Ratings based on 625 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh

Vintage hotel in the heart of a welcoming communit

Posted Jan 16, 2017
My boyfriend and I were staying here mainly for the price and man do you get some bang for your buck! The staff is amazing and makes you feel like you're staying with family. Now don't expect to come in and find yourself in a five star hotel as this lodge is more a blast from the past however the vintage look/vibe it has is incredible. Pet friendly and very clean. I would recommend highly to anyone who asked and plan on coming back every time we go to Atlanta.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Posted Jan 16, 2017
We enjoyed the Highland Hotel. The room was comfortable, spacious. Our room was actually upgraded upon arrival from a full standard to a queen. The staff was helpful & friendly. The black cat pirate was extra friendly and followed up to our room, came in & explored before casually departing. The continental breakfast was convenient. I especially liked the historic ambience including a real key for the room. Close to restaurants, grocery shopping & pharmacy-everything you need if you don't have a car. The MARTA was a few feet from the entrance and quite reliable. Traveling as a single parent w a young child I felt this was a safe stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Best value in Atlanta

Posted Jan 13, 2017
For the price and the location, hands-down your best option! Staff was helpful. The room was very clean, despite being old. It's not in perfect shape, but is nicer than it looks from most of the online pics. It's an old building, full of charm and quirky features, like my bathroom basically being a closet in the middle of the room. But, it was quiet, clean, and had everything needed. Low water pressure in the shower, and the water doesn't get very hot. Breakfast was simple: cereals, yogurts, English muffins, juice... I am so glad I found this place, and will definitely stay here again!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Perfect location

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: Charm, location.
Cons: Laundry, TV, add a business center, better coffee and breakfast options.
Location: Shopping, cinema, loads of good restaurants and bars. Central to everything.
The room was attractive and I appreciate that it's an old building, which has a certain charm because of that. The heating and cooling is all via a window unit. No central heating in the rooms. There was a modern digital TV but apparently no service. I couldn't get it to respond so I turned it off. There is free wifi but no business center, so you have to rely on your own devices. The cleaning was prompt and thorough, although a little random; halfway into a 9-day stay I had to ask for supplies that had not been restocked, such as ice bucket liners. I assume the hotel is non-smoking, but on Friday night someone had clearly been smoking in the hall or lobby. The breakfast is not very good. There is a laundry but it's kind of dysfunctional. Nevertheless, I strongly recommend this hotel due to its perfect location on the border between funky Poncey-Highland and impossibly posh Virginia-Highland. Just a block of "main drag" Ponce de Leon Ave and good-weather walking distance to Ponce City Market.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

great area, cute space

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: The area, the staff, the cats
Cons: The condition of the rooms could be improved but it is totally worth the price for the area.
Location: SO MUCH. We went to a show at the Variety Playhouse... there's tons of restaurants, bars, shopping, parks, the Jimmy Carter library, lots more.
The rooms are small, and the facilities are clearly old. But it's in a great area, the staff are all super nice, there are resident cats, and we loved it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Always a nice stay

Posted Jan 4, 2017
I stay here quite often so it's like home for me. It's very different from your typical chain hotel but I love it and it's great some great restaurants near by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Prince George, VA

Great place to rest.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Convenient and quiet.
Cons: Fix the squeaky floor's.
Location: Bar,s , food and shopping.
This is a nice hotel. The price is right and it is not far from downtown. I walked just about everywhere I wanted to go and the bus stop is not far away. I don't understand people who stay in hotel's that cost $200 a night and up. It is only a place for me to sleep and relax. This is the fourth year I have stayed there over Christmas and I will probably stay there next year.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Classic Hotel

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Historic hotel, not fancy. Comfortable, clean, quiet rooms. Good location - next door to great barbecue joint and good coffee shop, close to Carter Center. Good value if you are not looking for antiseptic new motel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

👍🏻

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Awesome hotel. Great location. Quaint, cute. Plus there's a cat in the lobby. 😁
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok. Not as nice as pictures online

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Ok. Needs update and overall cleaning. Very outdated and not great upkeep