Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toowoomba qld

great hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: everything, its just a great place to stay
Cons: nothing as my expectations was met
Location: The location was good as everything was close by
my husband and i stayed for 7 days we had a fantastic time .the room was good,there is room service everyday if needed. the swimming pool was clean and very rewarding after a busy day of activities. the staff are so friendly even the permanent residents. i would truly recommend staying here most of all Linda the receptionist was so helpful and went out of her way to make you feel welcome, comfortable and did an outstanding job. the owner was very nice even though we didnt have a lot to do with as he was very busy .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adequate basic apartment with friendly service

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Generally pretty good but Wifi poor and micro ants were a nuisance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Darwin

Good location

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Wotif
Convenient and well located. Comfortable too. A nice place to stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Not a hotel - long term apartments.

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Expedia sold me the stay ad thier "mystery" hotel and charged me more than the rack rate. The only service provided is clean towels. The room and bath are not cleaned. There is no other facilities on site like restaurant, bar, etc The place is a 2 star at best. On the bright side, the staff is excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2017 by Brian, Hotel Management
Hi Ro - Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at Grosvenor in Cairns. Our staff always appreciate comments like "staff is excellent". It's unlikely that Expedia charged you more than the 'rack' rate on a Mystery Hotel promotion but if you do believe that you should contact Expedia as we have no control over those sort of promotions. The Grosvenor in Cairns is not a 'hotel' strictly speaking, it's more of a self catering holiday apartment complex, but we do have some 'hotel' style rooms (Studios) which are the cheapest form of accommodation. Rooms are not cleaned daily but clean towels are provided each day if required. Guests requiring a full service 'hotel' should identify and book one of those (at substantially greater cost). Yes, we don't have a restaurant on site (again, we are not a hotel) but there are a range of restaurants and food outlets all within 250 meters as well as the Cock and Bull hotel and a 24 hour supermarket - Brian
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unlikely to return

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
The room was very basic, walls very thin. Lot of noise coming through from other guests in their room/corridor. Reception was never open at the times stated on the billboard. Fire alarm in our room was faulty and went off during the early hours and took over half an hour to get hold of the manager. Wifi stopped working and despite many promises it still wasn't working when we left. Accommodation doesn't look like the pictures, lots of wear and tear.
3 out of 5
by Alex from Doncaster

Average

Posted Jan 18, 2016 on Hotels
Room was ok, one of the lights did not work which was a bit annoying, bed was never made over the course of 3 nights, neither were the towels changed, rubbish bin was emptied daily. Some construction work was taking place meaning the swimming pool was closed.
3 out of 5
by Jeffrey from Karumba

Jeff

Posted Nov 27, 2015 on Hotels
Room was ok. Plenty of choices for dinning nearby however wife did not feel safe walking there at night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

bad result.

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Not much to like, the manager also had bad attitude and was rude on our cancellation the following day.
Cons: The establishment needs to invite Gordon Ramsey to accept some home truths and begin to improve their so called customer service.
Location: We changed accommodation and enjoyed Cairns to the fullest
On arrival we were asked to down size our room from a double room to a single which we agreed as the establishment promised a discounted rate, When we were allocated the new room, the room was far from clean, the entire veranda area of the accommodation was filthy and had not been cleaned in a long time. The room reeked of cigarette residual and in general the room was far from welcoming, we cancelled the next day. The other bad fact was we were charged a total of $ 350.00 AUS dollars for the one nights accommodation due to the cancellation, this is a total unfair amount of money considering what we received as good lodgings. As the single room rate was less than $ 200 AUS for the nights accommodation this cost just on $ 150.00 for the cancelled room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reasonable but... unfortunately a bad experience.

Posted Aug 30, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: room was clean and tidy and quiet (apart from the sickly neighbour)
Cons: needs better noise isolation between rooms - replace the shared door with a wall. needs better wifi - it stopped working on day 2. the smell.
Location: near a really good restaurant that served counter-meals, a 24 hour convenience store, a supermarket, and has underground carparking.
Place was clean and tidy, but unfortunately someone was smoking in their room - despite the no-smoking signs. This stunk out my room and the first 2 floors of my building and caused the smoke alarms to go off in the middle of the night one night. My room shared a door with the next room - which was locked, but meant I could hear every noise my neighbour made. Unfortunately they were quite sick and coughed throughout every night - not a lot of sleep for me. I was working 13 hour days at the time so I did not see the hotel staff to request a room transfer. I probably could have called them during the day, but I didn't think of that... Then again the staff could have been a bit more proactive about the cigarette stench. Overall an unfortunate experience in what would have otherwise been a reasonable little place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Handy to everything.

Posted Jul 27, 2015 on Wotif
Easy to find. Spacious. Clean and tidy. Staff were extremely helpful.