Ratings based on 401 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel has burnt down!!!

Posted Jul 5, 2017
I arrived to check in and the hotel was no longer there! It had burnt down a month before and no one thought to contact me to let me know.
1 out of 5
by Carolyn

sucks when you arrive and the hotel burned down

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
the hotel burnt down and the worse part was neither hotels.com nor the hotel themselves called to tell us anything. we arrived in town thought we call to tell them we will check in late, disconnected. luckily we got another room. hotels.com you should have advised us also!!!!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful

Posted May 26, 2017
Room smelled like urine. Edges of the carpet were very dirty. Shower walls and ceiling were stained and coming apart. Should have been 1/2 the price paid!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Decent and Affordable

Posted May 19, 2017
Stayed here for day trips into D.C. Walked to VRE for one hour ride to Union Station. Hotel is old but fairly well maintained. Staff was friendly and very accommodating.
4 out of 5
by William

Happy in Charlottesville

Posted May 5, 2017 on Hotels
The owner was real helpful- whom I got to speak with on a couple of occasions. The price was real good, even the vending machines were real cheap. For the price a very good deal.
4 out of 5
by Andrew

A decent place to stay

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
I was back in C-ville for a wedding of a friend, and I needed something near the University, not expensive, but met my needs, and the Excel Inn & Suites did. It wasn't extravagant by any stretch of the imagination, but it served its function well.
3 out of 5
by Lon

Good for the location

Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Hotels
Clean hotel , thin walls but great location to visit UVA functions Overall recommend this hotel but if you dont like fat pillow bring your own
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: price, location, staff
Cons: add a desk lamp to the room
Location: Best hotel location, adjacent to campus and near "The Corner."
You can't require me to do your reviews. You will just get me angry if you require me to write a lot.
5 out of 5
by Tami

Good stay

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Room appeared to be recently updated... looked nice, clean... beds were rather uncomfortable. In town for track meet, location perfect. Great diner across the street good coffee, good food. Would stay again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waynesboro, Va

Accidental Booking

Posted Apr 23, 2017
I had intended to book this hotel for May 5, however when I submitted my reservation, the date changed to April 17, the date I was attempting to reserve know. When I received a confirmation text, less than 5 minutes afterward, I noticed the mistake in dates. Immediately I called the hotel in hopes of having the dates corrected, I was told nothing could be done. It was a confirmed reservation, and no changes could be made even though​ it was clearly an error. This hotel a