Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Charming 16th Century Villa

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: It was good to experience staying in such a historical building. Furniture and fittings complemented the surrounds.
Cons: Some of the electrical fittings could do with minor repairs - some were loose; some didn't work. Lighting in the kitchen was poor.
Nice change from hotels, with lots of room to relax. We used Residence Il Casale as a base for exploring Tuscany by car - but you need to be self sufficient for your time there. It is not a hotel.
4 out of 5
by Sam from England

Lovely quiet place in nice surroundings

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed here for three nights at the beginning of June with our 1-year-old and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was very peaceful and quiet, we hardly saw anyone during our stay! The apartment was huge and equipped with everything for self catering. The pool was well maintained although a bit too cold to go in but that was due to being early in the year, once the weather had heated up it would be lovely. The location was good if you had a car, about 5/10 min drive into Cortona and set in lovely grounds. The only negatives were the €20 cleaning charge when we checked out that we weren't expecting and the apartment wasn't very child proof with open stairs and high beds but it wasn't a problem for us. I would recommend to anyone wanting to stay outside of the town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salem, OR

Excellent location to explore from or just rest.

Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels
If you are wanting to be conveniently located to Tuscan hilltop towns and to have a place to retreat to at the end of the day, we greatly recommend Residence Il Casale. Our room had great ammenities, including kitchenette and well appointed bathroom. Our host Vittorio was very personable and helpful - best to brush up on your Italian though. We had a wonderful stay and will do so again if we return to Italy. The adjacent sister property Villa Baldeli provided a nearby elegant restaurant option.
3 out of 5
by Sheila and Marty

Beautiful Farmhouse Setting

Posted Sep 4, 2012 on Hotels
Very picturesque stone farmhouse set among lovely flowered and shrubbed courtyard with a beautiful swimming pool area. However, it lacked certain amenities such as changing daily towels without a charge and insufficient and broken air conditioning, something desperately needed when travelling in Italy in August. The hotel staff tried to be as helpful as possible.,
5 out of 5
by Bethany

Great place for our wedding!

Posted Jun 8, 2012 on Hotels
We couldn’t have picked a better place for our wedding. The apartments are very spacious and allowed for us to have separate dressing areas as well as plenty of room for the other people assisting us during the day. The staff was extremely helpful and the garden area was a romantic backdrop for our ceremony. The kitchen is well equipped and the dual bathrooms were a nice surprise too. The pool is a charming oasis, and the quiet grounds are a welcomed retreat at the end of a long day. Cortona sits just up the hill and is a nice view from the hotel. You definitely need a car if you are staying here, but the location is great for lots of day trips out in the Tuscan countryside. I look forward to coming back to Il Casale again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Residence IL CASALE Cortona

Posted Jan 23, 2012 on Hotels
Residence IL CASALE is a very nice property situated on the foot hils of the fantastic CORTONA city. The property is an old farm house divided into different apartments - mostly 2 floors - fully equipped to make you feel at home. the furniture is exactly as you would expect in such location - nice old pieces, that fit perfectly the old houses. overall, the property is very nice. you cannot expect a 5 star-service, this is an apartment-property and as such they allow you to do whatever you want, like at home. although tuscany is always nice, sometimes in the winter it is a bit cold. the apartments are equipped with forced-air heating system, one for each room, but the main unit is centralized. the owner of the property, i guess following the italian regulation about energy saving (price of the heating gas in italy is already astronomic so that alon is already an energy-saving policy...) has timetable fo the heating system to operate. something like from 6.30 to 9 in the morning, from noon to 3pm, and from 6 pm to 11 pm. during these times, the heating works and you can somehow enjoy the cozyness of your apartment. at nite, nice confy beds and conforters ( a bit misty probably due to the lack of use i reckon, in fact the second day you just like them..) keeps you warm. but, if it happens that you feel like staying home mid morning or worse in the afternoon, the place gets a bit nippy. that is for the winter time alone. summertime, i guess no issues. further to this, i thing the 7 euro heating fee per day added at the end of the stay should be added on the price as most of the guest dont like it. if it is on the price, nobody cares. 40 euro cleaning fee at the end of the stay is ok IF you stay few days, otherwise is not. overall a nice property which I would stay again and again in the future, but why not make it better, for the whole of us...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

A relaxing time at Residence Il Casale

Posted May 3, 2010 on Hotels
We had a very relaxing stay at Residence Il Casale. Although it was a little further from Cortona than we had expected, it was a perfect base for exploring the hilltowns of Tuscany. The convenience of being able to cook for ourselves was ideal. The villa is a great option as it provides teh space that you just don't get in a hotel room. The location was very pleasant and waking to the sounds of church bells, a real treat!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by LoveIstanbul from Canada

cozy villa in tuscany, lots of character

Posted Mar 31, 2010
This place was wonderful. It was quaint, cozy, old (1400s), just what we wanted. The staff were friendly and even let me into their personal apartment to use the phone. beautiful old building, redone nicely, stone walls, old wooden doors. All the dishes and things we needed as its a bring your own food apartment. I loved it. The only thing is that the heat turns off at midnight and does not come on until 7 am. Power is expensive I know, but they should tell guests so they can warm the place up a bit before going to bed. The first night was a bit of a surprise. Other than that, it was so nice, and I would definitely go back again. The other strange thing was the 9$ per day heating charge which I tried to dispute as during the night the heat goes off, and during the day we were gone! Amazing location at the foot of the hill town of Cortona. Friendly people. Just bring a sweater and slippers!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anonymous

Residence Il Casale, Cortona, Italy

Posted Oct 19, 2009 on Orbitz
This is a romantic, quiet, restored villa located just off the main highway from the train station in Cortona, not up the hill in the old city. Absolutely beautiful and comfortable. Squeaky clean. Fully-equipped kitchen with stove-top espresso machine. No 110V outlet available, so bring your transformer converter. We plan to go back! We were there in October, so the beautiful pool was closed. It is associated with Villa Baldelli which is just across the roadway and about 1/10 mile away, which has continental breakfast service available. and which is equally quiet and beautiful. Classic Tuscany setting!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milano/Pontedera

Mi è stato utile però

Posted Sep 9, 2008 on Hotels
Me lo aspettavo a mezza collina. Avrei preferito l'appartamento per due e non quello per tre con lettino (brutto e inutile per noi) in camera. L'appartamento è inserito nel contesto di una struttura molto bella, ma è arredato con poco gusto nonostante alcuni pezzi di quasi-antiquariato che andrebbero valorizzati e non ?ammazzati? con oggetti e altri mobili più o meno moderni. Purtroppo, la pulizia ha lasciato a desiderare: entrando, odore di aria stagnante e qualche ragnatela; in uno dei due bagni, moscerini vivi e morti non graditi. Posate e bicchieri da battaglia. Il tutto in un ambiente non troppo luminoso. All'esterno la struttura è comunque molto gradevole, il parcheggio comodo e lo spazio piscina adeguato. Gentilissima la signora alla reception dell'hotel di fronte dove sono stato indirizzato per la colazione. Il sig. Vittorio, discretissimo e verace, ha richiesto 30 euro supplementari per la pulizia finale (niente da dire: ma avrei avuto piacere anche io di trovare pulito e magari profumato l'appartamento al mio arrivo). Giudizio finale: soggiorno senza onta né lode; speravo di più.