Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by lena from Älvängen

Trevligt

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
Lite knepigt med vattnet i duschen annars ett jättemysigt rum. Fantastisk utsikt, lantlig omgivning, lätt att ta sig till städerna runt omkring. Livemusik på puben på en del kvällar. Rekommenderas
2 out of 5
by julie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Western Australia

Nice spacious room detached from the Inn

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Situated in the country close to St Ives and Penzance. The Inn is lively but accomodation is detached and quiet. Lovely bed. Nice meals.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: The friendliness of the staff and style of accommodation
Cons: A wardrobe in the accommodation
Location: Nicely placed for local touring - st Ives and the surrounding area.
Very friendly staff good pub food and a welcoming atmosphere
1 out of 5
by Anita from Österreich

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Hotels
Wir hatten das Zimmer im EG: Die Wände sind verschimmelt, der Boden dreckig. Die Badezimmeramaturen sind rostig, das Waschbecken ist winzig und es gibt nur ein billiges Plastikregal. Vor und neben dem Zimmereingang stapelte sich der Müll. Zusammengeräumt bzw. aufgebettet wurde auch nicht. Man hat den Eindruck das es immer mehr verkommt. Ich würde das Zimmer nicht mehr buchen.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Left early as accommodation was so poor.

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: Requires refurbishment. Not fair to take bookings and charge when accommodation is this poor.Have photos, not posted.
Damp and moldy room, moldy bathroom and broken fittings. Dirty headboard, cobwebs and spiders behind the bed. Asked for a refund and was given a long statement all about the terms and conditions of being paid by your company. My complaining ,leaving early and asking for 2 of my 4 nights money back £164.34 was classed as not payable as it was a "late cancellation" Was offered upstairs accommodation in the same damp building, which we refused. Was told this is what I should expect when staying in a Grade 2 listed building barn conversion.( I owned the same on Dartmoor for 10 years which was converted to the highest standard.)
5 out of 5
by Ken from Talygarn.

A really good, friendly Inn.

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
This was a four night stay as part of a 16 night holiday. The Engine Inn is remote and in wonderful scenery. Criplesease is not much more than the Inn itself! The rooms are in a converted barn one on the ground and one on the first floor and are very generously sized. We had the first floor with excellent shower room and lots of space. The Inn provides first class food and is very popular with locals who must come a long way to get there! We have never before had the answer we got when asking for the breakfast menu. "There is no menu, tell us what you want and we will make it!" First class all round.
4 out of 5
by Adam from Devon

The Engine inn

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
Great pub, friendly staff, well stocked bar, food very good, room lovely and view amazing
5 out of 5
by Lynn from Dublin, Ireland

Character, cuisine and company!

Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Location, "staff" (more like on-location buddies!), room, food and final touches were all simply perfect. We arrived late after an early start and looooong drive. We found the Engine Inn and were welcomed by Adrian who showed us out back to our accommodation. I was gobsmacked and admittedly relieved! I thought the rooms would be above the pub but it's actually a separate building out back. The bed was huge and the room authentic. I wasn't looking for high class splendour - I wanted character and history and a real feel of Cornwall which is exactly what this accommodation gave in abundance. We had dinner in the pub and it was our best meal in Cornwall! The gammon was cooked to perfection - the pasty a marvellous introduction to that Cornish delicacy. Breakfast was whatever we wanted at a time that we wanted it. The Cook was fantastic company first thing in the morning chit chatting in between serving. We didn't get the weather that we wanted in Cornwall at all which was a massive disappointment for me but that didn't and couldn't detract from the good feelings we left with from the Engine Inn. On check out I never got to thank Adrian and Karen for our stay so I hope this review will suffice. Thank you so much! We loved everything about the Engine Inn❤️
4 out of 5
by Nigel from Sidmouth

Proper relaxing night to rest the weary legs

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
Very warm welcome on arrival . Shown to a fantastic little room with a massive bed and home made short bread ! We went to the pub for dinner in the evening and had an engine pie it was great value for money . Friendly atmosphere and great live band on too We where asked when we wanted breakfast in the morning the night before . The breakfast is self was fantastic !!! All freshly cooked and not greasy . Not sure what the little round meaty things where but still ate them as they where tasty All in all a great stay