Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Like a prison...

Posted Jan 25, 2017
It feels like a prison here. Too many rules and restrictions. They should be paying you to stay here. Required housekeeping? so they can snoop in your room I guess. No guests aloud on property without out letting the office know and they want the guests to sign in and out. Crazy credit card holds that they say they have to right to retain at the blink of an eye. Beyond that you will be woken up every morning at 5am to a loud plow truck for the slightest adverse weather. But dont try going to bed early because the employee leaving at 10pm thinks you too want to hear her music as she warms up her car for ten minutes. No respect for their customers. And I'm not walking down the down the street for a muffin as continental breakfast is not located at property. I also had to go out one day and move my car because a plow truck was parked directly on top of my it. I could barely enter my vehicle or reverse without hitting the truck. The staff is very nice however
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Natalia Handy, Hotel Management
Thank you sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us. I was disappointed to hear that our property was not the right fit for you. We have protocols and policies in place, such as housekeeping schedules, and the registering of all guests on premises for safety and security purposes, as do the majority of hotels and extended stay properties. A deposit is required at check in, but is refundable upon checkout after room inspection, and is fully disclosed at the time of reservation. We appreciate all feedback as we use both positive and negative criticism as an opportunity to provide the very best experience we can for our guests, but I honestly have to say that I was surprised when I read your review. Your original reservation was for one evening. You voiced your disagreement of our policies but then, requested to stay an additional week. You again expressed that you were unhappy with the policies we have in place; therefore, I offered to cancel the remainder of your stay, providing you with a pro-rated refund. I also offered to assist you with reservations at one of our two sister properties in the area if you felt they would better suit your needs. You chose to stay at our property, declining my offers. At Handy Suites Colchester, we strive to provide a clean, comfortable, convenient, and affordable home away from home to our valued guests.Whether needing short term housing during relocation, traveling for business, or looking for a weekend getaway, we are happy to work with each individual to find the right accommodations that meet budget and comfort needs. I understand how important it is when traveling that you find the right fit for you and I apologize that we weren’t able to meet your expectations. I wish you the very best in your future travels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Quebec, Quebec

Posted Nov 8, 2016
The room was outdated and so noisy.. Refrigerator never stopped its loud buzzing sound, the à/c (algorithme it was working well) was noisy and we couldn't turn it off because the room would quickly become too hot. We were able to hear the other people on their room (otaking a shower, flushing the toilet, etc.) and the pipes in the walls and ceiling were doint strange knocking sounds all night long. Also, the lock on the door is a "bathroom lock" and if you want to lock it when you leave, you have to push the button on the doorknob and close the door; which is not very safe..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Very Basic but Spotless

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: I liked the size of the suites and how clean the place was.
Cons: Cagey people hanging out in the dark parking lot at all hours. Front dest closes and property is locked at 10pm.
Location: St. Michael's College is across the street and Burlington is about 10 minutes away.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
Room was very spacious and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Nice, peaceful hotel. Very clean. I enjoyed my stay and would stay again if in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Great Staff, Dated Look, Not much in the area

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Very clean and friendly
Location: You really have to go to downtown Burlington to do things. Area around hotel is mostly residential and hard to find places to eat.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful for questions or concerns. The furniture was a little dated and no A/C unit in the bedroom. It was great for the conference I was attending as I wasn't staying there most of the day and nice room to just relax in. Room was extremely clean. Very convenient to the highway to downtown Burlington. Not much to do in the area or places to eat.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
Very welcoming - fast checkin - close to funeral home where I attended a memorial service - able to order delivery dinner - furniture worn but very clean - bed a little hard but I'm particular - entire suite very very clean - checkout fast.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Affordable, simple, clean room. Came back to the room in the middle of the day with an open door, and my watch was missing. No security cameras in the hallways. I wouldn't stay again based on that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, While I’m pleased you liked your room, I’m extremely disappointed to hear you lost your watch. I discussed this matter with our housekeepers. You returned to your room while they were entering it. You said you don’t need housekeeping and handed them your trash; they never entered your room. We have a wonderful housekeeping team and our guests,’ both long and short term can confirm it. We wish you the best and hope you find your watch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Excellent staff, roomy suite

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Not fancy, but clean, roomy and comfortable. Friendly helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Another Wonderful Stay

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The staff are so friendly and helpful, and our suite was just right for the three of us.
Location: Perfect for the Spinner Place dormitory in Winooski. Convenient to Champlain, UVM and St. Mike's.
We have stayed here before so it was no surprise, but we had a wonderful time at Handy's. Our suite was perfect for my wife, grandson and I as we brought him back to college in Burlington. It is so nice to have this place available to us for these seasonal trips to Vermont. And so convenient to Winooski where his dormitory is located. Unless there is no vacancy this is where we will stay each time we visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2016 by Natalia Handy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with us and the FIVE star rating. We strive to provide excellent service and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time at our Handy’s Suites. We look forward to you next visit.
4 out of 5
by Eric R from North Jersey

Eric RK

Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was fine at a fair price. Well managed. Ten dollars for Uber into Burlington. The description on Hotels.com specified a balcony. Call at time of booking to request one. Not all suites have one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for a wonderful feedback. We strive to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations and I’m glad your stay was a success. We look forward to your next stay with us.