Ratings based on 1,069 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, TX

Gorgeous, amazing staff, perfect balance

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: The property was pristine, lots to do but no pressure to do anything but relax, friendly and helpful staff
Location: Mayan ruins a shuttle ride away, trips to nearby islands, snorkeling, sailboats, jet skis, zip lining
The property was very well-maintained and everything was high quality. The beach and water were spectacular and not overly crowded. The staff was very friendly and upbeat, constantly encouraging guests to enjoy themselves and relax. There was variety in the food and plenty of included and additional activities available. On Mother's Day there were red roses given to the mothers at dinner...a nice touch without ever pushing to sell anything.We did a catamaran excursion, massages on the beach, and water aerobics. The variety of guests gave a great balance to the trip....all ages and groups were welcome here. You can bring the kids for the piñata, games, and kid-friendly food. You can also have a romantic trip or a fun-filled girls' getaway. So glad we tried this hotel...we will be looking at other Riu properties for future trips!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

pool, beach,entertainment area

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: Food selection, large beach,friendly staff
Location: Walking street Fifth avenue was great
Beach was large water was a little rough,staff on beach was attentative, pool area was very nice pool bar staff was great,pool staff and entertainment staff excellent , buffet restaurant staff and food was very good. All of the staff was friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom south carolina

Beautiful

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: Very clean and beautiful
Cons: Staffs attitude
Location: close shopping and access to cozumel
Only complaint is the staff could definitely be nicer. Beautiful place and beautiful beach!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rockford, MN

1st vacation in 10 years

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Staff, food, beach, pool, drinks (in no particular order)
Cons: Beds could be more comfortable
Location: There's shopping within walking distance in either direction from the hotel.
This was my wife's and my 1st vacation since our honeymoon 10 years ago. We were more than pleased with our decision to stay at the Riu Palace. The grounds were very clean and well maintained. The hotel staff was 2nd to none and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The food was wonderful and plentiful. There were activities throughout the day and entertainment nightly. We're probably going to book another stay at the Riu Palace for next year! The only criticism I have is the bed could have been more comfortable. Other than that, our trip was a 10/10.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom USA

Awesome resort, friendly staff, great way to relax

Posted May 4, 2015
RIU Palace Riviera Maya was a great choice for a resort. The stay started with a free room upgrade and friendly faces to greet us. It is a great set up with easy access between the pool, the shade of the palm trees, and the beautiful beach and ocean water. I can't say enough about the staff. Getting to know the staff was one of my favorite parts of the trip. They were so friendly, always ready to serve you, and went above and beyond to ensure you had everything you need or want in order to enjoy your vacation. There were so many options of things to do right at the resort--from lounging by the pool to napping in the hammocks, to dancing lessons, to games on the beach, to water activities. The food was also excellent--a large variety and delicious. I would highly recommend this resort if you're looking for a good combination of relaxation, fun, and friendly faces.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portsmouth, NH

Absolutely wonderful vacation

Posted May 4, 2015
The hotel was beautiful and the staff was very nice. We ate at three different restaurants: the buffet, Mexican and Brazilian. The buffet was good and always had a large selection of food. The Mexican wasn't my favorite, but was alright. The Brazilian on the other hand was delicious and I highly recommend it. The pool was huge and refreshing and the beach was gorgeous. Our room was very clean and comfortable and our air conditioner worked very well!! I don't really have anything bad to say about the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

vacation

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: clean ...great food and excellent service!
Cons: free nights!
Location: excellent location can walk to market and shops and plenty of excursions to go on!
excellent stay......... food was great service was great and location is perfect! very clean resort couldn't ask for anything more!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Terrific hotel.

Posted Apr 30, 2015
We had a wonderful stay at the Riu Palace. The hotel grounds, pool, and beach were well cared for. The staff service was fantastic and the food and beverages were top notch. My only complaint was that the room smelled musty upon arrival. It did air out quickly once the AC kicked into high gear. We also had to ask for a roll away bed for my teenager since two double beds pushed together for two adults and two kids is a bit too close for comfort. I would definitely go back and highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom MN

Posted Apr 27, 2015
My wife and I have stayed at 5 all inclusive hotels in the cancun/riviera maya area over the last 7 years. This one was middle of the pack. We stayed at this resort the end of April 2015. This was our first time in Playa Del Carmen and we really enjoyed this beach. This hotel has a very large area on the beach and the beach itself is very wide -- you can walk all the way to town if you like to do some shopping, it's not too far. The entrance off the beach is just to the left of senor frogs if you're facing that from the beach. It's not well marked, but other people should be walking in/out of there. The buffet food was a little better than we've seen at most other all inclusives. The specialty restaurants are open for dinner, require reservations in advance (get those in the lobby between 12-3 every day), have two seating times of 6:30 or 8:45 and were just OK. Agave was the worst for us, Japanese restaurant and Krystal were the best for us. The rooms are older, not on par with most of the other places we stayed. No big deal for us, as we didn't spend a whole lot of time there. The hotel look like they've seen a lot of wear and tear. The staff work hard to keep them clean, but seems like it is due for some remodeling especially, the public restrooms which were pretty shabby. Service was hot and cold. Some folks were great. Some weren't. Didn't seem to have a pattern to it. We tip every time, so that's not it. Bartenders in lobby bar were both great - Adriana and Romeo!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Boston MA

Great trip

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Staff, beach, food
Cons: The rooms were a little dated. Private bath and shower but two double beds with king headboard for 4 people.
Location: Had a great trip with Jungle Maya to zipline and snorkel in cenote
Hotel was very nice and very well maintained. Staff was exceptional - friendly, responsive. fun. Food was surprisingly really good for an all inclusive. Huge variety - well prepared.