Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wakefield RI

surprisingly nice find

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: the staff with whom we interacted
very friendly and helpful staff; comfortable and clean room; delicious food
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

review of Thistle Inn, Boothbay Harbor Maine.

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
This is a very small inn with only 6 guest rooms. We were a little disconcerted when we tried to get in the building (which is always locked), rang the bell repeatedly, got no response, and had to call the owner's phone to get in. There's no front desk. Having said that, my husband and I would probably stay there again. the room was quiet and comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious, and the chef/owner can accommodate requests. The Inn has a restaurant attached which was very good, we thoroughly enjoyed our meal there. The location is just a 5-minute walk from the harbor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Amazing! Would absolutely stay again!

Posted Jul 6, 2017
You can't beat the short walk to the harbor. The room and bathroom were impeccably clean. The bed was amazing. The only cons were that the other guests would leave the front door open giving us quite a mosquito problem in our room and the hallway light sent too much bright light into our room. The complimentary breakfast every morning was unbelievable, they really need to open the restaurant up for breakfast as well it's so amazing! Just beware if you stay in one of the front rooms you will need to keep the curtains shut as the restaurant has outdoor seating right below your room. Thankfully noise wasn't an issue. We can't wait to come back next year!
4 out of 5
by Joyce

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
Staff was very accommodating and friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The spot to be in Boothbay Harbor

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
This place was fantastic. Many of the reviews I have seen are misleading, as I expected just a key taped to the door. The thistle inn is under new management and they just took over in November. They made sure we had a fantastic stay, and they were involved in the both running the inn and the restaurant. The room was pretty good. Nice and comfortable bed and decor. Bathroom was nice. Fridge and electric heater. Tv is available with cable but small computer monitor on a desk. But youre probably not there to watch tv anyway. The restaurant was open in the end of December, and it was a blast. I had an amazing steak, perfectly cooked. The best part was the beer. If you are a beer lover they had quite a few local craft brews on tap, including some hard to get on tap brews. Based on other reviews, I expected it to be closed in winter, but they were the busiest place in the area, so make sure if you book to call and make a reservation for dinner or just have a seat at the bar,like we did. It will be busy early so you won't have room to eat. As I said the new managers are involved in all aspects of the inn and restaurant, so they are there checking you in and then cooking your food and serving you drinks. They even introduced us to the chefs. All the crew working were great during the night. This was the definite jewel in places to stay in Maine during December. I would definitely stay again. Best of luck to the new managers!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful rooms, great staff, close to downtown.

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: Everything. We loved being able to walk to downtown and all the great shops and restaurants there.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: We went to the Festival of Lights at the Botanical Gardens and it was magical. Buses from downtown made access very easy.
The rooms were beautiful, comfortable and warm. Private baths. Wonderful restaurant. We loved meeting the owners and the staff were very helpful and welcoming. Parking was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Great place to stay

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Orbitz
Close to the Opera House and downtown BBH. Easy walk downtown to all that BBH has to offer. We had a great meal in the in-house restaurant and drinks in the bar. Lovely hosts, friendly staff. Great place to stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cold and needs updating

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
The Victory chimes room was terrible. It was noisy and very cold and drafty. So uncomfortable we decided not to stay the night. The inn does not have reserved parking you have to wait for the pub to close then try to grab a spot in front.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Could be so much better

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Orbitz
This is more a B&B with an quasi absentee owner. Well managed this could be a nice property. The pros: - location. - large room with a large bathroom. - comfortable bed (although ours was very high and could be difficult for some people to climb in). The cons: - no office that you can go to to deal with any issue; you have to email the owner to get him to respond; when you call the number indicated on the guest information booklet you get an answering machine and our call was not returned; - steep staircase which may make it difficult for people who have trouble climbing stairs. - no microwave (but the owner installed one in a common area after we spoke to him) and small fridge which, strangely, sits on the floor rather than on a table. No coffee machine in the room but there is one in a common area. - Orbitz' and Expedia's information was not correct (they said breakfast was included when it apparently was not but the owner gave us credit for it). - heater and fridge were very noisy. - Direct TV did not function properly. - cleaning lady threw away things she should not have dealt with but left dirty towel lying on the floor outside the room. - furniture seems like things found at a flee market and thrown together in a room Overall, we stayed in similarly or even lower priced but much nicer and better equipped inns during our trip in Maine. This could be a much nicer place if it were better managed.