Ratings based on 2,358 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Wonderful time at the Highland !

Posted Aug 18, 2017
I wife and I had a wonderful time at the Highland Inn. We recommend this to anyone staying in the Atlanta area !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Aged hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2017
The neighborhood doesn't feel safe at night. Traveling to downtown area isn't that convenient, expect lots of walking. (Bus is $2.50 per ride!) Our room was generally clean, but there was hair in the towels and tub. The bathroom didn't look very clean. The hotel definitely needs an upgrade. I will not go back again. If you're considering this place, pick another one. Not recommended.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

SMELLS TERRIBLE! BUGS IN THE BEDS.

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING
Girl at front desk never greeted us. Never smiled or spoke other than to say the room is up the stairs. The moment we turned the corner away from front desk the smell hit us. The stairs were small and steep. We could hear people talking through the doors. The long halls are narrow and it was scary. There are no camera's. We had to go down 1 hall, than up the stairs, than all the way down another hall. All the while holding our breath from the smell and walking fast out of fear. My daughter was kept awake all night because she was being bit by bugs. WE WILL NEVER STAY AT THIS HOTEL AGAIN.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great location. But that's about it.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: I wanted to see the cat they had. But it wasn't there.
Cons: It's going to take more than 150 characters to explain what needs to be improved. I dunno, maybe a fire.
Location: It's close to Fulton County Courthouse.
Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. So there's that. My room wasn't that great, even though I was expecting the hotel to be older and eclectic, and had low expectations. It's pretty bad when you have low expectations and you're still left feeling disappointed. The room had an old bed that had clean, but very old and outdated sheets/linens, really poor lighting throughout the room, given it a horror movie kind of feel, a tv that didn't really work (unless you enjoy bad reception fuzzy channels), and an old, creepy bathroom with broken tiles. The best part about being in the room was that upon falling asleep in bed rolled up a fetus position (I didn't want to touch the really old sheets/linens) I lost consciousness and didn't have to remember where I was anymore until 6AM.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Quaint inn

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, cleanliness.
Cons: An outlet on or near the desk would be wonderful.
The location was great. The room was very clean, it had a flat screen TV and a small refrigerator. The bathroom was very small, and having to step up about a foot to get into the bathroom was a bit of an issue (arthritic knees). The only outlet was in the bathroom -- that was the only place to charge my phone, iPad, or laptop. The staff members were very nice, and it was a good deal for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

1920's Hotel with character!

Posted Jul 11, 2017
People who prefer corporate hotel chains might have issue with those hotel, but for those who appreciate character and beauty - you can't find a better hotel! Close to downtown, in a beautiful historic neighbourhood, the Highland is close to great restaraunts as well. Bed is very comfortable and all amenities such as cable, wifi, etc provided. Hotel is clean. The lady working at the front desk was a bit rude, but other than her, there is no better place to stay in Atlanta!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wollongong

Very cheap'n'cheerful student type accomodation.

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Location and access.
Cons: It coulddo with a makeover as itis showing its age and tiredness.
Location: Great access to food and nightlife plus easy access to the main tourist haunts.
If you are travelled on a budget and want great access to all that Atlanta has to offer this very simple hotel is perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Posted Jun 23, 2017
A nice quaint little hotel in VaHi. The room was very clean and comfortable. Its an old-school joint, but the WiFi was good and its convenient to the restaurants in Virginia-Highlands, Inman Park, and Little Five points. If you like the idea of a hotel where you still get an actual key to your room, the floors might creek a little, and possesses a little character, this place is for you. A nice little spot, I would definitely recommend it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2017
The neighborhood is pleasant. The hotel met my expectations in terms of cleanliness. The hallway was kind of loud at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J

Nice hotel good location

Posted May 26, 2017
The area was a safe area,within walking distance to all we needed