Ratings based on 372 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Maple Hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2017
We arrived at the hotel and got given our key and we had to go round the side and into another building to get to our room. The room itself was quite small but comfortable enough. There is no drinking water from the taps in the bathroom so we needed to buy our own bottled water to fill the kettle. The radiator in the bathroom had a slight leak so there was always a small amount of water on the bathroom floor by the pipes leading into the radiator. The plug hole in the shower was clogged with congealed hair and god knows what to the point that after a minute in the shower you where stood in around 10cm of water. The free wifi was easy to connect to and was fast enough for us to use it to plan our days in Dublin. The TV signal wasn't great so on the few occasions we turned the television on we had a fuzzy picture. Also found it strange that we were required to hand out key in at reception when we left the hotel everymorning. We only had to tell them our room number when we came back and it was on occasion a new member of staff who we hadn't met, who would happily hand over the key without asking for any ID or security measure. Overall it was cheap and cheerful hotel we didn't spend much time there and the location made it easy for us to get to everywhere we wanted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Excellent location, affordable and comfortable

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Great for the money. 747 leave for the airport in front of the hotel. Close to everything. Easy check in and check out. 24 hour reception.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Truly awful

Posted Jun 25, 2017
The hotel was terrible. The curtains couldn’t be drawn as one of them was hanging off its hooks, this would normally be something you could fix yourself but given that the pole was about 20 feet up, there wasn’t anything we could do. What made this worse was that they were obviously aware of it as had tied part of the string from the top tab of the curtain to the one that wasn’t hanging off. We went to reception and spent quite a while trying to explain the problem before being followed up to the room to show them. The hotel employee quickly came up with the idea of putting 2 big paperclips on the curtains to hold them together, we got the impression he’d done this before. Then the shower, one of the doors was not in its runner and the tray very quickly filled with water, this resulted in having to continuously turn the water off to avoid flooding the bathroom. When we checked out we said that we were not happy with the room, the man there didn’t seem to care at all and was very dismissive of what we had to say, he was very defensive rather than apologetic, in fact, not once did we receive an apology. The woman on reception looked down at the desk for the duration of our conversation. Along with the tatty furnishings, mould, partially stained linen and a mattress that was well beyond its best, it made us feel very uncomfortable, as did the staff. Had we had any choice in the matter, we wouldn’t have stayed there. Needless to say, we didn’t risk the breakfast. Avoid!
2 out of 5
by Lesli

Look elsewhere for lodging in the city center

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Spent two nights at the Maple Hotel with my wife and two teenagers and it was not a good experience for us, our rooms were on the top floor (three flights of stairs) with no elevator. Had to make several trips to carry luggage up. The beds were awful and my wife and I had back pain the entire visit. No TV remotes in the room, you have to ask the front desk for one and then went through three before we found one that worked. We had just flown in from London and wanted to see the update on the terrible fire there. No air conditioning for this property, not even a fan in the room so it was very uncomfortable. Open window allowed every sound from the street into the room. Try sleeping at 2:00 am when the pubs let out and all the parties are heading home. The pub located in the hotel has closed. Do yourself a favor and spend a little extra money and stay at one of the nicer hotels on O'Connel Street. You will be extremely disappointed if you book this property. This was our first trip to Dublin as we had a couple of days layover from our flight home. Would love to return to see more of this wonderful city, however, we will definitely stay elsewhere next time. wi-fi was virtually non-existent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by JENNIFER

Only 1 day is enough

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
The room is uncomfortable. Pillows are too flat and the blankets are too narrow. There is not enough blanket to cover your body comfortably when you turn on your side. There is also NO free parking. However, you can park on the street provided you DO NOT park between 7am till 19:00pm OR your car will be towed. There is NO microwave, laundry facility, and breakfast doesn't start till 8:30 or 9:00am. Room is also small. But, there is hot water in the room with private bathroom. Stay in Dublin just for ONE NIGHT. To experience Ireland, go out of the city and drive.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location in an active area of Dublin.

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Orbitz
Older hotel with small rooms. Good value for Dublin standards Where hotels are quite expensive. Staff was excellent .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from burnley

Good locations

Posted May 25, 2017
Good cheep budget hotel. Great if your just stumping your bags n going to explore Dublin. We only stayed two nights.. but was perfect for what we wanted
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ottawa

Close to most

Posted May 22, 2017
Not a great place to stay but close to everything.