Ratings based on 226 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2017
The hotel itself wasn't terrible. However the room was dirty, the bathroom floor had hair all over it. Theit were stains on the walls next to the bed and in the bathroom and the towels looked like they hadn't been cleaned.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Parade day hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2017
If you want a hotel close to the bars that's good enough to slump your drunken body for a few hour in between drinks, this is the place for you. Otherwise, probably not the best. Hotel room reservation for 2 beds turned into 1 bed. We got lucky and they had 1 room available with 2 beds so we got switched, but I'm guessing someone else who wanted 2 beds got boned. Also, kinda dirty, had a hole it the ceiling of the bathroom, and the elevator broke.
3 out of 5
by Maryalice

Grand Royale is not grand at all....needs a lot he

Posted Feb 25, 2017 on Hotels
Uncomfortable bed and pillows, water stains on ceiling, only three channels on tv. Desk clerk who said he was the owners son said I was in one of the renovated rooms - I would so that was not correct. From front desk to elevator is tricky as they have a sitting area with a large area rug and someone not careful could certainly trip on it as well as anyone with a large piece of luggage would find it tricky to get around it. Not good experience.
5 out of 5
by Alfred

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
On a SUNY College tour with my son- this was a convenient & reasonable stay while in Binghamton
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cool room just not clean

Posted Feb 5, 2017 on Hotels
We got a jacuzzi tub room. Got to the room and everything seemed alright. After a closer look it looked like one of the towels had been used. The jacuzzi yib had hair and other stuff in it. We got to the bed and had to pull the mattress out a little in order to get to a power outlet. We found a lot of disgusting things behind including half of a condom wrapper what appeared to be mouse dropping along with a lot more. We thoroughly made sure the bed itself was actually clean which it was. I wish I could have given a better review because other than the cleanliness the room had a lot of potential. One more note, our room was on the 6th floor so we took the elevator. You may wanna steer clear because the thing felt like it was about to fall, shaking and making a lot of strange noises, but then again the building was built in the 1800s.
5 out of 5
by Terry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 28, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Eneyda

Love it

Posted Jan 28, 2017 on Hotels
Its was great and the ppl are great to i had a wonderful stay room was clean and the location was wonderful close to everything
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location & beautiful hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: I loved this hotel when it was opened before. It's beautiful. I even asked for coffee the night I arrived and was told there would be coffee in AM
Cons: Heat and coffee
Location: nice location
The room had just about no heat. It w as a freezing night & the heater made little difference. I called the front desk & a worker brought an alarm &a blanket. I wore socks & my boots & gloves plus the blanket and still had a miserable night. When I went down for breakfast they had waffles cereal coffee &juice. It 's not hard to have toast or donuts instead of things everyone does not like.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A marginal place to sleep

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
The room was unheated except for the radiant heater facing the bed, which had been turned on as I waited for the registration clerk to sign me in. On a night when it was 15F outside, the room was frigid! The room was fairly clean but, looking for my suitcase key I thought had dropped to the floor, I found graham crackers under the bed and a tape measure under the nonworking heating unit against the wall. Thankfully, the hot water came up quickly in the bathroom sink and shower. The furniture was mismatched and seemed to have been bought at a damaged goods sale. The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom adequate. The refrigerator was unplugged and would not have been needed by anyone that night since the room was probably around 40F! The lock on the door was dodgy, and the door jamb appeared to have been jimmied in the past. The night manager was helpful but slow (he left twice for about five minutes before signing me in, at least once to turn on the heater in my room, by his own admission, the next morning). Things were quiet during the night, and I was surprised to see as many people (4-5) eating breakfast as there were. The breakfast was minimal, and I never saw a coffee maker, so I left without eating anything. The Grand Royale was a convenient "port in a storm" for me, but nothing more. Utilitarian, not for a family or anyone wanting to enjoy time in a hotel room/ The price was great, but I got what I paid for, or arguably less..