Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Manhattan

Romantically beautiful without being cutesy

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Thoroughly lovely experience from top to bottom. The vintage home has the perfect mix of period ambiance and modern convenience. The healthy and delicious fare at breakfast was equal parts familiar and interesting. The staff was appropriately helpful without being in the way or hovering. I thought having the bathroom down the hall would be a penance, but it was not an issue at all, and I never had to wait to use it. The view across the harbor from the bed, with the twinkling lights of the Cold Spring Harbor laboratory, and the clapboard church and fish hatchery in the distance, could not have provided a better backdrop for a romantic getaway. Our room had a working fireplace, which completed the idyllic scene.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Lovely room. Amazing breakfast. Very healthy.

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Deirdre is an amazing person . Very healthy organic breakfast. Would definitely go back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No bath in room

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
There was no private bath in the room. There was a powder room in the outer hallway and a full one a flight up. The room description is not honest and I can't believe I paid over $200 to USE A HALL BATHROOM. Otherwise the property is clean and well maintained, and my room was comfortable. The people were nice and well-meaning but I was a little weirded out by the owner greeting me with a hug and "welcoming me home."
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice location

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: Nothing
Comfortable and quiet in a nice location. Easy check in and out
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: I liked not having to stay in an impersonal, corporate type hotel located close to the center of Cold Spring Harbor.
Cons: Make a full breakfast available.
Like many B&B's, an older style Victorian era building with a home away from home, non-corporate atmosphere, situated on the outskirts of quaint village, Cold Spring Harbor. The Garden Room where I stayed, a first floor room built off the side of the house and windowed on two walls, lacked full privacy due to the sliding panel doors that closed it off. A clear moon lit night would make room darkening difficult. That said, it was a comfy room with good climate control options. Did not have an in-suite bathroom, but had access to a half bath downstairs, near my room on the first floor, and also shared access to an upstairs shower. Older homes just didn't a lot of bathrooms. Breakfast was continental rather the full meal I've experienced at all the other B&B's visited. Coffee by Keurig, so sub par if you want a robust cup of jo. Free wine (no license), along with a well equipped living room and outdoor porches to enjoy your glass. Drinking water provided in room decanter had a metallic taste to it and staff was quick to replace it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

15 minute walk to Cold Spring Harbor Labs

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Pros: Feels like home.
Cons: Some form of quick breakfast would be nice.
Location: Very close to Cold Spring Harbor Laboratories - literally a 15-20 minute walk or 3 min car ride.
The host (and proprietor) was exceedingly nice, welcoming, and helpful. The room was clean and very homey. My stay was excellent for my business needs (at the nearby Cold Spring Harbor Labs).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Cozy bed and breakfast

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: It was cozy and romantic. It had authentic Victorian ambiance and Dierdre was gracious and a great host.
Cons: It was slightly difficult to locate so the signage could stand improvement. Also, our room was on the first floor and the shower was on second floor.
Location: It's near the water and in close proximity to Huntington and Northport.
Deirdre was a phenomenal host. She was very personable and engaging and it was obvious she wanted to make the most of every guest's experience at her establishment. It was a beautiful setting across from the harbor and our room was very nice. I would recommend this to others looking for a unique B&B experience on Long Island.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by harriet from Cold Springs Harbor, L.I.

a very expensive disappointment

Posted Sep 18, 2013 on Hotels
a B&B without the breakfast--really a room in a private home, no TV in the room, bathroom down the hall and tub/shower down the hall and up a flight of stairs. My room was a converted porch, hardly a "garden room" at an outrageous cost. . Nice owner but hardly a cause for the rate. portable heater and portable air conditioner with overhead fan were the amenities in the room. One morning I got a muffin from Trader Joe's. All this at the rate of a 4 star hotel. Hard to believe!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great Place in Cold Springs Harbor

Posted Sep 2, 2013 on Hotels
Our stay at the Harbor Rose was extremely enjoyable. Deidre, the proprietor, is very cooperative and helped us with our various needs within the house and regarding the local sites. Everything was very comfortable (bathroom, shower, use of items from her kitchen) and the snack-food items that she provides are wonderful (organic fruits, large choice of hot drinks (coffees, teas, cider, etc.). The location of the home is just great, with a nice view of Cold Springs Harbor and its being just a short walk or drive to the heart of this small quaint town and its shops and park along the water.