Ratings based on 239 Verified Reviews

2.0 out of 5
26% of guests recommend
2.2 Room cleanliness
2.4 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
1.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Horrible customer service and nasty rooms

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: The only good thing is that it was right there by the beach
Cons: This hotel is old and dont let the pictures kn here fool you, this pictures were probably when they first open this place
Rooms were nasty and customer service was horrible there is nobody at the front desk and you have to go to the little concenience store on the end of the hotel to speak with somebody
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Horrible place

Posted Oct 1, 2016
This is literally the worst hotel that I have stayed at, there is nobody at the front desk, you have to go to the store at the end of the building to check in and out, the rooms smell, the ice machines do not work and horrible customer service
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Bedford, MA

would not recommend to anyone!

Posted Aug 9, 2016
This hotel was so dirty when you got up from your bed to use the facilities you had to wash you feet again before getting into bed which was a hard thing to do since they don't provide soap!!!! The maid would only bring towels and empty the trash. NEVER CLEANED THE BATHROOM OR CHANGED THE BEDS!!! When I first got there I was late because my flight had to detour around a storm and they put us in a room that looked liked someone had already used it and made me sign a paper because the AC didn't work right! I'm in Florida mind you!!!! And the volumn wouldn't go up on the tv! I asked to be changed to a different room which they did. I had a beautiful view and was right next to the pool which was the best part of this hotel stay! After putting up with it for 6 days I made a new reservation at the Residence Inn in Orlando where I was treated like a queen and the place was spotless, had everything I needed, was close to restaurants and many things to do and the main part was only an extra $30 a day! Very affordable!!! Ocean Shore Resort should add new pictures of how runned down it is!!!! Oh by the way I always leave the maid $5 or more a day but didn't do it at the Shore bc half the time my husband was going to the desk to ask for the room to be cleaned or getting towels and washing down the counters himself!!! I will never go there again and I will let all my friends and Facebook friends along with Expedia and trip advisor know!! They should send my money back for ruining my vaca!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Run Away!

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Everything needs improvement. Place should be condemned.
Location: On the ocean. Boardwalk and shops within short drive.
DO NOT STAY HERE ... Balcony doors barricaded. AC almost non-existent. Musty. No shower head. Elevators didn't work; we were on 4th floor. Wifi only available in lobby. Continental breakfast was located in a hot room behind the DUMPSTER and consisted of cereal and white bread. Staff not willing to make any room changes.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TN

Won't be back

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: location and view were good
Cons: Hotel was probably nice at one time. needs some TLC
Upon arrival we were told that due to AC issues, we were not allowed to even open our patio door (negating one of the main reasons for staying on the beach). We were told we could cancel our reservation with no penalty but because we arrived so late we did not have time to search for another hotel so stayed that first night. The elevator was terrifying. It was in terrible condition and we were actually afraid as we rode it. The corridors smelled of stale beer and the entire hotel was extremely run down. The beds were terribly uncomfortable and the carpet was nasty. However, the staff refunded the rest of our reservation the next day with no penalty or hassle.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

just plain horrible

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: stay at another place
Well where do I begin, horrible. Place smelled old and like it had been closed up. Things were broken everywhere in the hotel room, and just dusty. Towels still felt wet as if not dryed completely. Staff was nice, but the hotel was a complete mess. Continental breakfast was cereal, toast, milk, juice, and coffee nothing special. Pool area was even more outdated...Don't stay there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Jeep Beach

Posted May 6, 2016
Very disappointed with hotel phone in room didn't work elevator out of svc room on 4th floor patio door very difficult to open seal on door to patio bad next room smokers and room had smoke coming in through closed door very loud neighbors couldn't call office phone didn't work. Was there for birthday wkend and hotel was very dissapointing
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Disappointing

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: I chose this for breakfast, pool and ocean. NOT worth it. Birds in pool 24/7
Cons: sliders you could see out of, keep birds away from pool. privacy panels on decks fix elevators. post no breakfast served.
Location: I did not have a car. There was nothing close by unless you have a car.
sliders were dirty and warped. deck did not have privacy so others could see into room. toilet rocked, toilet roll so cheap it would spring off. used a towel for floor, housekeeping hung it up, did not clean coffee maker. not sure they did anything manager was unfriendly to me when I mentioned no breakfast. He said he saw me sitting in lobby and if I asked him he would have sent me to the convenience store. I heard 3 other guest asked 4 breakfast and all were told that it was discontinued. I left afternoon and asked for a partial rebate he was nasty to me. BIRDS were in the swimming pool all the time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Terrible hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Pros: The location on the beach.
Cons: Everything else.
Location: The beach was right outside the hotel. Activities and restaurants were quite a walk away. A car is a definite plus. There is a bus stop right outside.
I wasn't expecting much when we booked this hotel but we received even less. The hotel was not updated but that was not a concern. The hotel advertised having an iron and ironing board in the room but there was none in ours. The hairdryer in the bathroom was broken. I tried to call the front desk to report it but the phone was broken also. I asked at the front desk for a replacement hair dryer, which they said they would send up. When we checked out four days later it still had not arrived. We were staying on the fourth floor. A working elevator was hit or miss. The window in the elevator had been shattered by a projectile of some sort but wasn't replaced. The "breakfast," which was available from 7 to 9 AM, consisted of incredibly weak coffee ( although there was none at all on one of the days), dry cereal, soggy English muffins or semi stale bagels. The "orange juice" was weak powdered drink mix. The staff was pleasant but it was obvious they were limited in what they could do to improve the stay. The only thing that I could state as a definite positive was the location directly on the beach. I would recommend paying a little more and staying somewhere else.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Posted Apr 14, 2016
3 rooms in 2 nights. First room was filthy including dead bugs in the bathroom, a small amount of trash in the floor, and hair in the bed sheets. The other one had more insects than I could kill. The third had dirty towels in the bathroom. I will say I appreciate that after some help from Expedia the manager refunded the entire trip.