Ratings based on 497 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, Colorado

Great All Inclusive

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: Everything was very nice. I don't think you could beat it for the price.
Cons: The only down side for me was the food. It was mediocre at best. Granted you can eat it whenever you want and have as much as you want.
Location: It is in playa car which is a secure isolated neighborhood. You can easily walk around at night without any worry. The walk to the beach not bad.
We stayed for one week in May 2015. The hotel is very nice. The natives are beyond nice and the service was great. This hotel has a lot more shade around the grounds than the Palace Mexico and Yucatan. After visiting all three I liked the grounds at the Tequila best. There were lots of coati around (essentially racoons). As long as you don't leave drinks or food lying around while you go in the pool they were never an issue. I would consider them a plus to staying here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Branch, MI

Wonderful resort!!

Posted May 20, 2015
The resort was beautiful and clean. Food was wonderful and always a lot of choices on the buffets. This resort was about a 30-45 minute ride from the airport. We took private transportation and not group transportation. The beach is across the street from the resort and with a sister resort for access. We always went to the beach in the morning because there was less seaweed coming in and not many people down there. There is a golf cart that will take you from the resort to the beach instead of waking. It's about a 10 minute walk. We had children with us and it didn't seem like they had any activities for children. If there were activities, we were not aware of them and they didn't provide us information when we checked in. My daughter celebrated her 10th birthday while we were there, and I did tell the front desk and dinner reservations for the buffet dinning. The room was decorated with a towel cake and they left a note wishing her a happy birthday while we were out for the day. They also left a little trinket for her too. When we went for dinner, they had balloons on all of our chairs and rose pedals on our table. They brought a birthday cake and sang happy birthday to her. She enjoyed all of the special treatment!!! I would stay here again since the overall experience was wonderful. Friendly staff, clean, comfortable rooms, and nice grounds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Detroit, MI

Excellent Value All-Inclusive

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: It's tucked away in a jungle-like setting so you get to see a lot of natural wildlife, it's decorated in a traditional Mexican theme.
Cons: Honestly, no suggestions. The staff worked so hard to make your experience both memorable and enjoyable.
Location: Definitely visit Play Del Carmen itself, it's a 15-20 min walk or a $8 cab ride. Go in the daytime for shopping and the nighttime for bar nightlife.
This was my first time booking a complete vacation through Expedia and the experience was wonderful. We took a nonstop to Cancun on Delta and it was definitely worth the extra money. Best Day Travel transportation services (offered by Expedia) was excellent. We easily found them at the airport, the bus was air-conditioned wonderfully and there were only seven passengers on the bus so we didn't have to stop at many other resorts before we got to ours. I have been to other RIUs in Playacar and although Tequila is not as expensive as some of the others, the service, qaulity of food and accommodations are just as top notch. We emailed a room request to RIU month before our stay and they fulfilled all our requests. The rooms have air conditioning as well as a fan and nice high ceilings. The balconies were great for drying beach clothes over night. The selection of food is extensive and top quality, I recommend trying the steak house for dinner one night as well. The walk to the beach is about 6 minutes and great exercise after all the eating. We enjoyed the beach chairs and loved that we could use the RIU Yucatan pool facilities as well. The restaurant on the beach is great for lunch and offers the same wide selection of food choices. We visited the RIU Yucatan gym as well, which was adequately equipped. Overall, I'd recommend RIU Tequila in a heartbeat. It's a great value as you get to use other RIU resort facilities and get the same RIU quality for a fraction of the price. Enjoy
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom N

Wouldn't go back to this resort.

Posted May 19, 2015
Very run down and nothing to do besides drink and eat. Came back home and was very sick. Food could be somewhat better and all restaurants are buffet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 9, 2015
Love the natural look of the resort. A lot of green space, not all concrete. Beautiful paths and scenery.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We love the RIU!!

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: The food is incredible!
Cons: Shuffle board availability needs to be increased!
WE love the RIU resorts. It is a favorite of our in Playa del Carmen. No complaints!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Lovely peaceful hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Great hotel. Close to the beach. You will never feel short changed with alcohol and food. They are practically throwing it at you. If you love animals they have lovely coati's around who are adorable. Will and would go back again in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Overall a great place for everyone.

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: We liked the character and ambiance of the hotel, the friendly staff and the all-inclusive no worries.The use of the Riu Playcar and Yucatan is nice.
Cons: Beds were a little small. Some rooms could use a little updating. The room we were changed to looked like it had been updated.
Location: Xplor and Xcaret are a 200 peso($13 USD) taxi ride.Downtown Playcar is a 90 peso ride($6 USD).The location is closer to most parks/ruins than Cancun.
We just returned and had a wonderful week vacation. When we arrived we were not sure we were going to like the hotel. I am happy to say we really enjoyed the stay! Originally we were given a room in the rear of the complex, the farthest from the amenities. With kids we found this difficult and on the second day asked to be moved. The front desk staff was very receptive, made the move easy, and gave us a wonderful room on the second floor of building 2 (200's). If you have a family of four, ask for a roll away bed or see what the price is for two rooms. The beds are a little small. We love the Mexican open air feel to the hotel. We did not want a modern looking hotel (we can get that anywhere). The staff is terrific. The kids (and parents too) enjoyed all of the activities(water polo, air rifle shooting, basketball...).The walk to the beach is not far but we often found ourselves taking the golf cart shuttle since it was there every 5 minutes. The pools are nice. Love the towel service. It is so nice to always have a dry towel. The beach is great and we would dip in the Riu Yucatan pool after the beach. The food is good, but pace yourself the first few days, you will taste it all eventually. Many of the parks are a quick taxi ride away so consider that when debating on a tour package versus going on your own. We are already planning on returning next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

Small compact friendly resort!!

Posted Apr 15, 2015
The resort itself is fairly small and compact. It has only 3 major restaurants which is fairly common. The two main pools are great. The entertainment staff is very great and friendly. The food is very good with a huge variety. Cons: you have to wake up early to make restaurant reservations, beach requires a walk.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Syracuse New York

Don't Book this hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: They didn't allow me to stay here
Cons: The customer service
Location: Beautiful beach and town is very nice
Booked this hotel back in August I believe of last year.Arrived April 3rd and was given the choice of staying at their sister hotel across the street or go find a place to stay.Accordind to the hotel hostess in my booking contract they are allowed to do this if they overbooked the hotel.Amazing that I was offered this choice standing there with my 14 year old daughter on spring break.We did make the best of our time and didn't allow Riu to ruin our holiday but I will never stay at another Riu property again due to the lack of obvious customer service.