Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Great private location on the beach. Views, quiet, excellent cuisine, best I've ever had overseas. Everything made to order with great pricing. Attentive staff all around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from usa

Great place to stay

Posted Aug 31, 2015
The staff were knowledgeable, friendly and helpful at all times. The restaurant serves very good food for reasonable prices. Beware that the room is darker than a typical hotel room would be.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous, private hotel right on a gorgeous beach

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Great place to relax and getaway from everything. Great rooms and beach and food is well cooked. They take care of your needs and make you feel like a queen
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland

Beautiful spot on the beach

Posted Jul 21, 2015
One of the most romantic places you could go too quiet and beautiful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Romantic place to go.

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Quiet - private surroundings
Cons: Needs some minor repairs
Location: Bistro restaurant right down the road. Waterfalls close by. Outstanding beach. Saling, kayaking, fishing, snorkeling with Jeff Scott of Daytrippers
Very sexy environment. Great staff and great guests. Everyone was a lot of fun, and I found it to be much quieter then other resorts we have stayed at in the last 5 years.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Fantastic small, quiet hotel on the beach

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: The small size, the private dock surrounded by blue ocean. The beautifully landscaped grounds which attract a lot of birds and other wildlife.
Cons: The wireless internet mainly works, but it can get patchy at busy times of day (primarily evenings).
Location: Many great trips out of Placencia (water and land), but you will need a pick-up at the hotel or a vehicle to get to the meet point.
The hotel has 6 cabins for two through the grounds, and a few more rooms in the main building. Because of the small size, it never feels crowded even when full. There are 3 main seating/sunbathing areas - one by the small but well landscaped pool, on the beach itself, and out on private dock. Personally I loved the dock - catching the full strength of the sea breeze, I could stretch out in the sun for hours without feeling uncomfortably hot. There were sometimes one or two children staying at Singing Sands, but mainly it was couples, so there was no endless screeching by the pool. The on site restaurant is amazingly good (people who are not staying at Singing Sands will make a special trip to eat there), and the prices reflect that. Budget accordingly, or plan to eat elsewhere. The location is both the plus and the minus to Singing Sands. Its out of town spot in quiet Maya Beach allows it to have beautiful, peaceful landscaped grounds. It is a 20-25 minute drive to Placencia village itself, though, so if you plan to get out and about, you will want a rental car. If you don't want to eat at the hotel every night because of the prices, there is nothing within short walking distance, so again transport is helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Small hotel but with all the amenities

Posted Mar 2, 2015
I stayed for 7 nights and relaxed on the beach, the dock, the pool, and the beautiful grounds. The staff was very helpful and the restaurant meals so good that we ate almost every meal there. It is a bit isolated if you do not have a car. It is eight miles to town of Placentia so you can bike into town but long ride in heat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vernon Hills, IL

Great hotel to stay in

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Very quiet, friendly staff, delicious food, very clean
Location: Very close to the Sea, lots of coconuts palm, clean beach with soft sand. You can use the bike to go to Placencia , swimm in the warm clear water
One of the beautiful place for vacations. Enjoy the natural view. People very friendly, helpful all the time, kind
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Serene accommodations but lacking luster

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: We really enjoyed the serenity of the grounds. The food at the restaurant was really good and quite affordable. You can easily split a meal, as well.
Location: It's a 7 mile each way bike ride to the Placencia Village. Other than that, there's not much else to do around. We did enjoy riding to the Ocean Club.
We were initially really excited to be staying at this inn. It's smaller and more quaint, which is what I was going for. I grew up in the hospitality business and have always been a fan of smaller, family run businesses. Everyone on FB seemed to truly enjoy the owners and how personable they were. We did not get that vibe at all. They were quite stand offish and always seemed "busy". The inn staff were good initially but once we started venturing out away from the resort for food, drinks and entertainment, we honestly felt we had been shunned by the staff at Singing Sands. When I travel, I like to immerse myself in the culture of the surrounding community. I don't want to stick to one place and miss out on other experiences. The inn itself has a great serenity about it. We really enjoyed laying in the hammock at night and watching the lightening and sitting on the pier during the day enjoying the sun. The thatch hut that we stayed in was nice but quite warm. IMO it's worth it to spend the extra money to get the first 2 cabins. I'm sure the breeze is much better through those. We had a fan but sleeping was honestly pretty miserable. It was HOT and stuffy even w/ the windows open. I did have the creepy crawlies in bed too. There were a few spots in the floor that there were holes for access to the room and we had quite the ant problem in the room. If you enjoy camping, you'll be fine. All in all, Belize is wonderful. Would we stay here again? No.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from o

Everyone was so welcoming..

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Owners were so nice , had great packages to choose from, rooms were beautiful. Staff made it an unforgettable experience, great food