Ratings based on 473 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

O.K. for a Few Days

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Nothing stands out. Everything was just o.k. It's an aging property, and showing it's age. It was good enough for a short stay. Adults only pool.
Cons: Provide room service. Provide drink servers at pools. Lighten up on towel regulations. Upgrade rooms. Serve a la carte meals. Some sparkling wine.
Location: 5-10 minute walk from the beach through the Yucatan.
We booked late, so we were running out of options and settled on Tequila. I wasn't expecting luxury, and that was good, because it wasn't luxurious. It was fine for a 4 night getaway for the northeast U.S. to warm up. Had I paid attention to the fact that there is no room service, I would not have booked it. We've never stayed at an A.I. without room service, so I never thought about it. We also didn't realize that the "specialty" restaurants are not a la carte...just another buffet limited to one cuisine. The main buffet had more options. The Asian was not good. For the Mexican, we made the mistake of going to the Playacar by mistake. Apparently we were supposed to be at the Yucatan. Playacar would not accommodate us, and we weren't about to rush over to the Yucatan in time. So we skipped it. The main buffet was pretty good for buffet style food. Just know you won't be ordering a la carte from a menu anywhere. Small, dated room. One bath towel each...really? Sheets didn't fit the king bed. Tacky. The ocean was terrible this time. We usually love this stretch of beach, but it was full of seaweed this time (03/10-03/14). Not the fault of the hotel. Just Mother Nature. We have been here at times in late Fall and in Spring and the beach was wonderful. Room had a shower only that felt like a cave...not even a light in it. And it had a (eew) shower curtain. One pool towel per day...really? Con't plan on turning in your towel for a fresh one the same day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas

Previous reviews are accurate!

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Staff is great!
Cons: Better beds and pillows in room.
Location: Location is about 2 miles from main part of Playa Del Carmen. The walk is very safe and sidewalks are good. About a 45 minute ride from the airport.
Hotel is somewhat dated and the rooms are adequate. 2 Double Beds for 4 people is not very comfortable. There were only 2 outlets in the entire room which I thought was odd. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. They work very hard in the restaurants, the bar area and the entertainment staff around the pool. The grounds are in immaculate shape and the pool area is very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Wonderful, clean resort!

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Adding room service or at least coffee makers in the rooms.
We stayed at Riu Teq. Mar. 2 - 9, 2015. We loved the resort, the rooms were private and spacious and very clean which is important to us. It's really spread out which means lots of walking but they have beautiful walkways. We initially thought that since the resort wasn't directly on the beach that we wouldn't like it but they have a golf cart shuttle that runs constantly throughout the day that takes you back and forth. The pool was large, the bars were all open all day long, all the staff were very friendly and made our stay more enjoyable. It's probably the best food we've had at an all inclusive and we've been traveling to the Caribbean since 1999. We typically only stay at a resort 1 time as there are so many to experience but we would definitely go back again. The only negative for us was that they offer no room service so we missed our morning coffee on our balcony; if they would add that or at least provide a coffee maker in the rooms, it would make it perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom roquevaire

L hôtel est à 5 minutes à pied de la plage

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Le riu tequila hôtel au top aceuil restaurants animations chambres piscine rien à dire
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2015
We originally booked at Riu Tequila and once we got there they informed us we were staying at the Riu across the street. It wasnt as nice and updated, but it was on the ocean. We had a great time regardless, but felt like we were taken advantage of since we had no control over the situation. We had researched and spent months believing we were staying at Tequila and suddenly we were thrown in a cab being sent to a different resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario Canada

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: The location of its rooms in a park like setting away from the lobby and nightly entertainment. Very quiet. We are lite sleepers so this was a big plu
Cons: Internet was very slow.
Location: The beach south of Playa del Carmen is fantastic. You can take trips to Tulum and other historic sites. Diving and snorkeling is available on Cozumel
Nice hotel located in a lush green setting not directly on the beach but shuttle transportation if you choose not to walk the 10 minutes. The walk itself is a beautiful trip through a park Ike setting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario Canada

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: The location of its rooms in a park like setting away from the lobby and nightly entertainment. Very quiet. We are lite sleepers so this was a big plu
Cons: Internet was very slow.
Location: The beach south of Playa del Carmen is fantastic. You can take trips to Tulum and other historic sites. Diving and snorkeling is available on Cozumel
Nice hotel located in a lush green setting not directly on the beach but shuttle transportation if you choose not to walk the 10 minutes. The walk itself is a beautiful trip through a park Ike setting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Littleton, Co

Wonderful Stay but

Posted Feb 12, 2015
The only issue we had was it seemed they lost our reservation. After serval minutes of trying to find us in the computer, they said we were selected for an "upgrade@ to the Riu Yucatan, which is on the beach side. We went ahead and took the "upgrade@ to the Yucatan but our room was small and the decor was loud and what I'd consider a cheesy attempt to be modern. We went back the next day and asked for a room at the Riu Tequila which was more to our taste. The rest of our stay was enjoyable but we were inconvenienced by all the shuffling around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2015
We've stayed there 3 times and love it there! Food, service, atmosphere, everything! ! Can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Moab, Utah

Great All-inclusive Hotel

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: We love the hotel and the great food. The Jalisco buffet has variety and high quality. We enjoyed the specialty restaurants.
Cons: The plastic mattress pad is annoying. The nightly entertainment is OK.
Location: It is a short walk to the beach with is kept clean and is fun for swimming. Many tours for attractions nearby can be arranged at the hotel.
Two years ago we liked our stay in Riu Tequila so much that we went back this year for 10 days. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel and the grounds are well maintained.