Ratings based on 574 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Never Again, even for Free..!

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Nothing. never again in this place
Cons: N/A
Location: N/A
Food and Beverage quality: NO A/C in all restaurants. You will literally sweat when you go to eat in the only food source on the resort. This facility will make "Golden Corral" a five star buffet. You are only allowed certain number of reservations for what they call premium restaurant, in our case it was a total of (4) for 2 weeks stay. Even in premium restaurant, the food quality was so bad. Hotel staff are rude and will nickel and dime you for everything, when my daughter got sick, the buffet staff gave my wife a lecture on how it's not allowed to bring food to rooms from buffet when she tried to get breakfast for my daughter. There was no Meals and beverages at companion properties. Safe in rooms are two dollars/day. No complimentary water to drink, no Mini-bar. bad in-room A/C, UN-controlled mosquito population and must have extra towels when showering because you will flood the room. Beach towels are free, but dispensed with restrictions and one per/person with a card. loose your towel and pay thirty dollars. Drinks: All Drinks are fake, I am not a drinker myself, one beer will send me to the 7th heaven. I will stay in the pool most of the day, total about 10 beers, 5 pina colada and walk out like i had nothing!. All my friends had concurred of this fact too Shows and daytime activities: Bad Night shows. day time activities are horrible. They might need to redefine the terms of comedy and Vegas shows. You will be bored. Staff: Mean staf
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: close to sea
Cons: more choices at buffet
Location: within walking distance to shopping
located in a very safe area, was a bit disappointed with unruly kids in pool area that the staff did nothing about, lots of fun activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Everything we needed right on the beach

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Everything was what we expected. Only complaint would be the uncomfortable beds. Everything else was great!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Don't go there..

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Pretty much Nothing,
Cons: No Comments here
Location: No comments here either
Food and Beverage quality: NO A/C in all restaurants. You will literally sweat when you go to eat in the only food source on the resort. This facility will make "Golden Corral" a five star buffet. You are only allowed certain number of reservations for what they call premium restaurant, in our case it was a total of (4) for 2 weeks stay. Hotel staff are rude, when my daughter got sick, the buffet staff gave my wife a lecture on how it's not allowed to bring food to rooms from buffet when she tried to get breakfast for my daughter. There was no Meals and beverages at companion properties. Safe in rooms are $2/day. No complimentary water to drink, no Mini-bar. in-room A/C is bad, UN-controlled mosquito population and must have extra towels when showering because you will flood the room. Beach towels are free, but dispensed with restrictions and one per/person with a card. loose your towel and pay $30. Shows and daytime activities: Night shows are bad. day time activities are bad. You will be bored. No A/C in any free resort restaurant or bar Staff: Hotel staff are mean and nickel and dime you for everything. They will investigate when they see a dirty towel, (This is real, when we spilled some drinks on the floor and was cleaned with a towel, the mgmt sent Columbo team to investigate
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Nice hotel... Beautiful beach. Food was OK. I think the staff could be nicer, to me it felt like they were just doing thier job and didn't really make you feel welcomed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Would not stay there again!

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Not much. Provided water equipment and organized activities for teens.
Cons: Dehumidify all rooms. Assure hot water in all rooms. Provide hotel shuttle. Include all restaurant dinners.
Location: Great location on beach. Several excursions could be booked. Close to town and shopping.
There were 7 of us in our party with three rooms. There was no hot water in my shower. Called and complained. Got hot water for a couple of hours. Did occasionally have hot water in the bath tub. Rooms very musty. A couple of people in our party had to change rooms because the smell was so bad and they requested dehumidifiers which they were emptying 3-4 times a day. Bed and pillows were extremely uncomfortable. Reception personnel very slow. Not very personable or welcoming. Guest services not very helpful. The only staff we found to be consistenly pleasant and great to deal with were the wait staff and cleaning people. Price was among the least expensive of the all inclusives in the area. However, they "nickle/dimed" on everything i.e. charged for use of room safe, lost tennis balls, lost pool towels, limited number of dinners in restaurants, etc. Had to pay for a shuttle from the airport to the hotel which is quite pricey. The one thing this hotel did have going for it was the number of activities and things for teens and young kids to do. They provided bicycles, kayaks, snorkelling equipment, paddle boards and windsurfers which were fun. Plus the beach volleyball, ping pong, tennis, etc. The two teens in our party enjoyed these amenities. I've stayed in the same area in a different hotel and would go back there. But this one, even though quite inexpensive, was not worth the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, 30 minutes from town.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
The hotel is very lively, noisy (but in a good way - people having fun) and the food is excellent and plentiful. The beach is great with plenty to do and only 30 minutes walk from Playa del Carmen. If you want a quiet holiday then this hotel is probably not for you. The quality of food and the service in the buffet far exceeds that served in the on-site (free) restaurants. If you want a better taste of Mexico - go into town! Room allocation needs to be improved as we were not offered ocean view rooms on arrival and had to kick up a fuss to be moved the next day Better Day - the providers of transport to and from the hotel obviously provide a service cheaply on the "understanding" that you will book a sightseeing tour with them during your stay. We were unaware of this and they were not happy with us and made this clear. If I went again, I would pay for taxi transport.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No good

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Not good hotel not clean the food not good and there's no air condition
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massillon, Ohio

3 Star Hotel with a 5 star beach.

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The beach.
Cons: Fresh water in the rooms. Wash cloths supplied with linens. Air flow in the buffet area. It was so uncomfortable to dine.
Location: Location was close to anything you'd like to do. Shopping, excursions. Beach.
First, the cons: We were limited to the number of times we could eat at the restaurants requiring reservations. This meant we had to eat at the buffet the majority of our stay. This was NOT an air conditioned area. It was very HOT and uncomfortable. The hotel did not supply wash cloths. We had one bottle of water in our room when we arrived. It was an additional charge for more water or you could refill the bottle at the buffet with purified water. There was a VERY limited wait staff for the beach. Mostly a "self serve" hotel. Second, the pros: The rooms were comfortable with adequate air conditioning. The beach was gorgeous. The entertainment was fun. Most of the staff were very friendly. We would not return to this hotel because we have experienced others that were better overall. However, if you are looking for a good place to travel with children, this is a decent choice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Very very bad resort with a good beach

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Reserved connected two rooms since I have young kids and did not get. AC did not work at room. You can reserve two nights of five to dine at the restaurants , the rest of vacations you have to eat at the buffet. Which it had the same food for lunch and dinner every day. No seafood no cheese very limited on chicken and meat. The only good thing is the beach by nature Front desk is terrible Thanks to the head manager Elias who transferred us to the next door sister resort AZteca which was amazing