Ratings based on 676 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Food was good, drinks were good.
Cons: Beds
We had an amazing time. The beds could be more comfortable. All in all, great trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom oregon

Good access to everything.

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: I like the size of this place. I don't like the bigger ones where it is a long walk to get to anything.
Location: Close to town.
Ok, nothing but great things to say about the staff. They work their butts off and keep a smile on their face all day long. They were awesome. The currency exchange lady was a bit sour. The smallest bills she could give me were 100 pesos and I wanted to buy a 1 dollar post card at the gift shop and she said she didn't have change for a 10.00 dollar bill, so bring lots of 1.00 dollar bills. I talked to Salvador at the reception desk and he was a great help in assisting me to get change for a 20.00 dollar bill. Carlos was our favorite bartender at the pool bar. He was the only bartender who would make us a cocoa loco. As far as the shows go, the one you absolutely don't want to miss is the Usher, Rhianna, Lady Gaga, Micheal Jackson, Bruno Mars show. They do it every other Saturday night and it is fantastic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Frisco, Texas

Average hotel for that area.

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: The restaurants that you have to make a reservation for; were spectacular. the presentation and the taste were excellent.
Cons: The food: the pool area food was always cold and stale. The La Terreza had a poor selection of food and mostly under cooked.
Location: The location is close enough to the down town area for shopping and the ferry to Cozumel.
All-in-all, it was an OK stay. We've stayed at the other Viva Wyndham (Azteca) and several other resorts along that strip and have had a much better stay. Activities, shows, and on-site atmosphere were sub-par compared to the other resorts we have traveled to. We will never go back to the Viva Wyndham Maya mainly because the other resorts provide a better stay for the same price. I don't like that you can only reserve 2-3 nights at the restaurants based upon your total night stay, so the other nights you are forced to eat at the La Terreza (poor quality food), or you have to travel into town for an over priced meal on 5th Ave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom firenze

Grazioso resort sulla spiaggia all inclusive

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Servizio molto buono
Cons: Ciao Nelson ristorante a buffet va sicuramente migliorato nella qualita
Ottima posizione resort molto curato spiaggia discreta, cibo da migliorare
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom puebla

Hotel con todo lo necesario para no salir

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Todo muy bien, las bebidas un poco diluidas pero bien. Los meseros súper atentos y amables. Solo hay wifi en el lobby. Los que resultaron poco amables fueron los de animación, les interesa quedar bien con los europeos y chicas lindas, pero al turismo nacional la verdad que nos menosprecian
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Beautiful setting, great staff!

Posted Jan 9, 2015
We have stayed at this resort twice and feel its a great value for the price. The staff is very friendly and eager to please. Not as pleased with the room location this time because it was right by the evening entertainment and REALLY loud, however, we knew they would have moved our room if we wanted to and we managed to fall asleep. This time we went to the sister property, Viva Azteca, just 5 to 10 minutes walk and the Italian Restaurant was excellent!!! Had a great time! Short walk to downtown Playa for something to do. Enjoy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Hotel and Staff were great.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: The staff was great especially the reception, Eduardo was great about everything.
Cons: as I stated above ban guests from taking food on the beach and ban tipping bar staff.
Location: it's close to Playa del carmen. For those of us that saw Playa before it became "Americanized" this is a little heartbreaking.
The main complaint I actually have is that this region of Mexico is becoming more "Americanized". I did find it odd that you have to pay for the security deposit box, but that wasn't a deal breaker for me. I seriously think the hotel should ban guests from taking food on the beach. Sorry but I was picking up garbage because I guess I care about the beach and others don't. I also find it annoying that the only way to get a strong drink is to tip the bartenders. I don't enjoy carrying money around in my swim suit just so I can taste alcohol in my drink. I've waited tables I get it, but guests already pay enough and the tipping needs to go. Also I was amazed how crazy expensive everything has become in Mexico in the last 4 years. It was almost impossible to haggle prices, and then there was the Silver craze. Any woman/man who has purchased silver jewelry or any jewelry in the US will notice how overpriced it is in Mexico now. For example one man would not budge on a little ring I saw he wanted $350 (US dollars) I found basically the same ring (Silver) with a warranty for $70 (US dollars) last night. I'm not sure if it's because of the tourist being a mix of Americans and Europeans that don't know how to haggle prices or what the deal is.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with impressively friendly staff

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Great experience-- loved most food and how you could make reservations at the restraints (all 4 course) was never hungry and loved the free (STRONG) Drinks and just how active the resort was.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Arlington, TX

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Very Clean
Cons: Beds were not comfortable
Location: Lots to do within 5 to 50 miles from hotel.
The hotel and staff were very pleasant and friendly! It's great place for families with lots of activities on site for all ages.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

loved our stay.

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: Lots of lounge chairs, and shade. Very nice staff.
Cons: Free wifi in all areas of resort. Wall Hooks in the bathrooms.
Location: Short cab ride to the town of playa del carmen, about $6.00 cdn. Or a 30 min walk
Great staff. Beautiful big clean beach with lots of palapas, Palm trees, lounge chairs. Terrific nightly entertainment from a group of talented, very hard working young people.