Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

2.3 out of 5
37% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2017
The room was dirty you had to Skype to another hotel for them to check you in and had to wait till they drove down from the other hotel with your key
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wv

Avoid!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Terrible place took three hours to get in a room. Building is dated, tv and heat didn't work
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester, PA

You get what you pay for.

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: Reasonable price in convenient location for purpose of visit. Very comfortable bed.
Cons: In Room 213, replace noisy fan in HVAC unit, defrost refrigerator, refill soap containers in shower stall.
Location: Scenic mountain community with lots of history. Not much to do but to visit cemetery and mountain forestland.
Only needed a place to sleep, not to be kept awake all night from a noisy HVAC unit.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TN

NOT AS DESCRIBED AND MORE

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Tearing it down and rebuilding.
Location: Location isn't bad. Near the highway, food, gas stations, etc.
First of all, when you check in, there is a man on a TV, there is no actual staff on site. Next, there are NO balconies as they are all on ground level. Next, the room. When we entered the room there were bugs on the walls and ceiling. There was a terrible smell. The room we asked for was one with a kitchen, and what few dishes were in the cabinets were dirty with old food stuck to them. There was water damage on the ceiling and the painting they had hanging in the room. Within 5 minutes of being in the room, my son, wife, and I were all bitten by something. There were MANY dead bugs in all the light fixtures. After seeing all this we were definitely concerned about the beds and possible bed bugs. I've seen responses to reviews about being in the middle of a remodel. These units HAVE NOT been remodeled in the slightest. If anything, it should be shut down for multiple safety and code violations. Highly recommend EVERYONE looks elsewhere and not stay here. Our original reservation was for a week, we checked out within 2 hours and chose another hotel 30 minutes away. Don't waste your money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Impersonal

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Had to register via Skype. Nobody around to give keycard or to officially check out with
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hanover, Pa.

Never again, would not reccommend

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything, furniture piled ontop of each other in several other rooms with windows open
Location: Not much in Covington, va. We did see a waterfall and the Hump back bridge.
The picture on expedia.com was nothing like what we got stuck with. We were suppose to have king bed and we got 2 doubles said they had no king beds. frig did not work, you could see the outside from under the door. Ice machine limited. No one there to check you in you had to talk to someone on a tv at another location. Resteraunt was at other location and since their cook was on vacation they had a substitute who really didn't know how to do breakfast. No danish, pancakes, waffles, or hashbrowns. You may want to make sure the picture that is posted for people to reserve is really what they have.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Sincerely, Cary Linskwiler, PR, Hotel Management
Dear Gary & Nance, Thank you for taking the time to review our property in Covington, Va. We are sincerely sorry that your stay with us was not 100% satisfactory. We are in the midst of upgrading our Guest Rooms. We do have a restaurant that we have partnered with to be able to provide you a Free Breakfast during your stay, unfortunately it is off-site. I will notify the Restaurant Manager of the lack of items available to ensure that that does not happen again. Again, we are sorry that you do feel your stay was less than satisfactory.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SW VA

Love what they've done with the place.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I have stayed here in the past because they are cheap and convenient. The rooms were not so hot. Apparently, the motel is under new management. The room was completely remodeled with new beds and furniture. The room was great and all the amenities were fine. Check-in and check-out was done using a video link with another hotel. Very efficient and quick. I will choose this motel the next time I stay in Covington.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WV

My room stay

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: The price was reasonable. Very easy to find. Gas station near.
Cons: The motel needs an update
Location: We were heading to the WV State Fair
The sign on the door said No smoking, but the room reeked of cigarette smoke. The people next to us had music blasting to way late in the evening. Breakfast was up the road and very crowded. We had to be at the WV State Fair early and could not wait.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Before you make a reservation

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
Trust is essential for a continued business relationship, my trust in www.hotels.com is in steep decline after booking a hotel in Covington, Virginia with you. We drove more than 600 miles looking forward to restful evening and a view of the mountain scenery from our private balcony. We were instead deeply disappointed. We walked into a tired, littered, and unclean lobby greeted by two people on a TV screen asking our name and checking for our reservation. What, we wondered, was so dangerous about this hotel or city that the manager had to hide behind a TV screen. The code to our mail box where we would find the key to our room didn’t work. Help came not from a room behind the TV screen, but from a pleasant young man who drove over from somewhere to meet us in the lobby. The room or hotel was not one to which we would ever return. The door to the room to the left of us was missing a lock, the room to the right stored hotel furniture. Our room appeared to be one of only two or three rooms in the whole complex rented. Like the lobby, the room was very tired and worn out. There was no promised balcony, only a cement step between the door and our parked car, nor was there promised wifi (unless they counted the tv screen in the lobby with the skyped attendants the available wifi). The sheets were clean, but the rest of the room was sorely neglected. Before you recommend a hotel, I suggest you make certain it is worthy of your recommendation.
1 out of 5
by Patricia

Don't stay here!

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
This property was in the process of being remodeled and was really not fit for occupancy! There was not a live person in the registration area. There was no wifi, no phone service and no "balcony" as listed in the web site. PLEASE TAKE THIS PROPERTY OFF YOUR WEB SITE!