Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Good

Posted Aug 5, 2016
We stayed here for two nights and were very happy with the accommodation and the staff were helpful and the evening meals in the bar were good and well priced
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west lothian

Awful........stay away!!!

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: Breakfast was good. Bar was good. Location was good.
Cons: Cleanliness. Front desk staffs manners.
Location: Nice walks, lovely restaurants.
I realise this hotel is 2 star but that is no excuse for the state of our room, there was cobwebs on the window ledge, condoms left in a drawer I'm guessing from previous guests. There was dampness in the bathroom. The hot water was only a trickle, very hard to shower in so little water. No curtain on the bathroom window, no heater in the bathroom. The room had a very unpleasant smell. We stayed 2 nights, after the first night we complained to the very rude man at front desk, he did refund us half of the 2nd nights money. But I feel as a very poor 2 star hotel they have some nerve charging £80 per room a night. Since coming home I've read very similar reviews, just wish i'd read them before booking. I've saw replies from the manager calling people liars etc...........there's too many negative reviews all stating the same complaints to be made up. I travel regularly for work and can honestly say this is the first time I've left a review as bad as this. I don't know if the man at front desk is a manager, he certainly needs a few lessons in customer service and manners. After complaing about the hot water he said he'd look at it while we were out,when we got back water was still the same, so I asked him if anyone had looked, his response was "there's nothing wrong with the water", so he came to our room and after agreeing there was no water flow he nastily said "ok, I give you some money back" then walked out, with no more information given until I went to front desk AGAIN.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Won't be rushing back

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Hotel is a bit grim really, only stayed for one night. When booking it said there was parking available but when we got there we were advised that it was full but we could park on the pay and display as it was free from 1730 until 0830. This meant paying to cover us until 1730 and then as breakfast was 0800 til 0900 I had to go and pay for parking again rather than rush us and a toddler through breakfast. Nearly all the chairs in the room had holes in, the bathroom light stayed on for exactly 34 seconds before switching itself off each time. Had to shower by the light off the shaving light above the sink. Didn't get a great nights sleep as regularly blasted with music from the bar in the hotel and then later on by noises from others in the corridors, the walls are so thin you can hear everything. On the plus side the breakfast was good and check out is just a case of dropping your keys through a slot in the front desk a making a hasty getaway!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Bed sheets dirty, room hadn't been cleaned properly, redecoration of room had been done very poorly. Had to ask housekeeping to make up our room. Member of staff used master key to get into our room at 2am without explanation or apology!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rugby

base for cycling railway tracks.

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Absolutely loved the experience of the hotel. A wonderful historical hotel. Beautiful stain glass windows Staff were very friendly and the service was fantastic. Breakfast terrific-you could even have porridge if you asked. I give the whole experience 5 stars. If I ever return to Callander, I'll stay at the Dreadnought.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

One night stopover.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Clean, nice location.
Cons: Comfort of the beds, general appearance of the hotel.
Location: Had a decent meal in the town, and a brief walk down by the river. Very welcome after a long drive.
The hotel was in a very pretty location, and in a good spot on the high street. The building had clearly been rather lovely in the past, but is now looking rather tired and shabby in parts. Having said that, the room was clean and had all the facilities we needed for a one night stop, the only real snag being the lumpiness of the mattress. Breakfast was a hearty affair and served quickly by the staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stafford

The nicest thing is the front of the hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2014
We had booked this hotel believing the description that we would get breakfast. At arrival we had to pay for it extra (5 Pounds in advance or 8 Pounds if you pay on the day). The hotel was not renovated or refurbished for around 30 years. Everything is very old. The elevator is antique. Multiple layers of wallpaper is coming off the walls. The service was not good. We stayed for two days and twice tried to eat in the hotel pub in the evening. The first evening the kitchen had closed (it always closes at 8 pm). So the second day we came at 7.15 pm but were send away as the cook was currently preparing dinner for a big tour group. On top of that I had to wait one morning half an hour for my warm breakfast. A couple of people had ordered a poached egg parallel which seemed to be a challenge for the cook. The staff was not really unfriendly. They were just not very good trained.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Co. Durham

A pale shadow of what it once used to be......

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Clean bed
Cons: Dining room furniture should be thrown out and replaced. Strange smell in the hotel, not just fresh paint either
Location: Callander is the gateway for the Highlands
An old hotel which has long since past it's best,we wanted a bed for the night and the bed was comfortable but that's the end of the good news. A minimal breakfast which included 1/4 slice of deep fried bread,a tea-spoon of beans and stains on the dining room chairs . Other guests appeared to have no respect for others and walked along the corridors at 2-3 in the morning chatting as if it was midday. The car park is a bit of waste ground at the back with very limited parking but there is a pay and display right next to the hotel. We paid £65 for a room for the night, while not apparently expensive, it seemed expensive after we stayed. The bed was clean and comfortable though. It's not a place we will return to sadly. And this was after a refurb too. Extractor fan in the bathroom was turned off, I turned it on to be greeted with loudening rumble the longer it was on so I turned it off also
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Inverness

Hotel of Character

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Staff were excellent and could not have been more helpful. The food, both dinner and breakfast, was good.
Cons: Needs a residents' car park on site. The live folk music would have been nice at a more sensible volume. Decor is looking shabby and tired.
Location: Pleasant Highland town in area of great natural beauty
Arrived at 2015, after official last orders for food, but staff very obliging in providing dinner, which was good. Car park is tiny and was full, which meant parking in a public car park and going out at 0830 next morning to buy a pay & display ticket - not ideal - they need an adequate car park for residents. Bar had live music by two very accomplished musicians, but it was far too loud - above the threshold of pain on occasion - and it was impossible to have a conversation. What a shame. They were good, and if they'd just turned it down a bit, or not used amplification at all, it would have been pleasant. The room was fine, clean, everything worked, beds OK, decor perhaps seen better days, and we had a good night's sleep. Breakfast was very good and served again by very helpful and obliging staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central to Lakes

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Staff pleasant, room basically clean but needed a vacuum. Beds were ok & clean. The hotel is run down. They had a large coach group in but it was quiet. Parking difficult.