Ratings based on 1,347 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice deal

Posted Nov 21, 2016
I booked this hotel for my anniversary. It was nice. The room provided somewhere for us to sit up and enjoy tv without laying in the bed non stop. The full kitchen was wonderful and clean. The refrigerator had a wonderful ice maker. The room was kinda cold at first with the cold weather that came out of nowhere however the heat was working well. I would definitely use that hotel again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Horrible experience.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
It was by far one if the worst hotel stays I have ever had. The room smelled like cigarette smoke, floors were dirty, the pillow cases smelled like chemicals, there were onion peels under the sink and I received small bites on my wrist and ankles. Made me sick to my stomach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Too Good to Be True

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Price, layout of Penthouse Suite
Cons: See my Review Details
Check in time 3pm. Showed up at 5:45pm after a long day and room was not ready. After 15 min, we got into our room. We booked the Penthouse Suite--2 BR (one downstairs, one upstairs), Living Room, Full Kitchen, 2 full baths. Layout & comfort of space was just fine, but--of the 3 TV's, we only had 2 (bracket on wall in main BR with no TV at all). 2 phones, only 1 of which worked (in the main BR)--the 2nd (in the LR) wasn't even plugged in wall & was clearly broken. Wire & phone weren't even connected to one another on end table next to sofa. Sofa was horribly & disgustingly stained. Gross. Sofabed linens weren't in closet as noted on closet door. Called at 6pm for sofabed linens, left for the eve, and upon return after 10pm, still no bed linens. Called office & they were promptly delivered. 1 of the 2 double doors into bedroom had a "fist sized" smash. Obviously someone had punched a hole in door. Room needs painted, not badly, but to cover up numerous scuffs & blemishes. Neighborhood is shaky at best. This WAS a nice establishment at 1 time in the past, but it's clear that necessary upgrades & upkeep are neglected. Bathrooms were clean--shower worked great. Free breakfast buffet was very nice because it was free--more than enough options. I reported all of this upon checkout to mgt & received a 50% discount off of my room. I FOLLOWED UP WITH EXPEDIA, AND CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS OUTSTANDING. Expedia granted me a voucher to use for a future hotel booking.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dangerous, totally not worth the time

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything, the customer service sucked
after we checked in, the hotel clerk told us how to go to our room and when we did, we found no parking available, between 100 -200 people outside drinking and being obnoxious, 1 came up to our car and told us to move, so my husband and I went back into talk to the clerk and he got rude with us and told us if we didn't leave he was calling the police on us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hawthorne Suites Party House

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: customer service , the unsafe environment
Location: the location wasn't bad because it was close to what we wanted to do
We pulled in and was assigned to building 4. We went to go park, there was no parking so we attempted to turn around, that's when we noticed there was about 20 people or more walking around and loitering with open containers of alcohol when 1 individual approached us and told us to move in an intimating way. that's when we went to the front desk to complain to the hotel clerk, he didn't have a name tag on, so we don't know his name, my husband was upset, and when he was talking to the clerk about refunding us our money, the clerk then told us he would do it when he was ready since we used a credit card, then the clerk told us to get out of there or he was calling the police on us. Then next day we filed a complaint with the Hawthorne Corporate office because we couldn't get anyone to answer the phone at the hotel to get a refund. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from f

Find somewhere else

Posted Oct 21, 2016
No air conditioner which worked hot the room was in poor condition mold on the ceilings generally overall run down
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Visit at your own Risk

Posted Oct 12, 2016
When I first arrived there were 2 extra mattresses lying against the window. After getting them moved out, problems just continued. There was a teenage party taking place in one of the suites and everyone in the city got the invitation. The teenagers were patrolling in and out of the parking lot, taking every available parking spot. When there wasn't anymore parking spaces, the teenagers continued driving in and turning around constantly. The traffic flow continued for hours! There wasn't parking for paying guests and management did nothing about the traffic flow or the party, that I know of.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gunshots and late night partying

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Friday night was spent listening to late night partying to more than 3am. We were in a rear upper suite that minimized the noise and commotion. Saturday night had even more late night partying that was punctuated with fighting and gunshots after 2am. After the gunshots the crowds dispersed and still we were very leery of leaving our room. Don't stay here on the weekend, unless you want the above!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colliers WV

Worst place I have ever stayed!

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: poor location
When we entered the room loud music was playing from clock radio and had to unplug it because time couldn't even be set on it (it was broken). I thought somebody was occupying room because the bed was not completely made and pillows were in disarray on the bed. The Upstairs rooms electric did not work , the breaker was turned off and when I turned breaker on the tv was blaring and could not find a remote to turn it off. Beds were not made(no pillowcases on filthy pillows) and when I went to front desk he could only find 2 clean pillowcases. Outlets had no faceplates, mold in shower,dead roaches in kitchen,microwave and stove did not work.Walls had something white splattered and dripped all the way down to baseboard in bedroom,furniture drawers broken, no tv in bedroom. In the morning I was looking for garbage can in bathroom and when I found it underneath the sink, there was used feminine products disposed of in it which was not mine, so the garbage wasn't even emptied. I have Pictures of ALL of this if anybody is interested in seeing them! DO NOT STAY HERE!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

Nice place to lay my head

Posted Sep 26, 2016
No problems with stay Room was clean, bed comfortable and staff very friendly. I would stay ther again.