Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Michael from Merthyr Tydfil

Disabled room not suitable for the disabled

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
My satnav navigated me to the hotel ok, but the picture on the e-mail booking confirmation is not the hotel in Caen itself. My wife uses a walking stick so the receptionist kindly put us in a ground floor room with a bathroom designed to accommodate disabled persons access. The ramp access to the bathroom was far too steep and short. As an enabled person I had real difficulty exiting the bathroom. The bathroom was a wetroom type, but there was no means to move water on the floor towards the drain, leaving the floor very slippery when wet. Sadly there were no complimentary coffee making facilities. Not quite up to the usual standards we have experienced with Hotels.com in the UK and across the USA
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

CHEAP & CHEERFUL

Posted Dec 18, 2015 on Hotels
Next to busy road but we had a room around the back & was very quiet. Basic facilities, friendly & helpful staff, evening meal a little disappointing but good value for money.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A pleasant stay

Posted Oct 8, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed our two nights at the Crocus. The staff were helpful and friendly. There is a frequent bus service into town costing only 1.45 Euros per trip. We wanted to have an early breakfast so we could catch our ferry and there was no problem arranging this. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The free wifi worked well. Would we stay there again? Yes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: The helpful staff.
Cons: Rooms need air conditioning and brightening up, as quite small.
Location: Caen easy, and war museum excellent.
It it easy to walk into Caen centre, or there is a regular bus service, nearby.
5 out of 5
by James from Hereford

Very good value hotel

Posted Jun 12, 2015 on Hotels
Had a great stay at this hotel. One booked night extended to 4 because of a car breakdown. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the food was good and the bed was comfortable. Because we had no car for 3 days, we were able to use a nearby bus route into Caen, and there was a car hire place just down the road, so we could visit the Normandy beaches. Would stay here again, and recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

There are two hotels with almost the same name!

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Cheap, private room and bathroom. Simple facilities but good for the cost.
Cons: The room smelt like cigarettes, even though there was a no smoking sign.
Location: Nice and close to the bus station to get into the city. D Day beaches and Mont Saint Michele are close enough to do day trips.
We accidentally ended up on the other side of town at the other Crocus hotel, be aware that there are two.
5 out of 5
by Jon from Bristol UK

excellent value for money

Posted Aug 4, 2013 on Hotels
excellent value for money this hotel.. the food served in the restaurant was good and such good value, 12 euros for buffet and main or 15 euros for buffet, main and desert. Breakfast had plenty of choice. Staff very helpful and friendly. Wifi connection was a little unpredictable As a regular to Caen with my work, I will be staying here again
4 out of 5
by Sara & Jason

A Nice hotel, just a little dated

Posted Oct 14, 2012 on Hotels
This was a nice hotel, however some of the fixtures and fittings were a little dated and could do with updating. The staff were very polite and helpful. We ate in the hotel and the food was perfect.
3 out of 5
by dominique

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Philippe

Hôtel bien placé ; Personnel accueillant

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
Dans le cadre du Congrès National de la FFPJP, nous avons passé 3 nuits dans cet hôtel d'un bon rapport qualité/prix. Nous y avons dîné le premier soir . Le repas fut correct. Personnel fort sympathique.