Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
33% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

14th Century Charm With Modern Comfort

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
The Hotel Alte Thorschenke is a charming hotel in the heart of Cochem. We stayed in room 229 and it was lovely, complete with a medieval styled antique bed with one of the most comfortable mattresses we have ever slept on. Frau Söller at reception took care of everything from start to finish and ensured our stay was perfect. They have a wonderful restaurant as well in a part of the hotel that dates back to the 14th century. She reserved a cozy corner table for that evening. We can highly recommend having dinner in there during your stay. Breakfast was very good and not the typical European roll, coffee, and butter. It was a generous buffet offering a wide selection of meats, cheeses, rolls, yogurt, as well as scrambled eggs and bacon (something you don’t usually find at most German inns). It was delicious and plentiful. Parking is available in a lot just down the street for a nominal fee per day and well worth it. Cochem is a very foot friendly town. Once you arrive there is no need for a car. We can highly recommend staying at the Hotel Alte Thorschenke for it's location, comfort, wonderful food, and excellent service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming & Enchanting with great location

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
The Alte Thorschenke is a gem of a hotel and offers rich history for the region - built in the 1300s (If I remember correctly) this hotel has even hosted such guests as Napoleon. It is VERY centrally located off of the river with access to river cruises in 30 seconds. Nothing is more than a 15 minute walk from the hotel and the staff are very helpful to provide directions and recommendations. Charming and a bit of the old world, a great overall experience. We did not have dinner at the hotel but it was very busy every evening and had been recommended to us by some of the vineyards - so will note it for next time!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Old fashioned hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: The location was good and the staff were friendly and very helpful with the Wifi requests.
Cons: We were surprised that there were no refreshments in the room or the facilities to make a drink - simply some wine glasses for your own wine.
Location: The castle was a 20 minute walk from the hotel and the ski-lift a mere 5 minute walk. Beautiful views of the river and surrounding countryside.
Whilst we did not have an unsatisfactory stay here, we were quite surprised by this hotel. It was exceptionally quiet and definitely in need of a bit of updating. Our room overlooked a surprisingly busy and noisy road and the Pizza bar across the road was also quite lively until quite late in the evening. This meant that keeping the windows open was difficult. The staff appeared to all go home at night leaving us with a front door key to let ourselves in on our return, which was fine, but a little worrying in the event of any form of emergency!
5 out of 5
by David J from Oregon

Great hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2015 on Hotels
Great historic hotel in a fabulous location.
4 out of 5
by David from Canterbury

Right in the centre of the village

Posted Dec 27, 2014 on Hotels
Lovely old-fashioned hotel
2 out of 5
by Chris from Kent UK

disappointing

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Not much
Cons: It would be difficult to know where to start
Location: Close to town centre but so were other hotels
very old hotel, very small room with a bed about twelve inches from the floor. Cannot say I was impressed and as such I consider the place very expensive - not value for money. Other accommodation in the area which I found after booking this one with expedia and all appeared much better.
4 out of 5
by Isabelle from New Orleans USA

Nice Hotel

Posted Dec 18, 2013 on Hotels
Breakfast room was beautifully decorated to match the period of the hotel. Breakfast was great. Very convenient location. Disappointed because the room I was given had absolutely no view and the furnishings were very plain; not what was shown on the internet. I expected more of the individual rooms but the hotel lobby and common areas were beautifully decorated. Owner was very welcoming.
3 out of 5
by Hans-Peter

Für Ritter geeignet

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
Cochem ist ein schöner Ort mit vielen Fachwerkhäusern, Burg, netten Lokalen etc.. Allerdings ist im Winter eher weniger los. Das Hotel ist eine Antiquität. Alte Portraits hängen an den Wänden, die Mööbel sind steinalt und das ganze Ambiente passt eher in die Ritterzeit. Allerdings sind auch die Teppichböden und Bäder aus dieser Zeit, hat es den Anschein. Hier würde eine Renovierung helfen. Parken ist dort unmöglich, aber in der Nähe gegen Gebühr.
3 out of 5
by Luitte from Coevorden

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
Kamer geef ik een cijfer 4 en slapen een 10, Omgeving geweldig. Kamer zeer saai. Uitzicht zeer slecht. Geen luxe
2 out of 5
by Torgny from Örebro

Mysigt men dålig standard

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
Två nätter på ett bra beläget hotell som dock skulle behöva en uppfräschning! Dåliga sängar och wifi som inte fungerar mer än ner i den lilla lobbyn! Pga den gamla centrala byggnaden så har det ändå en viss charm!