Ratings based on 526 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Natalie from Utah

Close to the beach. Nice accommodations.

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Air conditioned room! nightly shows were fun.
Cons: Friendliness of the staff. Room safe should be included in the room! Locals knew where you were staying because of the wrist bands.
Location: Beautiful beach/location! Very safe area. The Mayan ruins, snorkeling, shopping.
Hotel room was nice, the beach was nice, the waiters/waitresses and most of the resort staff were very friendly. The front desk employees acted as if you were a bother to them.....not very impressed with their helpfulness. When we tried making reservations for dinner, they only allowed us to book @ one restaurant with a 4 night stay, the other nights we were supposed to eat @ the buffet, unless we wanted to come back to the front desk each day between 2:00 and 3:00 pm to see what availability there was at one of the restaurants for that particular night. When I booked the resort, I did not get that impression at all. (maybe I just didn't understand). :) We had to pay $2.00 per day to use the room safe...???? That was a bit weird. We had to wear plastic bracelet/bands to verify we were staying @ the resort, but as soon as we checked out, they cut it off. We had to wait around for about 1 1/2 hrs before our shuttle picked us up, so we went in the gift shop to buy a coke, and the clerk told us now that we're checked out, we aren't supposed to be able to purchase anything in the gift shop, even though she took down our room # and had all of our info in her computer.....(gift shop clerks weren't that kind either). It seemed like the people wanting tips were the ones that were nice/helpful. I'd say it probably wasn't the BEST experience, but it wasn't the worst either. I probably am a little weird!! ;-)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jim from US

2nd time at viva Wyndham maya.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Great beach and lots for families to do. My biggest concern is with the staffers(males) who blatantly hit on young teenage girls who are staying at the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from austin texas

Paid for a king bed and got double beds.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Paid for king bed, got double beds. Limited hot water. The best workers I have ever seen, very outgoing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Colleen from Boston, MA

Great trip with a friend

Posted Apr 9, 2014
My friend and I had a great vacation here at the end of March. The hotel was clean, the staff was great- especially the animation team! The only thing we had a complaint about was the food. I am a vegetarian and they put meat in most dishes- mostly hot dogs. This was a big negative to me. If the food improved, I would be more keen to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by James from Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Hotel is right on beach.

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Food was excellent, hotel was very clean and very safe. Hotel staff was great, facilities where excellent beach very clean.
Cons: Pillows and mattress are not very comfortable
Location: Lots of excursions close by with pick up at the Hotel. 5th ave shopping in walking distance. Professional dive shop at hotel. Close to ferry.
We are a family of five, kids are 13,15 and 18. We had a great time. Hotel has an awesome staff who are very friendly. Hotel is kept very clean and has great facilites, like the trapeze. We are a family of picky eaters, but we all loved the food. Lots of choices and all very good. The beach is beautiful and the water super clean. We would go back again and recommend it to our friends and family. Loved the location in Playacar. Mexican market located right across the street.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Spring break from Minnesota

Great beachfront at the Viva!

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Best part of the hotel is the beach...lots of smooth white sand and shallow a ways out! Our kids loved it. Very friendly staff. Good food in restaurants! Rooms were small though. Ours did not have a door on the bathroom when we checked in. Couldn't get air conditioning to work properly. Cheap pillows and linens. Had a great view of pool and ocean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandra from BC, Canada

Great Family Resort!

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: We loved the wide variety of qactivities available for every age group. We also really enjoyed using the bikes to go into town.
Cons: It was difficult to book an "al a carte restaurant". Many were completely booked 7 days in advance. They should only book them 3 days in advance,
Location: The location is excellent. It is across the street from a night market an about 1 kilometer from down town.
This was our second trip to Playa Del Carmen, and first stay at the Viva Wyndham Mayan Resort. There is definitely a lot of activities going on at this resort. The staff are excellent, and always trying to make sure they get everyone involved. The evening shows were varied and well done. Volleyball, bocci, beach relays, scuba diving, boogie boarding, kayaking, darts and archery were only a few things that kept my older teens busy. They were not bored, and said they would definitely go back to this resort. The food was also very good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lex

Food

Posted Mar 22, 2014
The hotel is very, very clean and de personal is just great, the only think is foodisnot grear, you ll have a veey few choices on yor stay.
3 out of 5
by Wanderlust from Wisconsin

Just Ok

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: *Friendly Staff *Beach area is great *Price was good
Cons: *Your buffet *Give people that stay for 7 days more access to restaurants *Music by the pool area would be nice *More activities in pool/volleyball
My family and I stayed at the Viva Wyndamn Maya for a week on March 12th-19th. Overall, for the price we paid, it was not a bad hotel. However, we would not return to this hotel. The buffet food was not good. It gets really old after a few days. If you stay for 7 days, you only get to eat at the restaurants 3 times during your stay. I would suggest making reservations right away, as they claim, "They are full" for most of the dates and when you go to eat, there are tons of empty tables. It is kind of a joke. The food at the restaurants was good, so much better than the buffet. * Now for the pool area and beach, Ok, there is a guy that stands there with a clip board and scolds you if you have set out your towels for you and your family and then leave your chair for whatever reason. We had to eat in shifts to not get yelled at for "saving our chairs" Drinks are better if you tip. If not, they are not that good. *Staff was friendly, and many hard working people. *Other resorts they have people constantly coming around to get you drinks, here I only saw one guy, one time in 7 days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kelly from Ontario, Canada

Perfect hotel for us, awesome beach!

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: Beach, food, evening shows, drinks, overall ambiance of the hotel staff and guests.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: The location is in a gated community (Playacar), right on the Atlantic Ocean.
Viva Wyndham Maya was perfect for us! It is a relatively small resort (400 rooms), and everything is within a two-minute walk. The staff is tremendous; very hard-working and friendly. The beach is amazing! Cool, white sand, leading to warm turquoise waters of the Atlantic. The food wasn't fancy, but extremely tasty and wholesome. The evening shows were fantastic, put on by a great animation team. We would suggest bringing a sweater for the evening shows, as the breeze could be a bit chilly after sundown. Overall, it was a wonderful experience for our family of three, and I would not hesitate to return.