Ratings based on 560 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Excellent hotel, amazing beach location

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Amazing beach front, excellent activities at the hotel, staff are incredible! Recommend checking out the dive excursion at the hotel. Nightly shows are awesome. Loved the food. Would definitely go back!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Tx.

Is close to the beach and has good amenities.

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: good price, close to the beach and good staff
Cons: FOOD!
Location: Close to downtown plaza. Cool Starbucks across the street with free wifi!
It could easily be a 5 star resort if it wasn't for the food! food is not good..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Good experience, but room for improvements

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Location relative to Playa del Carmen, the beach and the lush well maintained grounds compliment the hotel.
Cons: Ice dispensers at pop machines, especially the pool the bars. Eliminate the bright white stage spotlights that blind the audience during shows.
Location: Playa del Carmen nearby walk along the beach, Akumal swimming with turtles and Cenotes.
Food was great at the a la cartes and the buffet. Entertainment staff was very busy and enjoyed their work. Bartenders not overly friendly, but they to were very busy and accommodating. Disappoints include overcrowded pool, noisy room doors, impossible to sleep before the nightly entertainment ends after 11. Should start everything an hour earlier. Lack of ice for dispensing machines at pools, no room fridges, kids entertainment show starts late at 9pm, spotlights flashing into the audience for no apparent reason blinds the audience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MEDFORD

ROOM TOO SMALL FOR 4 ADULTS

Posted Jul 23, 2014
EVERY TIME SOMEONE TOOK A SHOWER THE WATER LEAKED OUT INTO THE BEDROOM, NO WASHCLOTHS IN THE HOTEL,NO COFFEE POT IN THE ROOM,BALCONY WAS 4 FEET BY 6FEET AND THERE WAS NO ROOM TO WALK AROUND THE CHAIRS AND TABLE TO SIT DOWN.ONLY 2 DRAWERS TO PUT YOUR CLOTHING IN REALLY FOR FOUR PEOPLE.THE BEST WAS ONLY 3 TOWELS FOR FOUR PEOPLE EVERY DAY I HAD TO ASK FOR MORE TOWELS. THE RESTAURANTS WERE VERY GOOD ,FOOD ,STAFF EVERYTHING ABOUT THEM EXCEPT WE WERE TOLD THAT OF OUR 5 NIGHT WE COULD ONLY EAT IN THEM TWICE THEN WE HAD TO EAT AT THE BUFFET.WE EVEN OFFERED TO PAY EVEN THOUGH WE WERE AT ALL INCLUSIVE AND WE WERE TOLD THAT WE COULD NOT PAY. WELS FO S ONLY THREE TOWELS AGAIN FOR FOUR PEOPLE. fet by 6 fethers was no room to even walk around the chair and table
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Decent Hotel for the Money

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The hotel staff was friendly and fun. My favorite was the Don Diego Mexican restaurant, a lot of food but it was good with the Margaritas and Tequila
Cons: The front desk could use a little more organization but again with the amount of people checking in and out its hard to keep up with the crowds.
Location: I went Para-sailing which was a lot of fun and worth the money. The walk to 5th Ave is not 20 min more like 40 min. The taxi is worth the money.
I stayed at the Viva Wyndham July 13th- July 19th. At first I was a little skeptical from reading all the different reviews before I had left. Check in wasn't to bad considering it was very busy up there and I even got my welcome drink when we arrived. The staff is all very friendly and the pool staff and animation teams are always working hard and even try to get you involved in their games. The pool was busy, which I preferred the ocean anyway. The buffet was okay many choices of things to eat and they have theme night every night. The breakfast and lunch menu didn't seem to change much but there were still plenty of things to eat. The rooms were always clean and I had a different towel made animal on my bed daily. My room was 2260 which faced the resort next to us which was fine because the only time I was in there was to sleep and shower.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Close to the beach
They don't treat you like a visitor and pleasure vacation , the staff don't help you to resolve any problem
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Macomb Twp., MI

Excellent beach, okay hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2014
If you are looking for the best beach and don't care about the food or bed, then this is the hotel for you. If you want good food that varies with each meal and each day and you want a comfortable bed and pillows, then don't stay here. The guest services area only had one helpful and knowledgeable employee, Sabrina. The entertainment was amazing each night. Truly the best we've seen so far. Can't say enough about the beach and water. So clean and beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hollister, Ca

Great hotel for the price.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Location was great and plenty of activities for families. We took our three teenagers for a two weeks vacation and they loved it. Make reservations for tha A La Cart Restaurants as soon as you check inn. Julio Cesar the manager at the Mexican restaurant was amazing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dayton, OH

On the beautiful beach of Playa del Carmen.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The regular staff and a few at the front desk. Specialty restaurants food was FANTASTIC, but the buffet food got old fast. Not enough of a variety.
Cons: The noise and the availability of management at the front desk. The staff other than the two gentleman on duty from about 7 to midnight were wonderful
Location: Shopping directly across the street or a 10 minute taxi ride into Playa del Carmen. We've been to this area of Mexico 5 other times & just love beach!
Disappointed in the hotel. Our trip started with a nice person at desk on check in, then after about an hour in the room we were sure the air was not working, as it got hotter and hotter in. Called for assistance and they sent a service person to check and yes, it was broken. Only with his assistance, we moved to another room 2 doors down & it was the same. Then moved again to another room, which was not the upgrade we paid for. Desk staff had changed and the two men we dealt with at the desk were rude and not at all helpful. Told us we would need to speak to a manager the next day. Not happy with their response, we were tired and made due with what we were given. We went to desk but no manager available at the time we were told & 2 hours later still no manager. However, who needs a manager, when a girl and man were able to handle it by themselves very politely. Gave us our original upgraded room with the air fixed. The noise is bad at night when trying to sleep from rooms next to you, the hall, and the bar & grill area outside was noisey, usually until 3 AM before it got quite. The rooms all have an issue with moisture, due to being so close to the water. All other staff were polite, eager to help, greeted you daily and even acted ashamed that the 2 men at the desk were so rude to us & that we had no manager assist us with the issue. I still cannot believe a well-known Hotel would not have a manager on duty at all times to assist with customers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ventura, California

Not bad for the price

Posted Jul 15, 2014
The past couple of times we have been to Cancun, we stayed in the Riviera Maya where the Resorts are much bigger and nicer therefore really noticed the difference with this smaller Resort. This time we wanted to try Playa del Carmen and this resort was recommended to us. When we arrived, we were actually assisted by the person in charge of the front desk, sadly to say, he was not friendly at all! He seemed upset because we were not carrying our passports rather just ID and said we could not use dollars in the resort (why? I dont know, he did not explain). Never explain anything about the resort (i.e. where our room was, restaurants, hours, etc.) just gave us the key. The bell man had to tell us where the room was and when we got there, the room was not even ready! We went back to the reception and someone else helped move us to another room. The one that had helped us before was standing there but pretended not to see us. Honestly, we did not have a good start there thanks to that person but his staff helped in making our stay much more pleasant after that because they were all very nice. The food was not that great, it was the exact same thing every day so after a few days you really get tired of it.