Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Yorkshire

convenient location - traditional hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Staff and quaint charm
Cons: Some decor looked tired but it appeared that a refurb was actually under waywith some internal areas scaffolded and closed off
Location: The location is the Lairgate's trump card. Slap in the middle of Beverley, near though not quite in the Saturday market place
We enjoyed most aspects of our stay in this pleasant hotel however the crucial one of a good night's sleep was a let down. Our room was on the first floor at the front of the hotel which only became an issue in the early hours of the morning when we came to realize how much heavy goods traffic cuts through the centre of Beverley at 3,4 & 5a.m. AND at this time there was little to be gained from complaining to staff. I suspect this hotel is a listed building so the windows are likely to be a protected feature but assuming there are other rooms the same as ours, these front bedrooms would benefit greatly from some form of secondary glazing or sound deadening curtain material to limit the noise. The noise is further exacerbated by the uneven road outside which seemed to set lorry shutters clanking, builders equipment to crash noisily about in open trucks and the chains of skip trucks to clatter furiously as they passed during the night and early morning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Needs a refurb...

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Location is good and just off the main drag - an important consideration given Beverley'ites ability to go absolutely bananas on a Saturday night.
Cons: The decor is seriously outdated and many bits and pieces need renewing.
Nice staff but this hotel is very, very tired in places - certainly in my room which was dingy and the bathroom loo area did not smell good. The armchair had seen much better days. There was major work underway in the entrance hall so maybe a refurb has already started. It just hadn't reached room 35. A good B&B would have offered better value for money but the local horse race meeting meant alternative rooms were hard to get hold of.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Good place to stay

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Friendly, clean, good night's sleep and hearty breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Historic hotel in beautiful town

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Location, comfort, helpfulness of staff, catering; everything really
Location: Beverley is an historic town with the Minster dating from 1220 and St Mary's church which is even older with a Memorial Garden attached.
I spent three nights in this hotel , which consists of three buildings united, so it is a bit of a rabbit warren. The room was comfortable and well equipped, the hotel has its own car park (not very big but there is a municipal car park close by with free parking between 6pm and 8 am) and the hotel has great character. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. There is an excellent and reasonably-priced buffet breakfast and I enjoyed the two light suppers I had there; the restaurant has an extensive menu. The hotel is in the centre of Beverley which is a lovely and historic town with lots to see.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Convenient serviceable hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2016
The welcome and staff were good. The room was adequate for my needs but suffered from being a bit shabby and outdated. The bed was not very comfortable, a bit too hard. My booking was for room only and served its purpose. But overall they need to pay some attention to refurbishing the room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Good comfy room at great price, on suite bathroom clean, iron in room, breakfast was nice
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lincoln

nights stay June 2016

Posted Jun 27, 2016
This is a nice enough hotel with friendly staff in a central location. The big negative was the room. It was spacious but extremely old decor, I felt like I was in my grandmothers bedroom. Also it was so hot, even with the fan on we felt like we were in a sauna, for this reason unfortunately I would not book again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Location, very comfortable bed
Cons: Room smelt very musty
Location: Very close to the town centre
Location of the hotel is great, very close to the town centre. Room was a dated and smelt a bit musty but quiet room, bed very comfortable and had a great nights sleep. Staff were lovely.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pudsey

Posted May 16, 2016
excellent all round and great central position. breakfast was superb.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N Yorks

Not many left this weekend

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Due to the Christmas fair weekend we were very limited for choice as Beverly seemed fully booked, I assume due to the above. However the hotel is tidy and smart inside but clearly showing it age and in need of at least some paint work here and there. The double room was big enough warm and tidy with all you needed but again a bit dated. Worse part of the stay was breakfast, there was no personnal touch, we were forgotten about and had to ask for breakfast after sometime, when it came it was average with not a lot to offer, my wife's poached eggs had bits of shell in it and not properly cooked. Sorry but for £122 for one night we won't be back.