Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Rude owner/staff.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Atlantic City, if that is your thing. Smithville with nice shops and a great old Inn.
My wife and I have stayed here and other hotels in the Absecon area in the past and pretty much all we need is a decent bed to sleep in after spending the day in Smithville. However, this stay was doomed from the start. After a two hour drive from Philly, we arrived at about 2pm. I realize that check in is 3pm, but I have never been to a hotel that did not allow you an early check-in, assuming the room was ready. I was told to come back at 3pm, and the parking lot was EMPTY. There was definitely a language barrier and the gentleman behind the desk did not speak much English, but he spoke enough to tell me that if I wanted to check in an hour early, it would be $10. If I had an additional guest it would be $25... I reminded him that it was only an hour but he refused to allow us to get in. Thankfully, my wife and I had dressed before traveling, so we just proceeded to Smithville. As far as the room, the only good thing about it was the bed, which was comfortable and the sheets appeared newer and clean, and the carpets appeared newer. Other than that though the place really needs work. Holes in the walls, damaged dressers, and the sign that no one had been in the room for some time was the fact that there was mildew all over the toilet seat. Obviously, because the room had been vacant for some time and the air was heavy with moisture.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Collegeville, PA

Relaxing Weekend

Posted Sep 19, 2016
We checked in late and after a little confusion got our King bed with hot tub. The room was large and clean. No issues at all. The desk manager was not good at speaking English but I am really good at communicating period! Great price and fridge and microwave. We got food deliveries both nights . Very good Italian and Chinese. Good bargain!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

we did not check in filthy place

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: nothing
Location: terrible
we got to the motel a few minutes earlier and he would not let us in unless we gave him more money the office was filthy and the online pictures were bogus there was no breakfast room just a coffe pot and toaster in the dirty office the manager was rude and i noticed no one was at the motel not one room had people i would like a refund this is not up to expedias reputation we had to go lookin for another room which took hours please take care of this problem i have booked with you people several times i would not want to go elsewhere in the future thank you mr langdon we checked in at another motel in the area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia pa

A bit outdated rooms but service was Phenomenal

Posted Aug 29, 2016
The rooms were kind of outdated bouncy bed good fox sex but bad for comfort unless you a little tipsy hot tub worked fine but was a little small and no flatscreen tv but the servic was out of this world
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Too overpriced

Posted Aug 8, 2016
This hotel was too overpriced. It didn't offer ice, the vending machine didn't work. The sheets were dirty, the tv didn't work, the parking is further away from the rooms. And the service was horrible.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Not comfortable

Posted Jul 30, 2016
No more will I stay in a motel that has permanent residents. The bed springs were both visible and uncomfortable. Bed had a huge depression where it had prior renters. No blanket, only a sheet was provided. Took an hour for the water to drain after a shower. Toilet plugged too on 2nd day. Reception area where clerk is looks nice. Breakfast included is a tiny muffin and coffee. Stayed 2/4 days and checked out. No refund given to date. After 2200 miles I said upon arrival "I was here for the week", he then had me find my reservation then he clarified only 4 days. Actually said he was almost not going to check me in. Would never stay again. Perhaps a rating of 1 or 2 as it didn't smell and was cheap, with good parking. Many many nearby motels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't believe the high ratings

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: Room size AC
Cons: Do NOT do everything on the cheap, which is exactly what this place does. Put out at least a semblance of a breakfast--put a ice cube tray in freezer
Location: Nothing is really nearby.
We stayed at the Relax Inn for 2 nights, based on the reviews from Expedia. DO NOT believe these reviews. First of all, we are NOT picky people. On entering the room, the dresser had 2 broken drawers, a few small holes in the wall--no big deal. The pro's of this place--room size--very large --It was clean--The A/C worked great Now you might think, well what is bad. The person at the desk to check in spoke maybe 3 words of English. I didn't understand a thing he said. We got to our room. I asked my DW to get some ice. She looked at the ice bucket and it was dirty. So we got a plastic bag and she went for ice. She was back in 1 minutes. NO ICE, NO ICE machine, NOTHING. Not even an ice cube tray in the fridge. This is the end of June, temp about 80 degrees or so and no ice. Next we say there was also no tissues. (OK no big deal) but to us it was. Then there is the coffee machine. Coffee machine but no coffee, no glasses, and a dirty carafe. We tried to sleep, but the bed was way to soft, plus no blanket. The next morning we went to their breakfast. There was a toaster, pancake syrup, plates, bowls but just a few slices of dried bread and a couple of tiny muffins. The coffee was old. The following morning was even worse. The same few pieces of bread and NO muffins, no anything. When I complained the man just shrugged his shoulders. AND this place advertises as a Bed and Breakfast. Just a bad experience all around.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from delaware

Please do yourself a favor and NEVER stay here!!!

Posted Feb 29, 2016
The hotel I "tried" to stay in was horrible!!! It felt like a scene from the movie psycho. The guy at the front desk was a total creep. The office door was locked, the guy was sleeping and I apparently bothered him. He made me feel like such an inconvenience. He argued with me that I did not book anything on Expedia, until I literally had to show him my online banking account (he saw my account balance) and prove to him that my card was charged the money. Before that he said he had one room left and he would give it to me for $130! To top it off he says fine I guess I have to give it to u for what you paid Expedia, he gave me a jacuzzi room but warned me if I use the jacuzzi he would charge my card 70 more dollars! He wrote all my personal info and my debit card info on a piece of blank computer paper which was really weird. Then came banging on my door five minutes later to tell me he forgot to get my debit card expiration date! The room was so dirty and smelly, towels had yellow stains and holes on all of them, so nasty that my husband and I got dressed as quickly as possible took our stuff headed to the casinos then left for home after that. Didnt even lay my head in that room. Still not even sure why Expedia would want this on their site, I'm sure it's complaint after complaint.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vineland,nj

dissapointed

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: big roomy room
Cons: ice machine,check in process and having lights on after midnight.
Location: near the A.C. airport .
first the desk clerk had no idea we even had a reservation,then triedto give us 2 doubles versus a king,then tried to give us a queen and finally begrudgenly gave us a king with the statement we did pay for a king! second asked about ice no ice machine WHAT?????? then bed was absolutely terrible. here is good one they turn off theexterior lights after midnight so no lighting in the stairwell!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bradenton, Fl

Very nice place.

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: Relaxing off the main road comfortable beds. appealing small place.
Cons: He needs to upgrade the TV's
Location: Lots of restaurants and pharmacys and grocery store
Its very relaxing and clean. I feel very comfortable here. Way better then most motels in the area.