Ratings based on 724 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Attention

Posted May 16, 2017
The breakfast was cold as ice and leaking from the roof
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w

Horrible experience

Posted May 14, 2017
I got there and they gave me a smoking room that smelled like an ash tray. The pillows were not pillows and only got two for a King size bed. I asked to change my room. They made me wait two days and I got bit by bed bugs. The rooms look nothing like the pictures. The whole place was worn down and dirty.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

hotel at dangerous site of bronx

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Staff is very nice.
Cons: Another location, or show the reality of area for people to know what they are booking.
Location: Too scary to even try to walk around.
The picture on the website shows a nice hotel just renewed. It is an old building. Although it has been remodelle and can be considered as "clean" the overall site is very disappointing. The train is passing above level ground all day and night! The front desk is protected with scary security glass. People staying at the hotel give the feeling of a motel. Active police presence (5-7) patrols. Breakfast is cheap. Personnel very nice. Wouldn't recommend it unless your other choice is a bench at Central Park.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

If you must stay here, just know....

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: the valet guy was super nice
Cons: pretty much everything, it's a tough location and a tough neighborhood
Location: The Bronx zoo is nearby, which was the reason for our visit. Supermarkets, Chinese food, subway, the train is close and many bus stops.
1. The valet parking... that guy is a sweetheart. 2. I asked if I could check in 1 hr before check in time and they charged med $10, no big deal but for one hour? 3. Once we got to our room, housekeeping was finishing up with cleaning it I guess. She came back in and said "oh, you have no towels. I'll be right back." Never did, so I spent overnight with only two face cloths. I didn't push it because I had my own towel and was so overwhelmingly disappointed with everything else that I just didn't bother. 4. There was left over food in the fridge from the people that stayed there before me. 5. I got a room in the front part of the hotel, which faces the train tracks. It was really loud, my poor kid was a bit scared at first but got over it and I barely slept. So if you choose to stay here, maybe ask for a room in the back of the hotel or even the basement which is where the breakfast room is? 6. Breakfast was ok. Bagels, mini danish, mini muffins, eggs, frozen sausages (microwave provided for heating) toast, 3 different kinds of cereals and milk. Also coffee and tea. 7.The bathroom needs a LOT of work. The corners had trash and dust piled up. 8. I took my shoes off to rest my feet and was disgusted how dirty the floor actually was. My feet were gray. 9. There was a mouse in my room. A small mouse was trying to get in my duffel. If my kid hadn't been sleeping, I would had left for a friend's house but she was so tired. This pretty much did it for me. I just didn't sleep much.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would be more better

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: The staff is very realible, friendly, and always they were open to make their jobs, and the hotel have a private parking including valet parking.
Cons: Clean the rooms, remove the noises coming from the street and the air conditioning, remove that smell of tobacco, and breakfast will be until 10am.
The hotel is located in a excellent placed, nearby to the Bronx Zoo, closet to the West Farms Sq East Tremont Av subway stations and several bus routes, but this placed need more improvements, my room was near of the street, therefore could hear train noise the train and the traffic as if outside, and with a bad smell of horrible tobacco, also the air conditioning was very noisy and it was difficult to sleep as well.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Run down hotel with subway train noise.

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: There wasn't anything I liked about this motel.
Cons: Cleanliness, Rodent elimination. drug free environment.
Location: The location is under the subway station, which is VERY noisy.
Rooms were filthy. I was laying in the bed when all of sudden a Rat ran across the floor. I screamed, grabbed my belongings and ran out of the door. I explained what happen to the front desk, and the guy was rude, and said that it was not his problem. He did not offer me an apology or anything. I would like to have my $144.00 refunded. I am allergic to pets and Rodents. Also, There was a Strong Marijuana Smell throughout the building, which made me sick. Last but not least, there's an on duty security guard at this motel that does nothing but sit down all day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Emergencies Yes. Vacation maybe not.

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
At check in, staff was friendly, but upon entering room, found it was not ready for occupancy, it still had last nights party, all over the place. Another room was provided quickly, and seemed in order, except for a foul chemical odor. I choose this hotel because of its close proximity to my job, during emergencies and snow storms, etc... I don't expect much in this situation, but wouldn't choose this hotel if I was on vacation, or pleasure.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad experience

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
I checked approx. 2:15pm. Leave my assigned room and went to visit friends. Upon my return I placed the key card in the door and it did not work. Another guest was occupying the room. By then, all the rooms were already booked so they gave me room that was in bad condition. I had to stay in that uncomfortable room for the night because the room was already paid for...real bad experience and a waste of my money.
2 out of 5
by Genevieve

bring a book no television

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
The entire time of our stay the television did not work in the room and was only one towel in the bathroom, we called the front desk twice and got more towels as far as the TV all that was done was a reset that never worked (and i did twice awaiting someone to fix it). I was happy to have had my laptop to keep entertained while resting, but was very upset and was expecting everything to work for the price I paid, and was not even given an apologies for the television not working.