Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Getting better but work still needed....

Posted Mar 14, 2016
We've stayed here off and on over the years. Have not been there for about 3 years bease of how deteriorated it is. For convenience, we decided to stay again. Still issues with black mold in shower...manager notified. More fresh paint and new floor in BR noted. Still a way to go before we return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Morrisville, PA

At least it was clean

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Pros: The room itself was clean.
Cons: The outdated decor. The awful spring mattress.
Location: Lancaster County is filled with great food, nice people and countless places to shop!
If you can find this motel for a very low price I'd recommend it. The room was clean and this is where the positives end. The room is small, extremely dated (wood paneling, a panel door for the bathroom) and it smelled musty even though it was clean. The bed was very springy (also probably from the '70's) and led to the worst night of sleep I've had in years. I only stayed one night thank goodness, if it had been more I would've been looking to stay somewhere else.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK hotel but not what I expected

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Cons: the ambiance of the hotel could be improved.
Location: Hotel is 45 minutes to Hershey Park and 20 minutes to Dutch Wonderland.
This hotel wasn't what I'm used to but it served the purpose of providing an affordable place for us to crash for the night. First I don't understand why we were given rooms at opposite ends of the hotel when two rooms next to each other were available. The rooms had a musky smell, like if they haven't been aired out in a long time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Upstate New York

You get what you pay for.

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: price
Cons: Clean the carpet and a coat of paint.
Price was right but stains on the carpet and small sq. ft. made for tight stay for family.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana, PA

Weekend Trip

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Location, price, people are nice.
Cons: The older side of the hotel needs to be remodeled.
Location: 23 miles from Adamstown, PA. Lots of restaurants, antique malls.
We stay at this hotel several times a summer for weekend antiquing trips. We usually get rooms on the "newer" side because this is a much cheaper hotel than closer to the "action" at Adamstown, PA. The newer side is the one with the rooms in the 20's...we had room 14, and it was not nice...the floor was dirty, the room was wood paneled so it was dark...it was very small. Tiny T.V. Just not the usual. If you go, request a room in the newer side, a room number like 20, 23, etc. Those are very nice, clean and much more modern. Nothing fancy, but definitely worth it if you don't want to pay more to just sleep and shower. Also, it's in a nice area, and the people who run it are friendly.
1 out of 5
by Pete from Fla.

World War II

Posted Oct 21, 2013
I've had better rooms for $24.95. The room I booked at the same time at Red Roof Inn in Florence , S.C. was cheaper and three times better. Roadway was way over priced for the accomodations.
1 out of 5
by Mike from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Bates Motel

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Pros: Leaving....
Cons: Checking "IN"
It smelled so bad that it tasted.... Good thing that the cigarette smokes from the 4 neighbours ( who stays there all year long with their cat) kind of covered the room odor. Never seen something that bad. Blood stain on the bed sheet, hair and other thing we could not identified on the shower floor, and on and on.... However, If you are a fan of Psycho and would like the " Ambiance" of Bates Motel, this is the place for you........
2 out of 5
by Dan from Central NY

Typical run of the mill motel

Posted Aug 9, 2013
Pros: It had a functional bed, shower, toilet, and table.
Cons: Fix and clean the fridge. Lower rates or higher quality. Accommodate reservations with children better. Get new, clean, sturdy cots.
Location: Gas/convenience store in walking distance. Lots of pizza places and some other basic eateries nearby. Oregon Dairy was a neat little place.
It did the job, but some things were less than ideal. The fridge was not cold, and smelled a bit; found it was not plugged in, presumably because of the broken off ground connector still stuck in the electrical socket. I had a reservation for an adult and a child, but the room had only one bed and no pull-out. They charged me extra to rent an old beat-up cot! And, their "hospitality" felt rather fake, as if I was really bothering them any time I spoke to the proprietors. So, I was less than impressed. Did not seem worth the amount of money that was paid for it, and I would look for a different place if I stayed in this area, again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, Older but Adequate

Posted Jul 2, 2013
Pros: Convenient location, competitive price
Cons: Replace worn carpeting and put in a solid door for bathroom.
Location: About 7 miles north are the Adamstown antique malls. Come on a Sunday morning to include the Sundays-only Renningers and Stoudts malls.
This motel is close to Adamstown antique malls and Lancaster County attractions. It's been a long time since I've had a storm door as well as a regular door on a motel room, but this place is older. It's simple (e.g., folding door on bathroom) but was adequate for our need for an overnight stay. Pleasant staff in afternoon and the next morning. Room was clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Misleading Info on Expedia

Posted May 27, 2013
The motel does not offer a breakfast, but the info on the Expedia website was advertsing the breakfast as included in the room price..