Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst Experience with Expedia EVER

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Client Attention Reservation Model ETC
Location: ....
After reserving with this hotel via expedia and get the confirmation I drove for 3 hours to La Fortuna. When I got there the manager of the hotel told me I had no room there, that there was no space altough she saw the Expedia reservation. I asked her why she did not call me and she could not answer... Instead she offered me going to a 1 star place to sleep and she would give me breakfast for free. I mean you serious? The attention to the client was awful and she did not care about us at all. WILL NEVER RECOMMEND TO GO HERE
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Not a 3 star

Posted Apr 27, 2016
The hotel is outdated and old. Needs total remodeling. Definitely not beyond 1.5 stars under current condition. I was duped into this being a 3 star by Expedia and being charged for 3+ star rate. You can take a look at the attached picture to know what I am talking about. There is no hot water in the sink area and I had to shave under the shower as that is the only place with hot water.
4 out of 5
by Aneri from Los Angeles, CA

Posted Jan 6, 2016 on Hotels
Best welcoming staff at this hotel! They took care of us like family and made sure we were comfortable. Very mannered and friendly people work here. Beautiful scenery, nice hot springs inside, and room has all basic amenities. We were very happy here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Good hotel at great location

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: The staff was amazing and the view can't be topped! The gardens were beautiful and the rooms are clean with cute porches.
Cons: They have two caged parrots on the property which made my heart ache a little every time I walked past them.
Location: Arenal Volcano!!! Hanging Bridges and hot springs are great.
Sueno Dorado was a nice hotel that I would stay at again. Every single staff member that we encountered was beyond helpful and friendly, above and beyond what I'd ever even expect. The guy who cooked our breakfast came out of the kitchen to ask if everything is ok and when we asked the front desk to call a taxi for us, they offered us a ride into town on a shuttle that was headed that way. The location - it doesn't get much better than this. Right in front of Arenal Volcano, it has got to be one of the best and closest views in the area. It's right in between several other resorts and hot springs in the area. The room was no frills but it was clean and spacious which is all I need. Overall, I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it.
5 out of 5
by Taunia D. from North Carolina

What a gem!

Posted Mar 20, 2015 on Hotels
What a gem. The grounds were beautiful with all types of flowers and plants. And we were right under the volcano! You had to crane your neck to see the top. WOW! The staff were incredibly helpful and courteous. The accommodations were very clean and neat as a pin. The furnishings were simple but all that you needed was at hand(except for an alarm clock). On the day that we departed, we arrived nearly an hour early for breakfast (we got confused with the daylight savings time switch) but the owner insisted on fixing us our free breakfast anyway. And what a breakfast it was! The food there is delicious. We definitely recommend this place if you are in the Volcan Arenal area! They are easy to find....just up the road from the famous Baldi Hot Springs resort. Our only suggestion to the owner is that since it is such a sweet little place to keep the music at the swimming pool at a nice quiet level.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff was incredible friendly and accommodating

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: the peace
Cons: upgrade better the rooms
Location: Location is fantastic , 10 minutes drive to national Park and la fortuna town
Excellent service staff very helpful , they accommodate us with la Roca Tour totally worth it , is a must
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: The food, the thermal pools.
Cons: Cleanliness and the rooms need an upgrade.
Location: It has direct views of the volcano. However, we didn't realize it's no longer erupting, so that was disappointing. It's far to other actives and cafes
This hotel has a nice view of the volcano but is far from town and is not worth nearly the price. It is very basic. The staff is considerate and the cook is congenial and excellent, and the thermal pools are a treat. However, our room was not clean and the experience, overall, was underwhelming. One bonus, however: beautiful birdwatching in the morning!
3 out of 5
by PATRICK from California

Great location!! Great manager!! Bad shower.

Posted Mar 17, 2015 on Hotels
The location of the hotel was great!! MINOR, THE MANAGER, WAS AWESOME! Price was right. Hotel grounds were pretty w/thermal pools. The rooms were clean & VERY basic, with A/C. Free WiFi, free breakfast. Walked to Baldi Hot Springs. The problems: Room #9-The shower & no hot water(tepid at best). Bad shower head tilted at the wall. No noise insulation in the walls; you will hear your neighbors! No phone(we needed to communicate w/other hotel&family). Rain was loud on roof, but it covered the noise of neighbors. We enjoyed it. We WOULD go back just because of Minor, the manager. He helped book tours for us & tried to make our stay in Arenal very memorable. Go with the attitude you aren't spending your vacation in your room and you'll be ok.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Listen to the bad reviews..we didn't.

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Normally easy to please, this hotel just didn't make the cut. Showed up and got into our rooms. No toilet paper in the dispenser. Went to shower and was cleaning up spider webs and killing spiders on the window area. Pools were ok but if you wanted to go in them you needed to request the pumps be turned on. Just bed sheets on the beds..had to request a blanket. No phone in the room..no fridge.. No safe. Continually walking back up to the front to ask for things that weren't unreasonable just expected when you stay somewhere. The front desk shuts down at 9 and suddenly the rather quiet hotel got busy..not sure if it was friends of staff or what..but they were loud. Walls are paper thin and we could hear the people we were travelling with talking in the room next to us. Half of the staff doesn't know enough English to assist you if you don't speak Spanish which is fine but it seems like a small operation so those that can't speak English end up serving you in the hotel restaurant. The food wasn't bad. The staff are trying there so the effort is nice to see when you do make requests but save yourself the hassle and stay somewhere else.. there's a lot of other options for the same cost you'd be spending here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Most money ever spent for the worst stay!

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Nice grounds.
Cons: Room conditions, big time.
Location: Great location. We went to Proyecto Asis and loved it.
Planned to stay two nights, on the outside it looks ok. At $122/night i would expect better than ok, but in fact this place was terrible. Only had room to accommodate us one of the two booked nights (blessing in disguise), room was poorly light, dirty bathroom, no hot water in shower, toilet wouldn't flush, no coffee, local information, or hair drier. Just a sheet on an old mattress. Asked for a blanket and it was a major ordeal ending in the manager smelling sheets off a shelf to ensure they were clean. Just got a couple extra sheets to stay warm. I would expect to pay $30, not $122US! Certainly not recommended!