Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convinient and close to public transportation

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
I like the personal touch the B&B gave guests
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

A Taste of the Real Rome

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: It felt authentic, surrounded by places that Italians go, and away from all of the touristy nonsense - while still being close to amenities/sights.
Cons: Could have done with a clearer sign above the door, quite hard to spot!
Location: Great location, surrounded by bars and restaurants frequented by locals, close to public transport, and within walking distance of big attractions.
We booked our 3 nights at the B&B Testaccio because, to be honest, we are cheapskates and wanted somewhere that would keep the cost of our holiday down - it just needed to be somewhere where we could sleep that had a lock on the door, four walls and a roof. The B&B Testaccio proved to be so much more than this, truly a hidden gem - we are EXTREMELY happy that we found it. The room was well appointed, bright and airy, with a big double bed (and a spare single bed), plenty of space to hang clothes, and a desk with a small television. We also had a private bathroom, containing a shower; and there was an air-conditioning unit (but given our visit was in April, we didn't use this). Towels were provided, the room had a hair drier, there was a small fridge, wifi was free and fast, and there was a helpful information pack containing information about the B&B, the owners' mobile numbers, taxis, etc. We only met one of the owners, since our stay was only short and we were keen to fit in as much as possible so weren't in our room much, but he was extremely helpful and friendly, and full of information (we can only imagine that the other one was too - judging by the comments of the other people who were checking out at the same time as us). Breakfast was provided by the cafe downstairs, your standard pastry/coffee/juice affair but with plenty of other things available for purchase. There was also a small supermarket to the other side of the property on the ground floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, walk to sites , quiet neighborhood

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Orbitz
Loved this place! Would stay here again in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
by Stephen from Nottingham

A little bit of Roman heaven

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
Situatued in the untouched area of Rome, my family and I had a wonderful stay at Bed & Breakfast Testaccio. There are excellent transport links, with the Metro a 10 minute walk away away and a regular bus service to the heart of the city centre. The owners could not do enough form us and when we were an hour late, they were waiting, with a smile on their faces, even though we had kept them up late to meet us on our arrival. Breakfast was nice, a Cornetto (Italian for croissant) and the cappucino was to die for! The room was very clean and tidy and was everything we needed for our stay. the beds were excellent and the wifi was great. Overall, we would highly recommend the B&B to anyone going to this amazing city. we cannot recommend it enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay when in Rome ....

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Elena is excellent .... Would stay again & highly recommend x
5 out of 5
by Diego from London, UK

Exquisite, Enchanting and Excellent!!

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
Elena created an atmosphere of a home away from home, she provided us with more than we paid for. She was warm, friendly and very approachable. She gave us maps, directions, bus numbers and even places to visit close by on foot. Testaccio was a fun and vibrant place buzzing with interesting locals and delicious food and drink, all within easy reach of the B&B. Overlooking our balcony was Piazza Santa Maria which gave us a vibrant insight into Italian culture. People were friendly, they even stopped and had a chat with us on the road. We spent many an evening watching the locals eat, drink and walk their dog below our balcony and our eight year old soaked in the Italian way of life with immense fascination. The rooms were clean, spacious and the quality of service was second to none. The location was ideal as it wasn't far from the main attractions of Rome and was easily accessible via public transport. Thank you Elena for making our stay memorable and for looking after us so well. We have no hesitation recommending Testaccio B&B, also will definately want to go back there again!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay

Posted Jun 17, 2015 on Hotels
Spent 4 nights at testaccio B&B. Hotel lady, Elena, was very friendly and helpful making our stay as smooth as possible. Rooms and shared bathroom were as expected, breakfast was adequate. We enjoyed our stay and are likely to book the same B&b if we return to Rome.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good base for a few days in Rome

Posted Jun 6, 2015 on Hotels
lovely stay at the Bed and Breakfast. Elena is so lovely and helpful, full of local knowledge and tips. Easy 20 min walk to Colesseum and Roman Forum.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newfoundland

Shocked, disappointed and totally disgusted!!

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Location: The location is very dirty. We encountered a young woman sitting outside on the sidewalk begging for money. We didn't stay.
Where do I begin? This is not what we expected at all. This bed and breakfast is actually a flat in an apartment building that has been converted into six bedrooms with only one bathroom. She explained to us that the light above the door lights up red when it is occupied. The hostess gave us paper coupons which could be used at local cafes. When we arrived, she rushed us inside the flat indicating that she did not want to talk outside because the neighbors were already upset with her. We got the impression that something shady was going on and we made other assumptions as to why the hostess seemed very nervous and agitated, which I will not elaborate on here. This situation made us so uncomfortable that we decided to take the loss and book other accommodations to try help salvage our trip. Because of this added expense, we had to drop one destination from our European itinerary, ultimately making this a very traumatic experience and a bad memory for those of us involved. No, I would not recommend this "B&B." In fact, I would warn anyone reading the reviews to beware not to believe everything you read!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pretoria, South Africa

Nice B & B close to Colosseo

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Neat and clean. Friendly staff. Shower too small for large people and hot water is unreliable. Great, quiet location