Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.3 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Close to I-20

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Room was dirty, trash in cans, dirty sheets, bathroom faucet was missing and bugs everywhere.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

You Get What You Pay For...

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: I can't end this without a glimmer of praise. The front desk personnel are very personable and polite
Cons: Where to start... how about demolition and rebuild
Location: The room was very close to where I needed to be the next morning and I was very glad to leave.
The room and property were very poorly maintained. I requested a non-smoking room but the room obviously was SMOKING due to the cigarette burns on the linen and the ashes on the carpet, bathroom tile, and on the chairs. The tables still had beer bottle stains on them as well as on the remote...at least I hope it was beer! The door was poorly secured with a chain lock. I hope I didn't pick up any bed bugs because the linen had debris all over it...maybe it was cigarette ashes! The toilet had pubic hair and poorly cleaned urine stains on it. I completely skipped the shower and took a "field shower" with a washrag and the sink. Luckily my training in the military had prepared me for such an occasion because I didn't get a wink of sleep cause I was on guard duty all night. You do get what you pay for, so shell out the extra bucks and get a decent room at a big name hotel unless you're a thrill seeker who enjoys "living life on the edge."
2 out of 5
for Couples
by Sandra from Red Oak, tx


Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels
Can't imagine what our room would have looked like, but we were upgraded to a king suite. Ha ha. King bed, no suite, bathroom needs lots of caulking. Coffee pot but no coffee, water pressure ok, probably would not have chosen this hotel had it not been so late
2 out of 5
for Business Travelers
by Garrett from Fort Worth

The Royal

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels
If you need a good location, cheap ($$) then the Royal is a good spot. Door only had a push button lock like on a toilet. I put a chair up against the door knob just for extra security.
1 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels
1 out of 5
for Business Travelers
by Gene from Boston

Roach Motel

Posted Aug 6, 2014 on Hotels
Filthy. Roaches in room. Hasn't been updated in 40 years.
1 out of 5
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Josue from Spring, TX

Should have kept driving

Posted Aug 5, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel has regular live in guest. People outside drinking. The door was kicked in it would not lock, had to use a recliner to block door. My family did not feel safe and the room had an odor and was not clean. My family wanted to sleep in the car instead but even then it was safer in the room due to the area. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. I stopped to sleep but did not get much as we were too scared to sleep.
5 out of 5
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Jessica

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Sherry from Arizona

ok in Abilene

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels
The Royal Inn has added some really nice upgrades to their large rooms like nice furniture, microwaves and refrigs. Unfortunately, the rooms themselves have a lot of deferred maintenance. The girl that checked us in at 2am was efficient and responsive to our needs and the room was clean. Also the location is convenient and easy to find.
2 out of 5
by AV from austin, texas


Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Comfortable beds
Cons: Everything else
Location: Sketchy area near highway.
Beds were comfortable, but that's about it. "Two room suite" means you can close the curtain between the beds. Property badly in need of repair. Pool is green with missing tiles, only functioning ice machine on opposite side of property. Room was shabby, no deadbolt, no coffee, phone made noise all night. Grey-ish, thin towels. Had to ask for lightbulbs for two lamps.