Ratings based on 883 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort great beach.

Posted Oct 22, 2014
The resort was nice, food was good. The only complaint would be the smell of our room. We complained and the staff cleaned the room and got rid of the smell. The only problem was after a few hours the smell would begin to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a great trip!

Posted Oct 19, 2014
The resort was wonderful. Very clean and beautiful. The staff was the best that I have ever seen. We have been to Mexico several times and brought our family here. We did not have a single complaint about the resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Excellent staff and food!

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: The food, staff and beach.
Cons: New, updated furniture, new mattresses, updated bed spreads that are laundered with each guest.
Location: Good location, close to ruins, parks, fishing.
The food and staff were excellent. The facilities were kept clean, a very good housekeeping service, wonderful, kind wait staff, fun activities, nice beach. The rooms were a bit mildewy. The bedding was not exceptional. The bedspreads were old. The mattresses need replacing as do the couches. They need to update to duvey covers that are laundered for each guest. The pillows need replacing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Great hotel on the beach

Posted Oct 19, 2014
The staff were courteous, excellent service and very helpful. Had a great experience
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

The not so great palace

Posted Oct 17, 2014
When one thinks palace, you think grandiose, which it was. When you think this palace, add antiquated to grandiose. I chose this hotel because of the high rating but my experience was quite the opposite. The first room we were put in, there was a washing machine noise that came through the vent. I actually timed it to every 3 minutes because that's exactly the noise I want to hear while on vacation. I called the front desk and had the amazing experience of speaking to Pamela, the only thing nice about her was actually nothing. She was unfriendly and explained that the noise was coming from the nearest resort, which is actually impossible. She might as well have said from the next resort in cancun. We requested to change rooms, so Pamela put us in another room. I unpacked only to hear a rattling noise coming from the fridge and that noise just didn't stop. Upon entering the bathroom, while washing my face, I felt drops one arm. Lo and behold there was a leak coming from the ceiling. I called to complain and requested Pamela to call me back, she never did. Expressing my utmost frustration to the manager, we were finally put in a room with a nicer view. The staff overall wasn't as friendly as other resorts in Mexico I have been to. I guess they don't want to be there as much as we didn't. I will say that the entertainment was better than any place I have been to. So if you want entertainment only then the riu palace is the place to go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Exclusive and well managed resort

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya is an excellent get away place and has the most accessible and well maintained amenities, This place is highly recommended,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Beautiful hotel on beach, but room smelled!

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Very clean, excellent friendly service. Top notch staff!
Cons: Fix the cause of the smelly room Remove piles of seaweed from edge of the beach early each morning
Location: Great location on the beach! We visited the shopping area in Playacar several times - found several great buys!! 5th Avenue shopping was good too.
Gorgeous hotel, very clean, excellent friendly service, good food. The only negative was the room stunk with a moldy, musty smell that seem to get stronger each day. The front desk said it may be due to humidity?? We spent as little time as possible in the room - and slept with the sliding door to balcony open but we wouldn't go back to this hotel for that reason. Also, we were disappointed there wasn't a dance club at night. Very little to do at night other than walk on the beach or watch the show put on by the staff. Most important: we had 2 days of pristine beach (beach looked like pool water!!) but 5 days of seaweed. Wish we knew not to go in Sept.-Oct. (seaweed season). We were told that the beach has no seaweed all the other months (Nov-Aug.). Hotel could have done a better job of cleaning up the seaweed each morning rather than having to step over piles of it to get into beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas, tx

Gorgeous hotel with great atmosphere

Posted Oct 12, 2014
We went for our honeymoon. We had a great time. The hotel was clean. The staff was extremely friendly. The food and alcoholic drinks were amazing! I will definitely visit again. My only complaint was the entertainment staff. We decided to go with them to a nightclub on the town. When we got there we realized they tried charging us extra. We paid double for the cab ride and tried telling us the cover was 20 dlls each.. only to realize that we didn't even have to pay cover. Interesting.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R., OKC

Ground floor courtyard view

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Had mostly blocked view of ocean, but at least not by the theater that is loud till 10:30 every night.. Toilet wouldn't flush properly and it took about 5 hours 3 phone calls and trip to reservation counter to get someone to get it fixed... The same when we need toilet paper.... Room service was max. 15 minutes.... AWESOME! Food was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY NY

Everything Was Great

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Great place and staff!!!! Close to everything and the restaurants were amazing. We would def go back.