Ratings based on 239 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Brilliant staff, nothing too much trouble Rooms clean and comfortable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from York

Great for proximity to airport but that's about it

Posted Oct 21, 2017
A very basic hotel. Room was a bit dated and I could hear other guests coming and going very clearly. Wasn't sure how to lock my door other than with the security chain so didn't feel as safe and secure as I would have liked. However, it was being greeted by the reception staff with "Alright." rather than "Hello" or "Good evening" and that they stayed sat in their chair as I approached that set the tone for me. I was after a hotel close to the airport and I got it. That's about the best I can say for it. And at least it was cheap.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff. But room was poor.

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Breakfast was good. However Room was cold. No toilet paper. Rusty water came out of taps. Building is ex airforce base and i found out after stay its supposed to be haunted.
1 out of 5
by Steve

Not Good - I could do much better.

Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Hotels
Not good. I stay over 4 nights a week throughout the UK and usually stay at hotels specifically catering for corporate customers. I stayed at the St George because it was close to my place of work. Upon arrival the service was ok but the receptionist did not have that welcoming way about her and to be honest did not seem motivated probably by the lack of other customers. I was aware how the place seemed void of other customers and just lacked the vitality that other hotels have. My room was old and very tired and looked like it had not been refreshed since the days of Faulty Towers and I am not just being nasty but honest. The bed was old and carpets needed a good deep clean or renewing, a lick of paint would make a big difference and the bathroom was actually a health hazard in places with crack plastic around the sink and an enamel chipped bath with a very basic tap shower attachment. I didn't feel refreshed or clean when I left for my days work so I will not be returning to this hotel. This is next to the airport so I hope visitors to the UK do not spend their first night here as it would give the impression that this is the standard of our hotels. It's basically a throwback to the bad old days of the seventies where we accepted anything. I would shut the hotel down rather then run it in this state and its a shame because it is a site of national interest. Whoever owns the hotel please take stock, look at what you are offering - a bad experience for around £50?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicester

overnight stop

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: maybe the decor but I think it is undergoing refurbishment
Location: only stopped over for the night
very clean lovely staff excellent food very good value for money
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay...

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel, less than two minutes walk across the parking lot to Tees Valley Airport. Friendly staff, hotel clean and quiet. Rooms basic and need updating; however, the beds are comfortable and proximity to the airport are the reasons why I use and will continue to use the hotel.
5 out of 5
by neil

racing weekend

Posted Aug 5, 2017 on Hotels
lots of history from surrounding area next to airport but we hdd no noise issues could do with a bit of cleaning in places
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ipswich, England

Very pleasant stay.

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Clean, comfortable and friendly.
Cons: Happy with all aspects.
Location: Business stopover so not applicable.
Stay was business rather than pleasure but still an enjoyable visit. Staff were helpful and friendly, room was clean and comfortable and food, simple but tasty. Would be happy to return as feel it was excellent value for money. Highly recommended.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from darlington uk

Too far out of the way

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Walls were all scratched and there was no shower gel or soap/only one set of towels+only a few t/bags etc. Beds were made badly
4 out of 5
by Glenn

Peaceful comfort

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
A place I look forward to returning to. See my initial impressions. ALL the staff I spoke to, from the night porter to the receptionist, were friendly and helpful. Yes, some fittings were tired. Yes, there was dust, but the room was large and great value. Breakfast scored well and the desk and chair were more than adequate. P