Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auburn CA

An oasis from the business of Barcelona

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: The setting
Cons: Prix fixe menu at dinner was just so so compared to a la carte offerings. Seems like the primary restaurant clientele might be lunch or catering?
Location: Close enough to drive to Montserrat or Barcelona for the day. Might be nice to just hang out and hike the trails nearby too.
If you have a car this hotel is easily accessible from the airport. Lovely views, great staff, beautiful grounds with a lot of quiet venues to sit and relax, reasonable prices. Breakfast and prix fix dinner were okay, ordering off a la carte menu was better. Not the best food I had in Spain but convenient to come back from Barcelona to a nice quiet meal and again to start the day off.
3 out of 5
by John

Nostalgic

Posted Sep 1, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed overnight on our way back to Barcelona and spent a full 24 hours here so we could make the most of the facilities here. Check in was efficient and friendly and we were shown to our room which was good as it felt like a maze of corridors. We spent most of the afternoon by the pool and this was very enjoyable - a lovely quiet setting with plenty of space around the pool area. Supper at the hotel was excellent and the choice of food and presentation was first rate with some nice wines to complement the menu. Our room was comfortable and clean and no noises or disturbances throughout the night. Breakfast was very pleasant and the staff were helpful throughout. From a personal perspective I found the hotel furnishings outside our room a bit 'nostalgic' as they were dressed with 'nic-nacs' and the lounge areas were filled with chairs grouped together with throws over them - which we found somewhat unique! Overall it's clear that this hotel has a strong local following and is probably a very popular party/wedding venue in a lovely location with welcoming staff.
5 out of 5
by Howard

Posted Aug 30, 2017 on Hotels
Apart from not getting a room with a balcony, as promised on my booking, the stay was very enjoyable and the staff couldn't have been more hospitable. Definitely a hotel to return to on another occasion and I would definitely recommend it.
5 out of 5
by Donnell

Awesome Hotel ..... I cant wait to go back.

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
We got into Barcelona at about 11pm with no hotel . We found this hotel( warning a lot of the cab drivers at the airport seem to be lost about how the navigate to find this place it's about 20 mins from Barcelona airport) it is gorgeous the view is astounding. because it was very last minute when we arrived it was almost midnight the groundskeeper came and I wasn't sure if I would have had to explain to him or if he saw the reservation. He greeted me at the door after the friendly tabby cat and he had my room key in hand ready to receive me. He asked if we needed anything.The room was gorgeous it was beautiful the bathroom was very nice deep tub and the water was very hot, the bed was soft ,the blackout curtains were dark and because you're up in the mountains at night it gets cold they have extra blankets stowed away in the closet. they have a bit of a welcome kit and it has a toothbrushes toothpaste razors I felt extremely comfortable even though it was only an overnight stay and I definitely can't wait to go back it was so nice. I told the gentlman i needed a taxi and was a bit afraid about being able to get one considering how hard it was for our driver to find the place when I got up there was a taxi waiting. He told me there was breakfast at 7:30 and I noticed a mention of a spa but I had to go.
5 out of 5
by Kieran

Heaven

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent Hotel discovered by accident. You need a car but it's worth it. Easy 15 min drive to Barcelona. The Night Manager, Joseph, is a treasure. He's brilliant and makes you feel special.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely place to relax with great views

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
Nice family owned hotel on top of a mountain with spectacular views of the surrounding Catalan mountains. Nice people, good service, great food at very reasonable prices. Has a spa and a small 9 hole par 3 golf course as part of the complex. Check the GPS location and have a good map or TomTom as the route up the mountain is very winding. The last 3 or so kilometres has signs for the hotel at the main junctions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Auckland NZ

Beautiful character building on mountain top

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Cons: Directions from motorway. Our GPS got confused on the winding mountain roads,A few more signs to the hotel from the local village would be helpful
Took a stay at this hotel based on reviews and wasn't disappointed Fabulous views and very attentive welcoming staff Peaceful Good air conditioning and wifi TAke the restaurant dinner option as high quality set meal with 3 options for each course.Much better than local cafes in town Will use again Close to BArcelon and 30km from Montserrat
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great views. Good facilities. You need a car.

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: Views, room, people.
Cons: I'd like to see an a la carte menu offered.
Location: I drove the 30 kms to Barcelona both days, It was worth it. The local scenery is lovely. Tapas bars in the towns on the way to the highway.
Perched up on top of a steep valley, you are afforded wonderful views out to Barcelona. It's an interesting drive up the series of switchbacks through the string of village housing. It's not a place I'd choose to walk to, with a backpack etc. A number of first gear corners. The facility has very comfortable rooms with spacious en-suites. Real internal shutters on my balcony door and window, and they worked a treat. Excellent climate control air conditioning. Limited food menu and 25EU for dinner, plus wine by the glass. 3 choices each for entree, main, dessert. The food itself was excellent, and white wine by the glass was 3EU. Sociable and helpful staff, some with better English than others, but generally had some proficiency with French. Good outside pool. The eating area outside overlooks the valley and has spectacular views. I liked it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Business stay

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Great experience , nice view by the mountain , about 20 km from Barcelona , having a car made it easy , I can't imagine staying here without a car since nothing is around
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland

Best hotel to stay in! any country...

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Everything... it even has a 9 -hole golf course, the views are fascinating, one can even see Barcelona.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: It is in the top of a mountain (small). The gateway to the CAVA country....
We had the most pleasant stay, we booked for two nights and end up staying for two more... We definitely recommend his gem. We for selfish reason do not want this hotel to be overbooked because we plan to go back there in the future but we have to be fair and give this hotel the highest rating possible.