Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by wayne

nice quirky hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
The Clarion Astoria was a nice quirky hotel, the rooms were a bit sparce but comfortable, I wuld not rate it as a four star more 2 - 3. The staff were pleasant and helpful, the main good feature of the hotel was the old fashioned lift with the wrought iron door and wooden interior doors and a seat inside. Apparently the building was an old convent which explains the architecture, worth the price of the stay though.
3 out of 5
by Janine

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
Great location .. Great staff Bad beds ... the bottom bunk bed actually drooped to the floor . The air conditioner was not working, but the staff did bring a small fan to help circulate the warm air ! For people on a budget it was ok
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

wonderful hotel

Posted Dec 11, 2015
Pros: Hotel staff
Location: 5 minute walk from Brignole train station, Close to cafes and shopping
This was a great hotel. Highly recommended , Very nice staff especially a woman that was working the dayshift on my stay . I wish I could remember her name . She was very helpful and patient . She was a real pleasure . Clean large rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Very nice hotel to stay for vacation, clean, big room, kindly staffs.
2 out of 5
by Annie from San Francisco

Hotel Astoria Genova

Posted Apr 12, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is an old, antique building with a classic elevator. The hotel and the room were clean enough, but the bathroom needed better cleaning; there was scum on the shower surround that would not have been difficult to remove by housekeeping if they just put a little effort into it. The shower was the worst I've ever experienced in a hotel; the water pressure was non-existent and what came out was either scalding or really cold... it was impossible to regulate the temperature. Our friends had a similar experience in their room. Breakfast was included and offered a substantial and varied selection of pastries, cereal, fruit, cold cuts, cheese, hardboiled eggs, and coffee and juice. The older male attendant could have been friendlier and less surly, but the young lady was very sweet and welcoming. The best thing about this hotel is that it is conveniently located near the Brignole Train Station and a wonderful restaurant, al Rustichello, and is in a relatively quiet area.
4 out of 5
by Ammar K. from USA

Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 22, 2013 on Hotels
Nice Area, Clean Hotel, Great Location, large rooms yet antiquated room furniture and elevator. Cleanliness was great. location close to train station. i would recommend if you dont mind 1950s furniture and rooms.
4 out of 5
by Frank from Florida, USA

Older but elegant hotel close to the train station

Posted Jul 14, 2013 on Hotels
We had a good experience. The hotel is older, but it has its charm. The bathrooms are renovated and clean. The breakfast is excellent in the morning. Walking distance to the old town and shopping area. We had dinner at a small restaurant nearby - Al Rustichello - wonderful local family run place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 3, 2013 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Chris from UK

Close to Brignole station but stuck in a time warp

Posted Mar 22, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel is very, very tired. It is clean but more 2-star than 4-star. Yes it has an old lift, which is vaguely charming, but thread-bare carpets, rickety old furniture and a general 1970s feel. It's close to the Brignole train station and most of the staff were courteous. The free Wi-Fi worked well. At £80 a night it's expensive for what you get, but probably typical of the hotels on offer in Genoa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul B. from Scotland, UK

Wonderful old Time Warp Hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2012
Pros: Atmosphere
Cons: Traffic noise
Location: Very central and convenient for most locations
Time warp Hotel in a great location. Nice to find a lovely old hotel that has not had it's charm ripped out by 'modernisation'. Loved the nice old reception, lounge, bar and dining area. fantastic old 1930's iron lift going up the central stairway. The Big Ben grandfather clock added a touch of a Rocky Horror film set feel to the experience. The higher you go the cheaper the rooms. Our third floor rooms looked a bit tired but clean with nice crisp linen and towels. Double glazing helped keep the noise of the traffic down but still pretty loud. Very convenient for Brigniole train station close to good shops and restaurants. Would definately go back excellent value B&B prices. N.B. Not the sort of place I would recommend it you like bland, soporific Best Western or Marriot type hotels.