Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

So . . . So

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location!!!
Cons: Customer Service and Key Card System, mainly.
Location: I drove around looking for a quick place to get something to eat, but didn't find anything to my liking. It would be nice if the hotel offered a map.
Customer Service not so great. The box of tissues in my room was empty, so I called down for a replacement box. Three hours later, I had to go and get it from the desk myself. The clerk at the desk said, ("oh, I'm sorry. I took a box up to the 12th floor, but then couldn't remember what your room number was. Seriously???) I thought they advertised Complimentary Breakfast in something I read, but during my stay, the dining room was closed for renovations, so they offered nothing. I think at the very least, they could have put out some small bottles of juice, coffee and a box of donuts . . . something! Also, I found out that they are in the midst of changing management, so things are not up to standard. The key card system is horrible and is in desparate need of upgrading. They gave me 2 key cards, neither one of which worked. You have to have it to access the elevator and your room. So I had to have someone from the desk accompany me to use her master key for both the elevator and room door. I did like the location of this hotel, as it is within blocks of the John S. Knight Center, which was the venue for my visit. The room was clean enough for a one night stay, and conveniently arranged I have no complaint about excess noise, except for the inconsiderate guests that don't have sense not to let their door slam, as they went in and out. I will use this hotel again next year . . . hopefully by then they'll have a new key card system and a functioning dining room!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Maintenance Neglected

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Despite hotelwide renovations, attention needs to be paid to ordinary maintenance, e.g. lightbulbs.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh area

WALKING DISTANCE TO THEATER, CANAL PARK, DOWNTOWN

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Clean room. Location.
Cons: If they made it top drawer it wouldn't be reasonably priced would it? I didn't take pictures of the place....not the thing I do on a trip.
Location: Theater venue, park, restaurants in walking distance.
Stayed here after a show at Akron Civic Theater. Easy walking distance to venue and downtown restaurants. Style-wise, the exterior is bland cement (as are other buildings downtown). Facility was just a little shop-worn. Room was fine. Had those sleep-number beds that apparently didn't work. Comfortable anyway. Good value and I was able to stay in-town and not be concerned with driving after visiting the local saloon.....which was also good.
4 out of 5
by Matthew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Look elsewhere

Posted Mar 23, 2016
This hotel has a virtual monopoly on central Akron, and the facilities show it. Uncomfortable beds. Door key took 15 tries to work. Room heater did not really work well. But the big issue was that there was no hot water. Not what you want to discover when you've been traveling with a sick child and have been looking forward to a shower before passing out for the night. Desk clerk was friendly but I don't plan on staying here when I return. I will stay at one of the chain hotels outside of town.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nadty

Posted Mar 8, 2016 on Hotels
Mold all over window. Dirty tub. Stained matress. Freezing cold no heat. We left discusting
5 out of 5
by Joseph from Rittman

Thanks hotels.com

Posted Mar 8, 2016 on Hotels
Sweet hotel! Stayed on the 9th floor Secured parking in secured underground, free parking deck with an person at the entrance/ exit at all times! Secured use of elevators using an easy swipe with room key...so no-one unauthorized can access use to the room floors! Only wish the pool was open! I'll recommend hotels.com and AKRON CITY CENTER HOTEL any day, any time, to every one I know!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room was nice--problems with everything else

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was undergoing renovations. Restaurant was closed. No business center amenities. I wish I had been advised of these things. Lighting low and lobby dreary. Advertised fireplace in lobby was never lit. Three guestrooms were in use while I was there. Keycards wouldn't work in elevator 5 times in a row. Room was very nice and roomy and staff was friendly and helpful. It looked like entire building hotel located in was being renovated.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cambridge, ohio

Room was nice bed was comfy

Posted Mar 3, 2016
Location: We were close to Akron children's hospital which was where our grandson was so it was convienant
The staff was helpful when we were charged more through Expedia they notified MN e so I could contact expedia and get a reimbursement which I did
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst Hotel Experience of My Life!!!!

Posted Mar 2, 2016
Pros: Location in downtown Akron
Cons: Ease of ingress/egress. Staff competency and dress code. Turn on heat. Turn on hot water. Finish Construction. EVERYTHING could be improved.
Location: The downtown location is the only redeeming quality.
While checking in (after our Expedia reservation did not show up in their system), the hotel clerk at the front desk (wearing turn-up jeans and an old college sweatshirt) received a phone call and told the person on the phone that they were closed for renovations. I repeat: while we were being checked-in, the hotel clerk made us wait while he told someone on the phone that the hotel WAS CLOSED FOR RENOVATIONS!!!!! There was no heat int he lobby, elevator or hallways. Our room was dirty. There was no hot water - it took about 10 minutes that night and 15 minutes in the morning to turn on. The hotel clerk told my wife that he thought there was hot water next door and she could take a shower over there... NO THANK YOU! We were charged an additional $60 for our room the next morning, and then that charge was supposedly removed - even though we had already paid online through Expedia. This was the worst hotel experience of my life!!! If we had no pre-paid through Expedian, we would have turned around and walked out about 2 minutes after arriving. This hotel should be (and apparently is) closed!