Ratings based on 239 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

En route to Portsmouth suited the plan

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: Clean and friendly
Location: N/A
Good reception food was good. Full breakfast was one of the best I have ever had.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel Nice Village

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: all above
Location: nice village
Very nice place to stay great room big,nice breakfast ,nice food in evening ,staff great, also keep our room open till 2pm as i was running the Abingdon Marathon.No complains this is a great place to stay !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Clacton-on-Sea

Well placed for visiting family

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Peace and quiet and friendly staff.
Cons: Room could have been a bit cleaner and we had to ask for top up bottled water and milk on one occasion.
We have stayed here before and will again. It is quiet with chalet type accommodation. The rooms outside are generous in space, the shower controls take a bit of time to master but the shower is a good one. Breakfast cannot be faulted, plenty to eat if required. Meals are available in the evening if needed. We like peace and quiet so don't like staying in town and we find the Cherry Tree suits us well, we stayed 3 nights this time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angles

Near Oxford Hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: Restaurant and Bar were very good. Free breakfast was excellent Room was large and comfortable
Cons: Could not check out at 7am because no staff were available till 8am
Location: Vey small town nothing much in the town but very close to Oxford where there is lts to see and do.
Was very relaxing and enjoyable place stay, the bar is very good
5 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 2, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich, UK

Quaint pub in an idealistic village

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: First the rooms were clean and roomy. Also the food is extremely good! Owners know what they are doing and are doing it well.
Cons: In the summer Fans in the rooms for when it is hot!
We stayed in the little cottage like rooms out the back of the pub, they were very pleasing to look at, roomy, clean and you had plenty of tea/coffee, bottled water and biscuits - far more than other accommodation provide! The pub is very quaint, staff helpful and the owners extremely friendly! They do an excellent GLUTEN FREE menu and breakfasts. We have a coeliac in our party so was really pleased with the GF breakfast cooked by Shaun, who is extremely knowledgeable about Coeliac disease and the need to keep separate area in the kitchen for preparation of GF food and cross-contamination, had a good conversation with him at breakfast. The GF menu for meals is really good too - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Please be aware this is a pub not a hotel there is a little noise from regulars, something we were alright with as it is nice to see a pub doing well in the present climate.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Torquay, Devon

Two day stopover en-route to Heathrow

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Nicely room apart from the criticisms above.
Cons: AC or fans in hot weather. It would be easy to say remove the seating outside the bedroom windows but that wouldn't be practical. Food quality needs a
Location: Didn't use anything other than the local supermarket.
The guest room was nice and seemed fairly new. It was well appointed with clean towels and toiletries on each bed. However, there were two negatives. The first was that the windows open directly onto the outside seating area for the pub which meant people were seated talking right outside our window. We couldn't leave the windows open as the noise was too loud and the smell of cigarette smoke on occasions too strong to bear. Add to this the fact that this two days and nights were very hot indeed and as there is no AC fitted and no fans made available, the stay was uncomfortable. I should add that we did not ask for fans, something which should be a forethought for any hotelier as opposed to guests having to ask. We ate on both nights in the main pub. The food was okay but not brilliant. Fish and chips the first night whilst a bargain at £14.95 for two, wasn't actually all that good. The fish was overcooked unfortunately. The second night's food was worse. The chicken fajitas were swimming in oil and overspiced, neither of which was necessary. Less is definitely more. The salt and pepper squid was fully battered and something I have never encountered before. I had the wild boar and chorizo burger which tasted okay but was just a little overdone. Service throughout the stay was polite and could not be faulted. On returning home, I received an odd email saying we had been charge an additional £6. I queried this and was told it was because the right amount could not be charged.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milan, Italy

Pleasant place with excellent staff

Posted Jul 1, 2017 on Orbitz
I got there early and the stuff made the arrangements for a quick check in. Clean and comfortable rooms. Good restaurant with reasonable prices. Strong WiFi in both the restaurant and the rooms. Spacious and safe parking.
4 out of 5
by Steve

Business trip - 1 night stay

Posted Jun 28, 2017 on Hotels
Very clean & tidy room, nice staff.