Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california, US

Booked online

Posted Oct 13, 2017
When I arrived the maid was mopping the floor with wet liquid that stunk. The manger told her to set her broom aside and to show us the room !!!! After the horrible reception, we were taken to a college kids dorm style room with poor quality furniture that matches their one person reception staff attitude !!! The room stunk so bad that we left right away ... when I approached the reception woman, she angrily said, sorry you can't handle the smell, I'm still going to charge you the booking amount !!! Horrible, terrible experience and in a run down area with rude, angry staff. Save yourself the humility and headache I had and find another place.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Unprofessional staff

Posted Apr 17, 2017
They lack professionalism, they are not nice. They need training and improvement in how to deal with the hotel customers. I won't recommend this hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Irbid, Jordan

Posted Apr 13, 2016
In a few words; this hotel needs a lot of renovations. AC doesn't work probably, floor is torn up, furniture is old and outdated, even TV reception is horrible. It was nice that they provide a free breakfast but even that wasn't impressive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not an international standard property

Posted Jun 19, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is not international standard. Rooms were not ready for check-in even at 8pm, the property was generally not cleaned properly and breakfast was of poor quality. Not somewhere we would stay in the future.
2 out of 5
by Larry from Dallas

disappointed with hotel

Posted Jun 15, 2015 on Hotels
I was disappointed with my stay at the Golden Tulip in Aqaba. I have stayed at Golden Tulips in the Netherlands and expected more from this company. The condition of the hotel is deteriorating and maintenance is not up to specs. It looks like this was a nice hotel at one time but it is past time to renew it. A few examples of the room I stayed in, 1) the towels were very worn although clean. 2) the bedding was worn out but clean. 3) The safety lock on the inside of the door was broken. 4) A piece of tissue was rolled up and stuck in the peep hole on the door. 5) There was a water leak on the floor from the toilet. 6) There were large burned spots on the floor and on the table top. 7) The mattress was so worn, I could feel the bed springs. 8) The hair dryer did not work. Now, let me try to give a couple of positive points. The room was clean despite its condition and the price was low comparatively to major chains in Aqaba. However I cannot recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Little bit unpolished.

Posted May 29, 2015
Not high quality but adequate It does the job and is a fairly affordable option
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

I CAN NOT believe this 4 star hotel

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything thing
Location: center city
NOTING IN THIS HOTEL TELL YOU IS 4 STAR , HOTEL IS LESS THAN 2 STAR HOTEL , OLD ROOM , SMALL ROOM , OLD SCHOOL TV, NO remote for the TV , took over one hour to solve Remote issue , breakfast old not much choose at all , do not stay there at any cost , you will heat your vacation
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nicosia

Decent budget hotel for travelers on tight budgets

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: The location and the price.
Cons: Apparently, the hotel has seen more glorious days. The door to the elevator needs to be fixed as it makes a loud banging noise each time it closes.
Location: Centrally located. Plenty of restaurants, local and international.
The night staff was excellent. He provided extra blankets on demand and gave me a wake-up call at 5:30 a.m. The morning attendant did his best to be helpful. I had to wait about five minutes for the system to upload some data before I can get a receipt in the morning, but no big deal. After checking out early in the morning, I left my belongings at the hotel and returned for them at 11:00 a.m. without a glitch. Good location; good price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You're paying for location.

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels
This was an average hotel in an ideal location that was trying to be something it wasn't. Showers weren't hot, staff helpfulness ranged from helpful to useless, and the lights seem to always dimmed to an evening parlor setting. Bed was comfortable thankfully, and location was ideal. But for the price there are other options.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels