Ratings based on 812 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Val from Aurora, CO

Beautiful resort, needs better night life.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Room, food, service and definitely the beach.
Cons: The evening entertainment was lacking. We were there from Wed-Sunday and they only had a band 1 night and the shows were less than average.
Location: Great, very safe location inside PlayaCar which is a fully gated and protected area. The 5th avenue shopping is a $7 taxi ride and is fun and nice.
Loved the size of the resort and the staff were all wonderful. Best beach I have ever stayed at! There were plenty of chairs on the beach and at the pool and excellent service at both locations. The food was above average for an all inclusive resort. If you are a big dessert person you might be disappointed as they all looked great but tasted the same. Other than that the food was very good. We upgraded to a King suite and well worth the price. Very nice room with Jacuzzi tub and very large veranda. The service was very good and if you needed anything more in your room they were very quick to bring it to you. My only complaint, if you could complain while enjoying the sun and fun of Mexico, would be the lack of evening entertainment. They need more bands, music and dancing which I really did not see the whole time we were there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Calvin from New Brunswick, Canada

Amazing food, beach, sun and fun

Posted Apr 11, 2014
We had an amazing time at the RIU Palace Riviera Maya. This was out first visit to Mexico, fifth time to a RIU Resort. The hotel offered everything we wanted, including food that surpassed our expectations. It offers a spectacular beach with lots of sun and fun. Very good value for the dollar. We would go back in a heart beat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul & Jen from Los Angeles

Riu Palace Riviera...is a Real Palace!

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Everything! It is a lush garden environment that is manicured to perfection. The sThe evening shows are fun, but the beach and pools are exceptional!
Cons: Add more shade directly on the beach for the lounges, and add a walk up bar on the beach.
Location: The location is terrific as you can visit all the other RIU resorts with a short walk, or head to 5th avenue in a 5 minute taxi ride for shopping and
The RIU is a first class resort with all the amenities. The all inclusive package is the only way to go as we dined on salmon and lobster dinners, and fresh fruit and omelets for breakfast. The massage on the beach was incredible, and the service and fun at the swim-up and sports bar was second to none. Everyone that works there has a smile and an "Hola" for everyone. The air conditioned lobby is beautiful and allows you to relax in comfort with a beautiful view of the courtyard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brian from Cleveland

Very nice as Mexican All-Inclusives go

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Staff was very friendly, loved exchange properties between all of the properties, proximity to Playa del Carman (15 minute walk or $7 US cab)
Cons: Mixed drinks used middle shelf alcohol, which is what we paid for, but better mixers would help drinks.
Location: xplor is great, highly recommend trip into Playa del Carmen.
No complaints. We had nine (9) issues with our room, refrig broken, TV not working, safe broken, etc. Seemed like not ready to rent. But its Mexico and we are on vacation, made a couple calls... fixed a few things myself and several people showed up and fixed most everything else. Food above average for all inclusive, pools very nice, we did nearly every bar/pool in all RUI Playa Del Carmen properties. DISCO like most catered to 18 year olds, but still fun. Drinks were marginal throughout properties, but service was excellent. 13the time to Mexico, 2 to a RIU. I would recommend, it's not the cheapest, but very good for the money. Night life was thin ,but we found live music next property down, then the DISCO, and then other fun people to hang out with. Lot's of fun people. Shows a little above average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

BEST PLACE ON EARTH. TELL CIRO I SAID HOLA

Posted Apr 3, 2014
BEST BEACH YOU WILL EVER FIND. HOTEL STAFF IS SUPERIOR. FOOD IS EXCELLENT. BEACH ? FOGET ABOUTIT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brad from indianapolis

Beautiful and safe location!

Posted Apr 1, 2014
This hotel has a beautiful location and felt very safe the entire time. All of the staff were more than friendly from the moment you stepped through the doors. Dinners were good, breakfast was good, lunch was limited and with cheap foods and the deserts were not very good at all. The room was large and very nice although the bed was the worst I've ever slept in (travel 3-5 times a year all over the world). I go on many cruises and found myself very bored at night in the RIU... Overall really nice hotel and location and would recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west bend, WI

Perfect combination of style and perfect beach

Posted Apr 1, 2014
We had great time, our 9 year old had fun and we enjoyed program and hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vince from milwaukee,wi

Great hotel near town best beach loved it all

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Treated like i was royalty for week had great time would go back again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vone from San Antonio, TX

One bad staff can affect your experience.

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Food was ok, facility ok, room ok and pool area was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Iindiana

Buffet

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: BEACH!!!
Cons: Specialty restaurant's.
Location: Short walk to playa del Carmen ,
The staff,cooks,servers,and all empoyees were the best! We were served lobster,crabs,excellent Mexican food ,fresh fruit everyday .plus, a large selection to please almost everyone for breakfast,lunch and dinner.