Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central.v dated.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Lovely staff and good breakfast. Very old and dated property with warren like corridors. Decor straight from the 1970s. No parking on arrival, v small and cramped car park was overflowing already before 6pm. Public car park only short walking distance away. Excellent location for Beverley.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Central which met my requirements.

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: As above.
Cons: Not a lot as the type of place has limited scope without destroying the charm that it has.
Location: Central with the Minster and other activities all within walking distance.
Ther was music in the lounge Saturday evening. Very pleasing with fantastic musicians. The hotel has olde world charm and decor . The breakfast service matched this. Great stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from birmingham

Tired

Posted Sep 1, 2017
The whole hotel is very cluttered and dated our room was a good size but in need of desperate refurb the cleanliness of the bathroom left a lot to be desired especially around the shower and under window
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amersham

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Food, room and staff
A thoroughly enjoyable two day break, enhanced by a very comfortable hotel with very pleasant staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sheffield

Poor

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Low staff levels, terrible cooking odour in downstairs lounges together with drain smells. Rooms had copious amounts of cobwebs not cleared. Duvet too small, nowhere to hang wet towels, really needs some tic and staff that care.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Trip back in time

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Stepping into our room was like stepping back in time 40-50 years with odours to match. The downstairs areas of the hotel - bar and restaurant etc seemed ok from what we saw but the bedrooms really do need major refurbishment. I expect Best Western hotels to be "full of character" but this was too much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bristol UK

Couldn't be nearer to the town centre

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: The position in the city and the friendly nature of the staff. The bed was large and VERY comfortable.
Cons: The furniture and decor was tired and wanting invigorating. The bathroom woodwork was in poor condition.
Location: Beverley is a market town with markets twice a week. The railway and bus station are within easy walking distance.
This hotel is as close as you can be to the centre of Beverley. Cross the road, cut through an alley and you are in the market square. The hotel is old - about 200 years or so I would guess and in a conservation area. So, it lacks many of the features of a modern hotel. Nevertheless, what you lose on the swings, you gain on the roundabout. It isn't possible to be closer than this hotel to the bars, restaurants or shops. Parking spaces are limited and not well defined but if the hotel is full there is a public car park just across the road. The staff were very pleasant and obliging. We did not augment our booking to a cooked breakfast every day. I thought it was too expensive but those of our party who did seemed perfectly happy with the quality and quantity. The rooms in a hotel of this age leave something to be desired. We were in room 16 which was at the front with our family in rooms either side of us. Our room was the brightest although the furniture was dark brown in colour which didn't help the overall look. Traffic and noise from the pub opposite was a problem as the weather was warm and our windows were open. I think the hotel is 3 star and I guess that is about right. Nothing especially bad about it but it didn't grab my interest but the boss,(SWMBO) said she would come again so that says something about it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Notts uk

weekend break.

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing at all
Location: excellent town for shops,the minster is a must visit and there is a golf course and the racecourse.
excellent hotel in a perfect position in the town centre.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2017
very tired and lacking in atmosphere although room was clean. breakfast very disappointing parking restricted close to the town over priced for what it was.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired Hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: The pleasant and helpful staff
Cons: The whole hotel needs refurbishing
Staff were excellent, very pleasant and helpful. I went with my cousin, both in our 60s and I have a bad back. Our room was on the top floor of the hotel and there was not lift and a lot of the stairs were narrow and twisting. The room was quite dusty in places and there was a very suspect 'mark' on the valance of one of the beds. There was insufficient parking space for all cars at the hotel. On the second night I had to park at a public car park down the road.