Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Daniel from Chicago

If cabana not closest to ocean, unbearably hot!!

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
The restaurant and bar staff were very accommodating and provided great food and drinks! The pool is next to the bar with a small view of the ocean - nice pool. The atmosphere of the inn was good, but we were basically the only guests our entire stay which was somewhat strange. If we didn't dine at the restaurant in the inn, then there would basically be no business and the workers would try to go home. Our biggest complaint was that the cabana they gave us was the farthest away from the ocean and we were the only guests staying there! They gave us this one most likely since we booked through hotels.com. This room situation was not good - it was always hot with no ocean breeze and no air conditioning in the room! We could barely get any sleep at night, which was sad because we were on our honeymoon. The fan they originally gave us in the room didn't work, but they gave us a working fan later after we checked it out. The beach area was good with the pier there, but you couldn't really swim in the ocean because its just full of sea grass all in that area and Maya beach is supposed to be the best beach on Placencia.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Great private location on the beach. Views, quiet, excellent cuisine, best I've ever had overseas. Everything made to order with great pricing. Attentive staff all around.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from usa

Great place to stay

Posted Aug 31, 2015
The staff were knowledgeable, friendly and helpful at all times. The restaurant serves very good food for reasonable prices. Beware that the room is darker than a typical hotel room would be.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous, private hotel right on a gorgeous beach

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Great place to relax and getaway from everything. Great rooms and beach and food is well cooked. They take care of your needs and make you feel like a queen
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from portland

Beautiful spot on the beach

Posted Jul 21, 2015
One of the most romantic places you could go too quiet and beautiful
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Romantic place to go.

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Quiet - private surroundings
Cons: Needs some minor repairs
Location: Bistro restaurant right down the road. Waterfalls close by. Outstanding beach. Saling, kayaking, fishing, snorkeling with Jeff Scott of Daytrippers
Very sexy environment. Great staff and great guests. Everyone was a lot of fun, and I found it to be much quieter then other resorts we have stayed at in the last 5 years.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Fantastic small, quiet hotel on the beach

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: The small size, the private dock surrounded by blue ocean. The beautifully landscaped grounds which attract a lot of birds and other wildlife.
Cons: The wireless internet mainly works, but it can get patchy at busy times of day (primarily evenings).
Location: Many great trips out of Placencia (water and land), but you will need a pick-up at the hotel or a vehicle to get to the meet point.
The hotel has 6 cabins for two through the grounds, and a few more rooms in the main building. Because of the small size, it never feels crowded even when full. There are 3 main seating/sunbathing areas - one by the small but well landscaped pool, on the beach itself, and out on private dock. Personally I loved the dock - catching the full strength of the sea breeze, I could stretch out in the sun for hours without feeling uncomfortably hot. There were sometimes one or two children staying at Singing Sands, but mainly it was couples, so there was no endless screeching by the pool. The on site restaurant is amazingly good (people who are not staying at Singing Sands will make a special trip to eat there), and the prices reflect that. Budget accordingly, or plan to eat elsewhere. The location is both the plus and the minus to Singing Sands. Its out of town spot in quiet Maya Beach allows it to have beautiful, peaceful landscaped grounds. It is a 20-25 minute drive to Placencia village itself, though, so if you plan to get out and about, you will want a rental car. If you don't want to eat at the hotel every night because of the prices, there is nothing within short walking distance, so again transport is helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent trip

Posted Mar 8, 2015 on Hotels
This is a great location and the staff is friendly and kind. It was a great experience and we would recommend it to any couples.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Small hotel but with all the amenities

Posted Mar 2, 2015
I stayed for 7 nights and relaxed on the beach, the dock, the pool, and the beautiful grounds. The staff was very helpful and the restaurant meals so good that we ate almost every meal there. It is a bit isolated if you do not have a car. It is eight miles to town of Placentia so you can bike into town but long ride in heat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vernon Hills, IL

Great hotel to stay in

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Very quiet, friendly staff, delicious food, very clean
Location: Very close to the Sea, lots of coconuts palm, clean beach with soft sand. You can use the bike to go to Placencia , swimm in the warm clear water
One of the beautiful place for vacations. Enjoy the natural view. People very friendly, helpful all the time, kind