Ratings based on 462 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Moab, Utah

Great All-inclusive Hotel

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: We love the hotel and the great food. The Jalisco buffet has variety and high quality. We enjoyed the specialty restaurants.
Cons: The plastic mattress pad is annoying. The nightly entertainment is OK.
Location: It is a short walk to the beach with is kept clean and is fun for swimming. Many tours for attractions nearby can be arranged at the hotel.
Two years ago we liked our stay in Riu Tequila so much that we went back this year for 10 days. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel and the grounds are well maintained.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new york

THEY OVER BOOKED AND DIDN'T LET US STAY THERE

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: my experience continued, The front desk clerk did nothing but smile and say we had to wait for a manager. I went to the front desk 4 more times to
Cons: speak to a manager and she was never there, completely avoided me. I never spoke to anyone who was important or offered up anything.
I booked 6 months ago a trip with 4 people for the week of Sat 1/3 - 1/10. 2 seperate reservations for 2 couple. After traveling for 14 hours we get to the resort and they try to offer us an "upgrade" to the resort across the road to the Riu Yucatan. I stayed at the tequila before, it has a sports bar with american football on that is open 24/7, also the swim up bar is better at tequila. I turned down the upgrade and said we would like to stay at yucatan. Then the clerk told us that there was only one room left and one of us would HAVE TO go to the yucatan. They said its closer to the beach and tried to sell the yucatan to me. I was very unhappy, we went back and forth with them for over and hour asking to speak to a manager. They repeatedly said its not Tequila's fault, i have an issue with sales. The manager isn't available and I would have to go to yucatan until monday, then come back and talk to the manager Natalia and sales. I was tired hungry and wanted to watch football so after causing a scene I decided to go to yucatan. If you stay at a riu in the riviera you can eat and drink at them all. My friends who did not have a room available at the tequila wanted to grab a drink and eat quickly before getting a taxi and going to the yucatan, the front desk wouldn't let them go to the buffet or the bar. We went to the yucatan waited in line for another hour to check in, then we tried going to the 5 pm buffet and they didn't open the doors until 526.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wheeling, IL

We loved the Riu Yukatan!

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: We loved the beach and the pool and the friendly staff!
Cons: The rooms were very clean except sometimes seemed too cold and damp. There was some confusion about which of the other Riu hotels we could eat at.
Location: We loved the Yukatan because it is at the beach. We also loved walking to the market and the other hotels on the street.
Upon check in we were moved to the Yukatan Hotel across the street on the beach side. We loved this hotel! The pool and the beach were fabulous and the staff was excellent. We really enjoyed the Sports & Entertainment Team, lots of fun during the day and into the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom L.A.

you need to walk to the beach is not in front

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: everething food, kidness, security, close to parks we love it thanks
Cons: nothing we were so happy thanks
Location: the mercado is close u can walk to another riu hotels, parks, kayaks, dive, sports so much more it was so much to do
you feel close to nature see animals and people are nice, they have fun
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Decent hotel, but not what we expected

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Access to both the Riu Yucatan and Lupito. The service was friendly, beautiful lobby and the grounds are kept very clean.
Cons: Improve quality of Wifi!! The pool chairs are outdated and uncomfortable. Update the furniture and room keys to electronic key cards .
Location: Great location. Gated strip along the Playacar beach. Felt very safe, was only a 10-15 minute taxi ride to downtown bars, restaurant area
The hotel was nice, checked most of the boxes of amenities we were expecting except the hotel was not on the beach, as we had thought it was. However, you do have access to the Riu Yucatan, which is beach front and only a 7 minute walk across the street. The pool and beach are 100% livelier and nicer than the Riu Tequila. The Tequila pools are very quiet and the chairs are not very comfortable. Overall, the Tequila seems more outdated than the Yucatan, however for the price and convenience of having access to the Yucatan it was worth the price. The food was fair, not terribly outstanding, but every day and meal we were able to find food that was good. Close access to the downtown Playa del Carmen nightlife. The strip where the hotel is located is on a gated strip along the beach where there are a handful of other resorts, making the area feel very safe and friendly. The hotel staff is very nice and accommodating. The Yucatan had good entertainment throughout the day which made everyday enjoyable and different. The rooms were OK, outdated and not very warm and welcoming. Wifi was terrible. Overall, a terrific vacation, with some inconveniences along the way. If i were to go back, I'd book the Yucatan though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Twin Cities

Well run hotel.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Clean rooms. Food was pretty good for an all-inclusive. Nicely kept grounds. Scale of hotel was nice, multiple buildings Beach access and club
Cons: Wireless access only in lobby for 90 minutes each day Stock mini-bars daily Water in pool was very cool More kids activities
Location: Beach 30 minute walk or cab to Playa del Carmen
Overall a well run hotel. Staff was very friendly and accomodating, first time using an all-inclusive and overall it was a positive experience. Rooms were cleaned daily, min-bar stocked every other day. Food was pretty good, all buffet but good quality. A bit of a walk to the beach but they had a nice beach club. We liked the pool and the beach at the sister hotel Riu Playcar the best, a little smaller than the beach club and the pool was close. Staying in Playcar was a little bit of a walk into town, but cabs are fairly inexpensive. Overall a positive experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Italian in Texas

Good hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: I like to have the all inclusive formula
Cons: it is big, be ready to walk. the beach is big, but not enough for all the rooms they have, you end up very close to strangers.
Location: It's a gated area with only hotels and few shops for tourits, to reach Playa del Carmen downtown you need a taxi
It's a really big hotel. It has all you want, it's clean, it has a big beach, and the food was pretty good.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Too Much Tequila

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: The location, grounds and the restaurant staff are very good.
Cons: They do not know how to operate in emergencies or deal with any guest issues that are out of the ordinary.
Location: Playa del Carmen is beautiful and we would definitely go back but not to this property.
Overall the hotel is ok and a good value. We had mold problems with one of our rooms and the hotel was not responsive to our complaints. Finally after five days they switched us to a new room. Shortly afterwards our room key broke in the lock and we could not get into our room. We were informed that we would have to wait until morning. They gave us a new room but all of our toiletries, medicine and clothes were in the locked room and they would do nothing about getting a repairman into fix the lock or at least give us some toiletries. It really spoiled the end to a nice vacation. I was very disappointed in the staff, particularly the front desk staff and the management.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom cerritos, CA

Nice hotel nice beach

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Riu Hotels had 60% Europeans, 30% Canadians 10% US tourists. Traveled with wife and 2 kids (15 and 11). Hotel is not on beach so no rooms have beach views. 10 walk to beach or 5 min golf cart ride. Beach is beautiful white sand. Winter time is unpredictable with some windy days making strong waves but swimable. Sometime it's very calm. Special Christmas buffet was excellent. Overall buffet was good. Nice pool but no water slides. Couldn't make friends since most spoke foreign language. Night shows were ok if you like broadway singing. Alcohol drinks were good. Beds were comfortable plus free roll out 3rd bed if requested.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

Charming, Laid Back

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: This resort is very tranquil, no loud music or rowdy individuals. This resort seems to attract a mature and well behaved guest. No hassles/timeshare.
Cons: Television, people need more selection in their own language especially us spoiled Americans. Sometimes you want to watch something and not interact.
Location: The location is perfect not too far off the beaten path but secluded enough to know your on vacation. It is surrounded by private residences.
This resort is a bit long in the tooth, needs some updating but is well maintained. Everyone that we came in contact with did what they were supposed to do, which is to try to make the guest happy and accommodate them when possible. Enough said, no complaints.