Ratings based on 804 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lori from California

Family of 4, Spring Break Vacation

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Had a fantastic time!! RIU is very beautiful, beach is amazing, pool is great and property of the hotel is grand. The staff is very attentitive to your every need. My kids are young, 6 and 9, and had a blast. Definetely would recommend for all vacation situations. Good variety of age groups, not too many kids, the resort caters to all ages. Food was good, specialty restaurants weren't too busy and we were able to get in to each of them. Swim up bar at the pool was fantastic! I will say the beds aren't super comfy, but we slept well enough. The travel service for excursions (Best Day) in the lobby that Expedia recommended was GREAT! Had a wonderful vacation :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Great hotel, very good stuff, all amenities. Beach, pool, water sports, lots of activities -- all highly praised. Trips available to go to all famous sites, pick up at the hotel. Room is a bit small for a family with children. Hotel located in a safe private community, but the only way to get to town is by cab.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Spring break at Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: The juice you get at the front lobby. Waiters and waitresses. We played "Las Vegas"blackjack one night and it was fun, play w/fake chips.
Cons: Room 3080
Location: 5th Avenue was nice and close by. X-Caret was also nice.
We stayed in room 3080, which was located in the corner pocket of the hotel. I could not see the pool or beach, just plants looking below on the patio. Very disappointing. The room smelt like musty air, and by day 4 I had enough and finally told the front lobby. We aired out the room by air conditioning and keeping the slider door open. The bed was okay, pillows were nice, but I like the harder pillows, not soft like a cloud. The pool and beach area was nice. Get to the pool area early otherwise people put the towels on the lounge chairs and never come back taking up the lounge. I asked the pool attendant if I could remove the towels and they said no. The waiter and waitresses were nice and they go out of your way to get what you want. Please bring money and TIP them... They work very hard...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Atlanta, GA

Great All inclusive

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Grounds were terrific and of course a huge beach front.
Cons: a couple of the food experiences were a little shaky but for the most part were very good. Talk to the Taxi Drivers yourself about rates
Location: Great Location 5 minutes from shopping and the Cozumel Ferry but in the protected Playacar. Close to Xcaret and Xplore and other great things to do.
We had a Great time and have very little to complain about. The facility was fantastic and the staff for the most part was friendly and attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pat from Liverpool,NY

Great staff & location. Beautiful pools & beach.

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: It is a beautiful property, spotlessly maintained and beautifully located. Attentive, friendly staff and wonderful meals.
Cons: Wifi was spotty and intermittent. Water purification system would be a plus. Tapwater was nonpotable as noted by a tiny sign on the bathroom mirror.
Location: Snorkeling in a cenote and with green sea turtles was a highlight. The gorgeous ocean beach is on the property and Playa del Carman is a short walk.
Our visit was fabulous. Food, facilities, location and attentive staff made for a wonderful vacation. We were a group of 7 women from Central NY and Northern FL and everybody found food and fun activities to their liking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Todd from New Jersey

Great hotel! Would stay again!

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Great hotel and amazing staff. They went out of their way to assist. The welcome punch might be the greatest fruit drink ever! The only negative was the wi-fi was shaky in places. Couldn't really access the internet from my room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Val from Aurora, CO

Beautiful resort, needs better night life.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Room, food, service and definitely the beach.
Cons: The evening entertainment was lacking. We were there from Wed-Sunday and they only had a band 1 night and the shows were less than average.
Location: Great, very safe location inside PlayaCar which is a fully gated and protected area. The 5th avenue shopping is a $7 taxi ride and is fun and nice.
Loved the size of the resort and the staff were all wonderful. Best beach I have ever stayed at! There were plenty of chairs on the beach and at the pool and excellent service at both locations. The food was above average for an all inclusive resort. If you are a big dessert person you might be disappointed as they all looked great but tasted the same. Other than that the food was very good. We upgraded to a King suite and well worth the price. Very nice room with Jacuzzi tub and very large veranda. The service was very good and if you needed anything more in your room they were very quick to bring it to you. My only complaint, if you could complain while enjoying the sun and fun of Mexico, would be the lack of evening entertainment. They need more bands, music and dancing which I really did not see the whole time we were there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Calvin from New Brunswick, Canada

Amazing food, beach, sun and fun

Posted Apr 11, 2014
We had an amazing time at the RIU Palace Riviera Maya. This was out first visit to Mexico, fifth time to a RIU Resort. The hotel offered everything we wanted, including food that surpassed our expectations. It offers a spectacular beach with lots of sun and fun. Very good value for the dollar. We would go back in a heart beat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul & Jen from Los Angeles

Riu Palace Riviera...is a Real Palace!

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Everything! It is a lush garden environment that is manicured to perfection. The sThe evening shows are fun, but the beach and pools are exceptional!
Cons: Add more shade directly on the beach for the lounges, and add a walk up bar on the beach.
Location: The location is terrific as you can visit all the other RIU resorts with a short walk, or head to 5th avenue in a 5 minute taxi ride for shopping and
The RIU is a first class resort with all the amenities. The all inclusive package is the only way to go as we dined on salmon and lobster dinners, and fresh fruit and omelets for breakfast. The massage on the beach was incredible, and the service and fun at the swim-up and sports bar was second to none. Everyone that works there has a smile and an "Hola" for everyone. The air conditioned lobby is beautiful and allows you to relax in comfort with a beautiful view of the courtyard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brian from Cleveland

Very nice as Mexican All-Inclusives go

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Staff was very friendly, loved exchange properties between all of the properties, proximity to Playa del Carman (15 minute walk or $7 US cab)
Cons: Mixed drinks used middle shelf alcohol, which is what we paid for, but better mixers would help drinks.
Location: xplor is great, highly recommend trip into Playa del Carmen.
No complaints. We had nine (9) issues with our room, refrig broken, TV not working, safe broken, etc. Seemed like not ready to rent. But its Mexico and we are on vacation, made a couple calls... fixed a few things myself and several people showed up and fixed most everything else. Food above average for all inclusive, pools very nice, we did nearly every bar/pool in all RUI Playa Del Carmen properties. DISCO like most catered to 18 year olds, but still fun. Drinks were marginal throughout properties, but service was excellent. 13the time to Mexico, 2 to a RIU. I would recommend, it's not the cheapest, but very good for the money. Night life was thin ,but we found live music next property down, then the DISCO, and then other fun people to hang out with. Lot's of fun people. Shows a little above average.