Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No, no no..

Posted May 10, 2012 on Hotels
This is not a hotel. It is situated on the 4th floor only. Access via the oldest elevator in Africa. No top sheet on bed. At best a poorly kept lodgehouse. Overpriced.
3 out of 5
by davros

handy location near shops and bars and sea front

Posted Apr 22, 2012 on Hotels
good for purpose
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2012 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pat from Doha, Qatar

Good Location, no Tour Packages, Clean/Comfortable

Posted Apr 9, 2012
Pros: Location, Price & Clean
Cons: Lack of tours/packages
Location: 1 block away from Corniche.
No frills place in the middle of the Citadel & Library. Breakfast was more than adequate for European standards (croissant, boiled egg, tea/coffee, toast, jam). Rooms were clean. Bathroom was a bit small, but water pressure was ok (watch for kinks in the shower hose). Hot water. We could here the metro, but it was infrequently and not late at night. We got one of the larger rooms facing a back alley but a slight view of the sea (more quiet). Staff did not have any tour/day trips/packages; it might have been because of the lack of tourist. Plenty of restaurants and grocery stores nearby. Look for a small sign that says "Transit" in a small back alley. It was relatively safe at night since the entrance was close to the main street.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great trip

Posted Apr 7, 2012 on Hotels
The hotel location is great, close to all the touristic points. We got a room with view to the sea, it was a great experience and great service
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cairo

transit, Alexandria,Best position, worth the price

Posted Nov 15, 2011 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Great bargain!

Posted Jul 12, 2011 on Hotels
The reviews here are pretty consistent with what you'll find at Hotel Transit, but we had a great stay and were thrilled at the bargain! Our room had a partial sea view, was comfortably appointed, and met our needs. Additionally, there was a complementary breakfast (bread, croissants, eggs, tea/coffee), and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The location is great for visiting the main sites in Alexandria! There was even a mini-bar with very reasonably priced snacks and drinks which we appreciated! Our only suggestion would be to develop a solution for the bathroom- since there is no real shower/tub, the water floods the room and makes it quite dangerous with the slippery mats! We enjoyed our stay at the Transit, and if you're looking for an inexpensive but comfortable stay, this is a good option!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stockholm

Transit - ideal hotel for a tight budget traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2011 on Hotels
The location is really good and the rooms are good. It's excellent service and hospitality, though the rooms are really standard. There are everything you need, a bed, a toilette, a shower and a TV, even a mini bar. Perfect if you don't want to spend that much money. A big plus for the location but a minus beacuase it's a bit noisy in the night and you have to pay extra for the AC
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 6, 2011 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Seattle, USA

Excellent Value for the Money

Posted Apr 8, 2011
First, you need to understand that this is a 2 star hotel, you are paying a low fee, so don't have high expectations, this is a humble hotel. The guys who work here are very nice, the room was clean, and the budget breakfast was good. The only thing that I don't like about this hotel is that its hard to find, there are no signs, and its actually just a single floor that has 10 rooms in a building that has 5 floors with clinics and business offices. Its directly behind the Cecil Hotel, you might see a small sign next to the door that says "Transit", and thats about it. Like others have mentioned its directly above the Drinkies shop. Other than that, I enjoyed my stay there, the Wi-Fi was quick, and the place was safe and clean.