Ratings based on 9,894 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victor, ny

Close to beach

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Very outdated. Pictures weren't accurate. Casino workers on strike right outside hotel was very annoying.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Not a great experience

Posted Jul 22, 2016
There was a union protest taking place at the time of my stay. As I drove up to the hotel protesting employees shouted at me not to enter because the hotel/casino owner was a crook. This harassment only surmounted by the entrance on the boardwalk. They used megaphones to shame people walking in and out. It made the stay rather unpleasant. The room was very spacious and accommodating. However, with so many employees on strike many services were suspended and the room was not fully cleaned each day. It was just not the experience I was hoping to have.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Stay during strike

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Overall experience was good. My boyfriend and I stayed here while their staff was on strike. They were noticeable at the boardwalk entrance to the hotel but otherwise unobtrusive. We didn't hear anything from the protesters during the night but the walls itself seemed thin as I could hear people in the hallways. Many restaurants and room service was closed but we just went to eat elsewhere. Otherwise, room was clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Langhorne, Pa

Nice restaurants, clean, comfortable.

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Given upgrade when we had problem with the room. They said computers were "down" and did not receive Expedias booking. Did not appreciate attitude with situation After a looong day and ride to hotel. When apparently, this booking was not followed up on for several hours. After paying/booking room, no matter how its done, it should be honored respectfully, not act like you have nothing to do with it! Upgrade was much appreciated.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Stay away

Posted Jul 20, 2016
First of all, stay away from Atlantic City. The city is totally falling. Beach is dirty, places are overpriced for the condition. The whole city is aweful. Secondly, the hotel itself is a mess. The rooms are dirty, you smell smoke everywhere. Btw, we stayed in the chairman building which supposed to be a nicer one. The room is big but not clean. There is blood on the sheet. My four year old son got bitten all over his back during just one night of sleep. This is really bad. The pool also doesn't open until 10am and on top of that, the first hour is for adult only. My poor kids had to wait another hour to be able to get in the pool. All in all, I will not ever stay in that hotel or even visit AC again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Employees on Strike; not the ideal time to visit

Posted Jul 20, 2016
The room was surprisingly comfortable, the view from the "85th" floor was exceedingly lovely. The beach was very nice too. That said, we arrived to find that many of the unionized employees were on strike, picketing along the boardwalk. From what we gathered, they were having their healthcare benefits cut or reduced, which immediately cast the trip in a somewhat sad, guilt-ridden light. We were enjoying ourselves while the Taj employees were having their benefits cut. And naturally the strike meant that many of the Taj's restaurants were closed. Since my friends and I are not huge gamblers, this was a real disappointment. In light of all this, the hotel agreed to waive a $40 room upgrade fee, but refused to adjust the base rate of $355 we paid for two queen. That was a lot of money for a hotel with no restaurants, no working ice machines, no one available to find ice because the staff was on strike... I would have expected a more significant adjustment
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from westchester, ny

Dirty rooms, broken AC, Fridge&Safe, bad staff

Posted Jul 19, 2016
We went here for my 28th birthday and were told the rooms were clean/ready. When we got to our room and unpacked we noticed there were no towels in the bathroom, no garbage bags in the garbages, the safe was broken, the AC was broken and the mini fridge was not cold at all. Someone knocked on our door and asked if we were checking out and I informed her we just checked in and she told us our room had not been cleaned yet, even though the front desk told us it was. I brought my own bedding sheets and put it over dirty sheets basically. She had someone bring us towels, but that is all they did. We couldn't refrigerate our left overs, or keep water bottles cold for the beach because of the fridge. The carpet was stained with something red and the room was really hot. When we took a shower, after I cleaned it myself the water was ice cold. At one point my boyfriend bought cigs from the machine in the casino and it "ate" his $14 and never dispensed the cigs. I asked the desk about it and they sent me to security who told me they couldn't do anything about it. They even saw him or $5 in and lost that too. No one was able to help us with anything. Don't waste your money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Taj stay

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Roaches in the room, dirty bed sheets, noisy beighbors
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AC

Carry your own luggage

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Service, it was terrible
Location: Right across from the Steel Pier
The checkin process was not a problem despite the striking workers at the hotel entrance. But it went downhill from there. My wife and I got to the room which was clean and headed to the beach for the remaining sun of the day. Once again having to wade through the striking workers. we had faith our luggage would be to our our room as always and as promised by the front desk. We returned to the room with the idea of showering and changing as we had to meet my daughter and her friends for dinner. our luggage was no where to be found. I proceeded down the 19 floors to the bell captain that had no idea where my luggage was to be found. He decided to check OUTSIDE where it was first carted and found it sitting for all to see and examine at the valet entrance to the hotel!! I went to the front desk to explain how obviously unacceptable it was to leave my luggage in the front driveway and not bring it to my room as promised. The supervisor apologized, offered me some breakfast coupons and blamed the striking workers for the poor service. The moral to the story, don't go to the Taj if the workers are still on strike! Also, carry your own luggage, at least you know it will get to your room!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over all hotel needs major updating.

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Not enough amenities close buy. Lack off staff. Garage parking confusing.