Ratings based on 447 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

All inclusive across from the beach

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: The food is always good, you can also eat at the Yucatan or Playacar. Rooms clean and comfortable
Cons: Unlimited wifi, the 90 consecutive minute policy doesn't work for me. Better toiletries, only have bar soap and combo bath gel/shampoo
We've stayed here four times, we like the food, we like the resort. Beach is across the street at the Yucatan, you can eat at the Yucatan so you can spend all day there if you prefer. 5 minute walk or you can use the golf cart transport. 30 minute walk into Playa del Carmen, it's not the closest or the farthest resort in Playacar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Repeat guests to this hotel. The grounds are beautiful. The service is good. The staff is friendly and very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los Angeles

Just perfect..

Posted Dec 10, 2014
That's very good experience we are thinking in the next visit to RIU TEQUILA YEA YEA UUUH...UUUH...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Super clean, great food, friendly staff...we will be back next year!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs renovation

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Old, good food, shuttle service to the beach, no beach towels in the afternoon, have to reserve a "kanapa" early in the morning. Small beach shared by two hotels. Comfy room, freezer and TV remote not working, Bathroom has soap only Tequila served only in a bar or via the room dispenser.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom France

bon hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: le cadre dans une ambiance foret tropitale, le petit déjeuner et le diner au resto principal, les chambres incroyablement grandes et propres
Cons: animation trés moyenne dans la journée on voit que 3 animateurs alors que le soir on nous en présente 14...animation meilleure au Riu Yucatan
bel hotel, a proximité de la plage avec accès dans 2 autres hotels RIU, bonne cuisine et bel établissement, les chambres sont extrêmement spacieuses avec un dressing et un coffre fort gratuit, un balcon tres agréable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excelente hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Matavilloss la atencion y calidez del personal. Muy buenos entretenimientos y shows especialmente el dedicado a mrxico. Soloejorar un poco el setcio de internet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Huntington Beach, CA

We want to do it again!

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: The traditional decor was inviting and the grounds were lush and well kept. Pools were sparkling, and the the short walk to the beach was invigorating
Cons: More non-smoking areas.
We enjoyed a day at the Mayan ruins in Tulum. Another day we went on a quad ride to the jungle and underground water caves, Carlos from the Riu Tequila was an excellent tour guide. Walks on the beach were amazing as were the sunsets. The food choices were delicious and all the staff was courteous and delightful to be around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Nebraska

Beautiful hotel surrounded by gardens!!

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: The staff was awesome!!!
Cons: We've stayed at other RIU's and they usually have a happy hour gathering around 5pm in the lobby area where you can mingle with other guests-not here
Location: Loved the Playacar town plaza and Tulum Ruins!!
We loved the staff--they were very friendly and eager to help. The hotel and grounds were very well kept up--and we totally enjoyed the 5 min walk to the beach---the beach was absolutely beautiful--and we loved that it was just a 40 minute walk up the beach to go shopping on 5th ave and the town plaza where they had things going on every evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san diego

Best deal ever!!!

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Excellent choice, food was great, drinks didn't stop coming at the bars, beach was crystal clean, only white sand and the ocean, no algues, no rocks , it feels like gigant pool. We went the 1rst week of November and the weather was wonderful. Just love the Riu experience. One tip though: ask for a room with no babies next door if you don't want to wake up too early.