Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Seems like the hotel is in transition

Posted Jan 4, 2017
We waited 20 minutes for someone to come & check us into a dirty room (crumbs all over the floor and dental floss in the shower). The room was very large but strangely bare. Seemed as if a large TV had been sold off and a smaller one was just put on the desk with no regard to wire placement etc. No glasses at all in the room. Just a strange experience overall.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Kassandra

Spacious, clean hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
My boyfriend and I enjoyed the hotel, loved the room and the time we had in Baltimore!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cozy, not clean, some advertised features missing

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was AMAZING, and we would stay again, however the balcony door to our bedroom didn't close all of the way and it was about 19 degrees outside (which also means it didn't lock). The bathroom was definitely not cleaned, there was hair all in the jacuzzi tub and animal hair all over the floor and furniture (black dog or cat hair) and I have really bad allergies...however there were no other rooms available and it was our anniversary get away so we just grinned and beared. Also the advertised restaurant for room service is no longer there which really screwed us up, would have been nice to know.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing but Fantastic Location!

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
First impression of The Black Olive was not a favorable one. The "lobby" was a crammed small space. To take the stairs you had to go behind the Front Desk Clerk. The Front Desk was rarely manned. The restaurant attached was closed with a big Liquor Violation sign. There was no roof top bar. The hotel suites were very large but decorated like a college dorm. The throw rugs were worn as was the little couch. The plant on the small table was just dirt. The walls were dirty. The room smelled musty. Our friends were in the room next to us. They had the pleasure of a constant Green Glow in the Room. On the plus side the Bed was very comfortable and the Bathroom was large with a Great Big Tub! The location to lots of great dining, bars and shopping was perfect. We walked everywhere! With a little TLC this could be a great place. (We learned that the walls were painted with Vegetable oil based paints therefore they couldn't be wiped off. Neat concept but coffee and food splatter isn't appealing.)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the heart of the city.

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Nice big rooms with tall ceilings. Great vibe with the concrete floors and area rugs. Huge bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very huge

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Very big room apartment feel . Very comfy and homey. Most comfy bed. Nice jacuzzi
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
The Inn at the Black Olive is, shall we say, capable of great things, if only.....if only there was an attendant at the desk when we arrived, and found one other person waiting, who stated: "I've been waiting 20 minutes and there's been no one here, and no one answering a phone." That's a big problem, leaving the receptionist area vacant for that period of time, in terms of service and in terms of security. Our room was really quite lovely, spacious, and comfortable. However, we had TWO dead plants in the room. Planters with dirt, and no plants. Not exactly inviting. Nor was it particularly nice to see the corners of practically every wall chipped and broken, probably from suitcases rolling in and out of the room and banging into corners. All it would take is a little spackle and some trim and it would be fixed. The other thing that REALLY bothered us was the motion sensor lighting. We are not young, and getting up in the middle of the night and having the light come on whether we wanted it or not, was not a good thing! We finally figured out how to turn them off, but lost sleep because of those darn lights. The bathroom was very nice, loved the modern and large shower. That is a big plus! This hotel could be so much with just a little TLC. Hopefully the owners will spend a little time, a lot of money, and spend time training their employees, (and hiring employees so the desk is always staffed!)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay I guess

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Got to the hotel and no one was at the front desk to check in, there was a note posted saying they'd be right back, and a phone number for if immediate attention was needed. We waited at least fifteen, probably twenty minutes and rang the bell on the desk a few times. There were two other guests who arrived after us who were also unable to check in. Finally called the number for immediate attention, and someone came down to check us into the room. Room was a little dingy and old looking, but was clean and the bed was very comfortable. There was a fair amount of road noise.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
Spacious room. Beautiful bathroom. Balcony was nice. Only complaint was the towels not looking very clean. Great spot to stay in a great location.