Ratings based on 392 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ps usa

Good

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Good hotel close to the city center and transportation..................
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very close to main city centre and was walkable to

Posted Nov 7, 2017
the hotel looked fine from the outside but you sometimes had to wait in the cold for some one to open the door as you had to ring a buzzer to enter. one morning there was no water and when fixed it took ages to get hot which delayed the start of the day
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central location but thin walls

Posted Sep 29, 2017
On the good side, this hotel is very central to everything. The hotel staff are great and the hotel is safe. Our room was in the basement so that was a bit odd. The walls are so thin we could hear Everything above us. We felt like we had an amorous giant in the room above us. Thump thump thump.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. John's NL

Safe and clean

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Pros: The staff were helpful
Cons: The storage area for baggage if you arrive early seemed less secure than in other similar hotels. I left feeling a little unsure about my gear.
Location: Easy walk to river, bridge and Temple Bar area.
Overall this was more expensive than I would have expected. No safe in the room. No AC. Water from tap was not drinkable, but no bottled water supplied, Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean and overall quiet. Very close to OConnell street. We could walk most places.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you're looking for budget that's what you'll ge

Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Hotels
No double glazing or sound proofing. My room was at the back of the hotel and seemed to be situated over a service entrance. I was kept awake by refuse collections, deliveries and drunks. Guests in next room liked to slam doors and talk loudly at all hours. Bed uncomfortable, carpet and furniture tatty, bathroom small. The shower so small made worse by a soap dispenser being in the way. No water pressure. Cheap but not cheerful. Close to shops and other sights though.
1 out of 5
by William

Don't Stay Here -- It Is a Dump!

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
This place is a dump. I was mislead by the online reviews! I will never stay here again. It was a rip-off. Way too expensive for such a dump. My first clue was when the taxi driver questioned why I would want to stay in THAT part of town. I probably stepped over a sleeping bum 4 or 5 times in the 2 days I was there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Terrible hotel in good location

Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location and the airport bus from front door
Cons: Shower, reception, ventilation, drinking water, service, prices
Location: Central, walking distance to most things, castle, trinity library, nightlife, temple bar, restaurants etc 10-15min
The shower instant electric hot water was completely useless as the pressure dropped to a dribble if you wanted even a slightly warm shower. The worst shower I have ever had, it's like the thing I look forward to most in budget hotels specifically to make up for the old facilities and poor service. The room we had also had zero ventilation, no fan, no air con, no windows to open! There is signs in the rooms that the tap water is not drinkable, but you cannot buy water at reception or given any alternatives. The receptionist was full of excuses and no apologies were given. Just told us to drink the water anyway it's "fine".... But why the signs? Very poor, I've stayed in lots of budget places but none have been this disappointing. We paid a good price but the only thing we were thankful for was the location and the bus that takes you to the airport from the front door. Rooms were tidy but would definitely not recommend this hotel. Worse than 3rd world country
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Close to Airport Bus stop

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: It was an easy walk to the shopping area, river and buses.
Location: Location was good for walking to the city centre, the river and a few attractions.
Had one night here and that was enough. I was by myself and my room was out the back, down a path, into another building. Seemed OK until trying to sleep with a service land right outside my window. Was awake most of night with rubbish trucks, drunken louts and car alarms all making a noise at some time. The room was clean and tidy but basic and the bathroom was OK. I just didn't feel very safe not being in the main building. Having the bus stop just up the road was handy to and from the airport. I didn't have breakfast there as preferred to find my own cafe. They were kind enough to store my suitcase until I came back from sightseeing but their idea of storage was an unused bar that wasn't lockable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Fair

Posted Sep 2, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: Walking distance to everything. Friendly staff
Cons: Shower hot water system. lighting in the room.
Location: Walking distance to everything if you enjoy walking.
Best thing about his hotel was the location. Close to most things, we walked everywhere. Hotel staff were always friendly. Shower was terrible no pressure either hot or cold. Lighting in the room is poor. No lifts, had to walk up 2 large flights of stairs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
The road noise was unbearable. The window was not soundproof whatsoever. I felt i was sleeping in the middle of the road. The bed was conformable. The room was serviced every day however the housekeeping thought that a pack of biscuits was there as a ''tip'' and they open it and help them self...after a hard day's work. :)))