Ratings based on 589 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christiana, TN

Nice resort close to beach staff all very friendly

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Very good experience shows at night were awesome. The staff was all friendly and very helpful. The beds are not the best but that would be my only complaint.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Francis, Minnesota

Nice hotel on amazing beach.

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Pools and beach. Very clean and had plenty of room.
Cons: Definitely the check-in process. This is the first place people visit and first impression is critical.
Location: Great location, next to shopping, easy access to beach, short taxi drive to 5th Ave (or 20 minute walk).
Checking into hotel was quick, however the person checking us in did not provide us any information on amenitites on the hotel, where we could find things (pool, buffet, specialty restruarants), and basic directions to our room. When the all-inclusive band was put on my wrist, he put it on way too tight. I asked him to adjust and he said I would have to come back the next day for the adjustment, he could not do it then. What??? I've never heard of such a thing. We were pleasantly surprised when we finally found our room. It was close to the pool and the beach; however it was on the top floor (53 steps) and there was no elevator. I was traveling with my 71 year old mother, so needless to say, we were not happy about that. Hotel was booked, so no changes to our room. Nightly shows were fantastic, however, they are VERY loud and can be heard clearly in the room. Food is good and you won't go hungry. Front lobby says the main buffet has a different dinner theme each night, but that is not the case - it is the same each day. Pools and pool bar are great. All the servers work hard to make sure you are taken care of. The beach is perfect! White soft sand, no need for shoes in the water. Plenty of lounge chairs to use. All in all, had a great time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UT

Warning: Hot Dog Pizza

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Spend a little extra and go someplace else! The only thing worse than the food was the hotel staff. We have never experienced a place so unaccommodating. If you want to feel like you're business is not valued then this is the place for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Fun Hotel, Staff not helpful with Dinner

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Beach activities, beach access/location, fun hotel
Cons: Better dinner reservation system and more helpful dinner staff
Location: Xplor, Talum, Beach, Sea Turtles
Fun activities, nice beach and facility, staff not helpful with dinner and promised more reservations but they were not met. We tried to talk to a manager but had the same issue. If they fixed this I'd give the hotel a 4.5.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ca, USA

Hotel close to the beach

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Beautiful beach. Aquatic equipment and staff very helpful and accomodating. Good night entertaiment with variety shows. Relatively close to Playa del Carmen 5th street, go walking or biking. Buffett food below standard for a 3.5 star hotel. Dinner at the reservation restaurants were fantastic, however, we were staying 6 nights and had only 2 reservations allowed. Guest services supervisor Karina did not deliver what she promised.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Seems to get better each time we go back. Clean and very accommodating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wy

Mexico Fun

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Loved this hotel. First of all, I read all the blogs prior to going. I have to first say, ITS MEXICO people, so plan on it being hot. Yes, TV is limiited So stay home if your wanting to watch tv. We experienced Don Diego's, outstanding food and service. The bar staff everywhere was outstanding and the drinks were the way you wanted them. The pool was clean and constantly had staff sweeping and cleaning. The beach was great. The entertainment was very good, for resort type of entertainment my girlfriend did trapez and had a blast. The night shows were good. The restaurant buffet was just that, a buffet. Not bad at all. The only downer was on check in, two females working that evening and were NOT at all welcoming. Without a doubt would return to Viva.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Excellent Stay!!!!!

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Food: Great food, plenty of variety, fresh and catered for diverse cultures. Specifically impressed as they served Caribbean food too - rice and peas , curry goat and plantain! !!! P.S a lot of pork on menu. service: superb- everyone is friendly and so so helpful! We made friends with a few of the staff and will be keeping in touch! !! Room: basic but fulfills all your needs and very clean! downside- wife is very slow and beware of Best Day Travel ! The rep we had overly exaggerated the nature of the excursions , in fact he lied about the content of the tours. The Best Day Rep has a spot in the hotel so if you book a transfer then you are assigned to them. However luckily the hotel has a rep which they recommend- she was very honest and arranged us good deals.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

really nice hotel,friendly staff

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: i love the way thats in a private residencial area
Location: beach was perfect
i love it all, food was great the drinks you get what you pay for
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

First time at an all inclusive

Posted Sep 23, 2014
We stayed in the 3000 bldg which was comfortable and quiet to sleep. The adult pool was closed so there was only 1 pool for all the guests. The food was very good and the nightly shows were very well done and entertaining. The staff were very polite and even remembered what drinks I had been ordering. It was a short bike ride to Playa and had a fantastic beach.