Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing experience in the mountains

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Staff, food, scenery, activities, pool
Cons: They have no internet in mountains so communication before arrival is a bit lacking.
Location: Amazing treks.
Wildernest far exceeded expectations from reviews and pictures. Swimming pool is much larger than their pictures show, and the resort is much higher in the mountains than we thought, making for incredible views from our balcony. The food is all very traditional, much to our liking. The staff are very enthusiastic and helpful, they clearly care about the resort and want people to get the most out of the stunning nature. The waterfall trek was a highlight but ask before you go if the trek involves rock scrambling as this might not be to everyone's ability. The best way to unwind, make sure you stay at least two nights and bring some binoculars.
4 out of 5
by Rohan from Mumbai

Best Eco resort in India

Posted Sep 6, 2014 on Hotels
We were a group of 5 ppl stayed there for 2 nights and I must say it felt like I'm on a different planet in the clouds , the view from the valley facing room was breathtaking with the mountains and waterfall in the background . The staff are very very helpful and never say no to any request. There is a bar with limited choice of drinks on there which is good, just think the lights around the place in the night are too dull when there are creepy insects all around . For those who plan to visit during the monsoon plz don't come there with old people or baby as there are leeches , different insects, scorpion etc though I didn't mind it coz we are the ones visiting their home so be ready to face that fact. Overall a nice place and a must go place for the future . Thanks, Rohan Coelho
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

The Wildernest

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: See review above
Cons: Yes the bungalows also restaurant can do with a complete refurbishment. The pool needs to be cleaned.
Location: Location is high into the forest walking is the thing to do.
I found the bungalow I stayed in to be very dark hardly any lighting, deck chairs and blinds very grubby, no facilities such as A/C or coffee/tea making don't exist, bed was damp and one thin blanket no sheets. The forest view was looking into dense bamboo. The bar and restaurant area again very dark, seating canvas chairs all very grubby stained. I was there during the monsoon season the route to the bungalow was dangerous in the wet ( leave the forest view in the monsoon season )
4 out of 5
by Vicky from Pune

Live with nature

Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels
Must go place. We had a very good experience with awesome food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Manoj from Ahmedabad

Nice Hotel 4 those wishing to stay close to nature

Posted May 24, 2014
Very good property if u are of the type who enjoys staying in the jungle. They offer two type of rooms-forest view and valley view....go for the valley view room which overlooks the valley and if you are going during the monsoon u would be able to see the waterfalls also. Activities include bird watching, jungle trek etc. Sighting of birds and animals are rare but u can enjoy the experience...food is out of the box if u enjoy Konkani food. They also have an 'infinity pool' which is something unique... Staff is helpful. Surprisingly, u won't find mosquitoes as there are a lot of wild lemon trees which keeps them away. Bathrooms are spacious and clean. Nearest railway station is Thivim and Madgaon. They offer both pickup and drop facility if you request them in advance. They charge Rs. 800/- but it is peanuts considering that from Thivim it is 1.5 hours and from Madgaon it is 2 hours. It is better to carry a raincoat/umbrella because it might rain any time. Though the property is sufficiently lighted at night and they have a back-up generator also but it is better to carry a torch. Should also carry shoes for trekking. Days are cool and nights are cold. We stayed for two nights from 20th May to 22nd May...should have tried both the forest and valley view rooms...but overall it was a wonderful experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dee from surrey

Worth going for the views and the pool

Posted Mar 17, 2014
It was a lovely experience - something different to do after the hub bub of candolim. We had the infinity pool to ourselves and experienced monkeys coming down for a drink. It was a quiet time of the year when we went so we were the only Europeans - had the bar to ourselves. One of the guides took us for a sunset walk which was fascinating - saw bear and puma tracks along the way. Take stout walking shoes as very rocky. We watched Goan girls doing lamp folk dancing - which was lovely. Food was nice but must admit we got a bit bored of curry as they serve it for lunch and dinner - the alternative of vermicelli didn't look too good. There was curry ar breakfast too bur luckily they cooked us an omelette. The room was lovely - a bit like a Swiss chalet set in the jungle with breathtaking views of the valley below. A great experience - because it was quiet one night was enough - but so happy we did it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michele from Perth Australia

Forest retreat in the Western Ghats

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: Location in the forest overlooking the valleys is to die for, and the food served is simple and delicious. A nurturing experience!
Cons: In January, the nights are a little cool - another blanket would be nice. Eaves are open (protected by insect mesh), so be aware privacy is limited
Location: Walks on various tracks to see lovely views, also village walks, local agriculture
I spent 6 days at Wildernest Goa starting 25 January 2014. This was a rest period following a two week "foodie" tour of points further north. Me, an ipad and a bathing suit. Had friends with me for the first three days, then on my own. The food served for all meals was wonderful, and I felt nourished and cared for in eating it. Staff were friendly and enthusiastic, and the transfers from other parts of Goa included as part of the cost of the trip are a valued benefit. In addition to a cottage and meals, the cost Includes evening entertainment (can be cultural performances, documentaries about local wildlife (in English))
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jilliji from UK & Goa

A change from the beaches in Goa

Posted Jan 19, 2014
Pros: Big bungalows, good views, activities such as bird watching, hiking, evening entertainment. Fabulous infinity pool.
Cons: A lot could be improved. The path ways and steep steps to bungalows are very uneven. I wouldn't recommend this place to people with mobility issues.
Location: Great location and activities laid on. Not really possible to leave the resort.
An enjoyable stay with good food. Fabulous views from some of the cottages. Very cold at night and not enough blankets provided - ask for more.
4 out of 5
by Traveller

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2013 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Badshahofgoa from London

Great Location, shame about the state of the rooms

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels
Excellent location- very scenic and great for trekking. Beautiful views of the waterfalls from the bedroom windows. However, the state of the rooms were pathetic with broken windows which meant a cold night as there was a lot of fog. The linens etc were not very clean and basic bathroom amenities such as shampoo and bodygel lacking. They need to seriously upgrade if they are to take advantage of their great location. Courteous staff though with a smile and good food- all Indian.