Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Parking abd staff

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: The only nice thing was the breakfast
Cons: Have some staff there and do something about parking. Don'y let people just coming for dinner park in the spacers for Inn guests.
If you come back at night there is no parking anywhere. You need to park in a 4 hour space if you can find one and wait until a party leaves the restaurant to get overnight parking at the Inn. There is no staff at any time if you need any thing at night in the room for any reason. The place is on auto pilot with no help and there is no phone number to call any one. I would never stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Great tavern and restaurant

Posted Jul 22, 2016
NO reception, etc. -had to knock, ring bell, WAIT to get in and settled. and room in ill repair.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, FL.

Nice hotel - beautiful views.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Had a nice visit. Beautiful views and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginis

Very nice

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Proximity to shops and restaurants.
Cons: Could use some fixing up in places.
Location: Nice quaint shops and places to have a drink nesrby. Excellent seafood within walking distance.
Inn is a little dated and worn, but has charm and is within walking distance to shops and eateries and the heart of town. Staff is exceptionally nice and you get a choice of entrees for breakfast which was delicious.
3 out of 5
by Jamie from Concord, MA

Quaint Inn

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed in the top floor room. The steps were very steep so I would not recommend for anyone who has difficulties with steps. The bed and bedding were comfortable. The shower needs repairs as the water kept reverting back to the tub. It was annoying! The coffee service is located in a dining area downstairs. It would be nice to have a machine in each room along with some bottled water. The bar area was warm and the patrons and staff were friendly. We got in late so we missed the ability to order food. Having a small bar menu until closing would be helpful. Offer foods that can be prepared without having to fire up the grill such as veggies and humus or salads etc. We saw some of the other rooms on our way out. They were larger and easier to get to without climbing two sets of steps. I would recommend staying as the rates were good. I used Hotels.com to book the room. I have had dinner during the summer months. The food has always been exceptional.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly place full of surprises

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Cons: A little cosmetic make-over, maybe.
Location: Walking distance to shops and restaurants. Botanic Garden is a few miles away.
Spent a lovely overnight at the Thistle Inn in order to see the lights at Coastal Maine Botanic Garden. The room was spacious, warm and the staff was really friendly. The surprise was that the restaurant downstairs was great. Excellent quality and huge portions. We took leftovers back to our room and stored them in the little frig. I would go there again.
4 out of 5
by Bonnie from Arlington

off season visit

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed during the off season but weren't aware breakfast wouldn't be provided. Near the door there was a posting the recommended a cafe, but it too was closed due to the off season. We were unable to get ice or hot water for tea as no one was available in the inn. Coffee drinkers are all set. We had dinner at the pub/dining room and the food was superb.
3 out of 5
by William

Off Season - Yankee Hospitality

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
Seems like this Inn is not really geared up for off season. They stop serving breakfast at Columbus day; we were there two weeks later. We stayed for two nights and never saw anyone, either in the morning or at night. We picked up keys left for us at the door and dropped them off when we left. Granted we had other activities so we arrived around 9 pm and left around 8:30 am. I guess you could advertise this as "Yankee Hospitality." They left us alone. When we checked in, there was urine in the toilet bowl and toilet paper floating in the water. The television was the smallest that I have recently seen in a hotel room. I don't think we will probably go back.
5 out of 5
by Timothy from saugatuck, michigan

Nice place

Posted Nov 1, 2015 on Hotels
Very cute New England B+B. Would stay again.
3 out of 5
by Dana from ct

Not the best time

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
Not what I expected- You never saw a person- keys left at door for checkin and check out. Room not as described- needed 2 twins. A trundle bed is not the same. TV was miniscule for across the room. No breakfast/restaurant off season (description gave breakfast and the fact that there was a restaurant attached). Was nice place but not what I was told.