Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western Australia

Nice spacious room detached from the Inn

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Situated in the country close to St Ives and Penzance. The Inn is lively but accomodation is detached and quiet. Lovely bed. Nice meals.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: The friendliness of the staff and style of accommodation
Cons: A wardrobe in the accommodation
Location: Nicely placed for local touring - st Ives and the surrounding area.
Very friendly staff good pub food and a welcoming atmosphere
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Left early as accommodation was so poor.

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: Requires refurbishment. Not fair to take bookings and charge when accommodation is this poor.Have photos, not posted.
Damp and moldy room, moldy bathroom and broken fittings. Dirty headboard, cobwebs and spiders behind the bed. Asked for a refund and was given a long statement all about the terms and conditions of being paid by your company. My complaining ,leaving early and asking for 2 of my 4 nights money back £164.34 was classed as not payable as it was a "late cancellation" Was offered upstairs accommodation in the same damp building, which we refused. Was told this is what I should expect when staying in a Grade 2 listed building barn conversion.( I owned the same on Dartmoor for 10 years which was converted to the highest standard.)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wanted to stay longer

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to penzance, lands end and other places, the countryside is lovely.
Very enjoyable place to stay no complaints at all. We were lucky enough to have the morris dancers come in for a drink, and they sang and played instruments, it was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from aust

Nice old pub great atmosphere

Posted Jul 12, 2015
The converted barn room was fantastic with great views overlooking the fields and cattle. And roam and Karen were fantastic hosts
1 out of 5
by Tom from UK

bank holiday break

Posted May 27, 2014
Very disappointing, contacted by the Hotel a couple of weeks before we were due to stay and told they would actually be closed for refurbishment. no offer of help to find alternative accommodation. I consider that to be very poor customer service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Allan from Australia

Country Pub

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: Owners were very friendly and helpful. Food was good. Cottage was spacious and homely.
Location: It was out of the way and a little hard to find. It was midway between Penzance and St. Ives. They had entertainment Friday and Saturday nights.
I was sick and appreciated the homely cottage to rest in for three days instead of a hotel room. My husband was able to go sightseeing and call back and see if I was ok. The owners met requests for food that I felt I could eat. The surrounding areas were beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ivor from ipswich

The Engine Inn.

Posted May 23, 2012
Pros: the accomodation,friendly reception & good food.
Cons: none come to mind.
Location: off the beaten track,good views across valley
friendly reception on arrival.off the beaten track with good views across countryside.good selection for breakfast,cooked food good.very friendly public house detached from b&b rooms.very large double room,(could accomodate another 2 single beds and still be a spaciousfamily room), en-suite ,(shower no bath),modern & spotless.Will use again when in this area.THANK-YOU HELEN & STEVE FOR A VERY PLEASANT STAY.