Ratings based on 981 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom from New York

Very nice hotel close to beach

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Very friendly crew , clean , good food ,all perfect !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom louisiana

Very nice resort on beautiful beach

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Pros: Pool and beach areas and service
Cons: Get real king size beds
Location: We went to Xcaret which was very nice but a bit pricey
This was our first experience with an all-inclusive resort. We were very impressed by the hotel, especially the pool and beach areas. The staff were all very nice and provided great service everywhere. Nice spacious room--only disappointment was that our king size bed was really two small beds pushed together. The spread of food was very nice, but nothing tasted outstanding, but we are accustomed to great food where we live. Also enjoyed the nightly entertainment, especially the cover band which played 70s and 80s rock music. Overall a really enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Cons: Only recommendation would be to improve the entertainment at the pool, specifically the music.
Location: Close to 5th Avenue! Across the street from a golf course.
We really enjoyed our stay at the RIU Place Riviera Maya. We booked this hotel based upon a good experience at a RIU in Puerto Vallarta and were not disappointed. The hotel is beautiful and the food was great. Plenty of chairs at the beach and pool. The hotel staff was excellent. Loved how close this property was to 5th Avenue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom boston

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: Hotel is beautiful right on the beach ,close to town center
Cons: Pool should be heated in the winter
The Hotel is very nice , in a good location close to town center ,the food is good ,front desk people are nice and helpful, the rooms are big and clean with a balcony,the swimming pool is not heated,which makes the water cold for swimming in the winter,there is no towel in the spa so if you do not have a towel you have to go back to the pool area and bring your towel ,the staff in the spa are kind of rud,over all we had agood experience and will go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Baltimore

Wonderful place for a getaway

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: The staff and overall appearance.
Cons: Wines were not so hot.
Location: Easy walk to Playa del Carmen; gorgeous golf course across the street; plaza market a block away.
Staff was tremendous -- attentive, pleasant, helpful. Facility was immaculate and beautiful. Beach was lovely -- could walk a mile in either direction. Food was fresh and tasty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand hotel!

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Very grand hotel style but on the beach. Beautiful, clean grounds, lovely staff. Food not as good as the hotel looks. The desserts all tasted like the inside of the fridge except the last day when they muat have been made fresh. Lots of food variety though. What I loved most was the decor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Second review

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: The best part of this hotel are the people that work their butts in it, from the gardeners to the people that clean the beach after a storm
Cons: The beds, separate them don't need 2 queens put together, heat the pool, ocean is warmer Inforce quiet time strongly.
Location: The plaza shops near the hotel, just go to the other RIU hotels near it for a change of view, and taste.
My family and I stay at this hotel again for a week, this time we found some bad things we didn't see last time: the beds are to small for a family of 4, the couch does't expand for a bed, they are 2 queens put together, maybe if they were apart would be better: The walls are paper thin you can hear everything from next door and upstairs (stay in the 3rd floor) One of the best things of this hotel are the crew from other services, they give shows and entertain the guests all day. Other great people are the waiters, waitresses, always running around with drinks all the way to the beach or your room, great guys. If you must eat at the theam restaurants then do it, but the main restaurant and R one by the pool are just fine for all your meals, plus you can go to the other Riu hotels near there to eat and use this services.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Monterey, CA

Wonderful time

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Great place to stay! Beautiful facility, very friendly staff, and great food. No complaints, I will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Had a great time! Very clean and food was grea! Will defiantly go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Upland, California

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Best Riu Palace we've stayed, definitely need to stay here.