort. Food was amazing(so many options to choose from), hotel staff was exceptional(friendly, helpful), room and hotel were very clean. I would also consider this resort to be family friendly- we will definetely be returning with are children in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2015
The Riu Palace Riveria Maya was awesome in every reapect! Highly recommend it! Our entire family from 10 years to 50+ years had a wonderful experience and we will come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Gorgeous, amazing staff, perfect balance

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: The property was pristine, lots to do but no pressure to do anything but relax, friendly and helpful staff
Location: Mayan ruins a shuttle ride away, trips to nearby islands, snorkeling, sailboats, jet skis, zip lining
The property was very well-maintained and everything was high quality. The beach and water were spectacular and not overly crowded. The staff was very friendly and upbeat, constantly encouraging guests to enjoy themselves and relax. There was variety in the food and plenty of included and additional activities available. On Mother's Day there were red roses given to the mothers at dinner...a nice touch without ever pushing to sell anything.We did a catamaran excursion, massages on the beach, and water aerobics. The variety of guests gave a great balance to the trip....all ages and groups were welcome here. You can bring the kids for the piñata, games, and kid-friendly food. You can also have a romantic trip or a fun-filled girls' getaway. So glad we tried this hotel...we will be looking at other Riu properties for future trips!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

pool, beach,entertainment area

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: Food selection, large beach,friendly staff
Location: Walking street Fifth avenue was great
Beach was large water was a little rough,staff on beach was attentative, pool area was very nice pool bar staff was great,pool staff and entertainment staff excellent , buffet restaurant staff and food was very good. All of the staff was friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south carolina

Beautiful

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: Very clean and beautiful
Cons: Staffs attitude
Location: close shopping and access to cozumel
Only complaint is the staff could definitely be nicer. Beautiful place and beautiful beach!