Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfort and scenery

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, comfort, breath of fresh air
The drive from where we were having activities was a bit long, but for the price range it was an unexpected treasure. The scenery was beautiful on top of the mountain. The hotel was beautifully decorated, although signs of wear and tear were observable. The room was very clean. The staff was friendly enough. There is no breakfast, but you do have a refrigerator and microwave. They had plenty of soap and shampoo. We enjoyed our time at this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Kris, Hotel Management
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for choosing Mountain View Inn and we hope to see you again in your future travels!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montgomery, AL

Retro Room with a View

Posted Aug 26, 2017
You can tell this place used to be a hot spot back in the 60s. It needs renovating to refresh and repair some areas, but it still has that retro glamor feel. The pool could have been cleaner, but I still felt comfortable swimming. The extended stay guests were annoying, but that's not really the hotel's fault. The room was surprisingly spacious. Bed was comfy. Zero breakfast at all, but there are places nearby to grab food. WiFi wasn't stable, but it was there. All and all, this place wasn't as terrible as the other reviews suggest. It's not a modern place with a lot of amenities, but it's still a pretty nice spot. If I ever have another reason to stay in Cleveland, I'd stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Tamara, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review at the Mountain View Inn in Cleveland, TN. We are currently in the process of some updates to the hotel, and as you know, updates will take a little time. We would love to have you stay with us again and we look forward to your return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Location, Location, Location

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Nice staff, lobby and pool area.
Cons: complete guest room over haul.
Location: Great location overlooking the Smokey Mounts.
The lobby and pool area were very nice and so was the staff. I went to the bathroom and the toilet seat was wet. YUCK! After a long debate over whether or not we want to stay here, we decided to stay because of the vantage point for viewing the eclipse. We bought $30 worth of air fresheners, cleaning and disinfectant items and went to work. Smoke smell, doggie doo on carpet, filthy broken hairdryer, cruddy coffee maker, dusty furniture and foggy mirrors. I moved the bedside table in order to reach the outlet and there was trash behind it including a baggie of what appeared to be pot. We removed the dirty bed spreads and slept on the top sheet with our own blanket. If you stand in one place too long, your shoes stick to the carpet. Do not sit on the upholstered chairs. Again, the staff was very nice, they allowed us a late check out for the eclipse. If you stay here bring the cleaning items and your sense of humor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by kris, Hotel Management
Let me just say I am very sorry for the conditions of your room upon arrival. There is absolutely no excuse for this. I do apologize and I can assure you that I will be addressing the housekeeping department, as to ensure that this does not happen again. I hope if your travels lead you this way again that you would give us another chance to serve you and your family. Thank you for your review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

Nice view. Quiet area. No ice buckets cupor coffee

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Seemed to be out of a lot of things. One morning could not find any staff to ask for things. And no breakfast or coffee
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from main st. usa

The most unimpressed place I've ever visited

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I landed up not staying there. I have never been to a hotel or motel before where there were no light bulbs in the lamps you had to request light bulbs. There was not a phone in the room and when one was brought in it didn't work most of the phone lines in the rooms did not work no internet service WiFi as described as one of the amenities. This place is a permanent live in type Motel. There are ashtrays full sitting outside the rooms I would have slept in my car before I would have stayed there. Thank goodness there were a couple of other motels close by that had rooms available for about the same price since the other hotels offer a continental break+
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by Tamara, Hotel Management
I would like to sincerely apologize to you after reading your review. This was absolutely not the experience we want you or anyone to have to deal with while traveling. And let me just say that we are in the works of updating our telephone and WiFi system now. In fact, we are planning several updates over the next several months. I hope that if you travel this way again, you would stop in and consider us after having another look. And again, I am so very sorry for your experience and let me assure you, that we are addressing these problems and working hard to make real changes. Thank you for your honest review and helping us to move forward.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient.

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Convenient at reasonable rates with pleasant staff.
4 out of 5
by Amy

Just ok

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
Old but clean. We walked in our room and there was a huge fan drying the floor. Even though there were only 3 cars in the parking lot, she said they were out of king and queen beds. She did get us a room but the bed was small and uncomfortable. She didn't put a lot of effort into finding us a king that we had actually paid more to have.
5 out of 5
by Tiffany Thacker from Cleveland tn

weekend get,away

Posted Jun 28, 2017 on Hotels
loved it. the people who work their where very helpful,,i enjoyed staying and plan on coming back often
2 out of 5
by Melissa

Disappointed

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
The view was amazing. There was no breakfast, as stated on hotels.com. There was stains on the carpet, bed, and blinds. There was also no toliet paper holder, so it sat on the tub. The front desk was ok. No towels in the room, so we had to ask for it. The door was held together by one screw. The banquet rooms were nice - night and day to what you get from the hotel. Would i go back? To take pictures of the view, but not to stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unsatisfactory

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel needs to be remodeled and updated. Pool was unusable, bugs on floor, place was dirty. Staff was great and bedding was clean.