Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's more for older people!

Posted Aug 16, 2015
One night stay as best . No good for kids .theres a nice pool didn't use . Very quit which is good ..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Vintage hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Vintage -and all that comes with that term. The first room assigned to me was above the kitchen and the noise was unacceptable. The MOD put in in a better room that had been recently renovated - to some extent. Clean, but in very tired condition.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Samira from New York

Decent Stay with Several Caveats...

Posted Feb 25, 2015 on Hotels
I hesitate to be too harsh in my review because all the interactions my boyfriend and I had with the staff over our Valentine's weekend stay were very pleasant. They were helpful and accommodating, though few in number (I counted a total of five). It's also clear that, were it bustling with guests, Wolf Hollow would feel a lot less like a repurposed country club and a lot more like a quaint hotel. There is a bit of vintage charm to it, and the windowed bar overlooking the property is definitely cool. That said, our largest complaint was in fact that it felt empty. I'm sure some couples would love an isolated rural retreat (and the surrounding land certainly is beautiful, especially in the snow) but our paranoid minds felt a little like we were in the setup for a horror film. It was dead silent at night, at least on the Thursday check-in and following day. It made us a bit hesitant to dine there (alone) or get too comfortable. We also missed a couple creature comforts we're used to in other hotels like a desk, extra waste bin, large TV, refrigerator, and of course, room service. The cost of the stay, however, is unquestionably GOOD. My final say is: if you're coming for a quick ski trip, ask yourself if you'd prefer this somewhat charming, somewhat creepy estate in the hills, or a rundown motel for the same price. My pick is still the former!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful property, but poorly renovated.

Posted Feb 25, 2015
The staff arrive at 8:15 am and leave at 4:00 pm daily, so we only saw someone at the front desk the day we left. We were the only guests at the hotel. The other people we saw were the workers changing rugs in the rooms. We got a "remodeled" room, which meant that the walls were freshly painted and the carpet was new, but the doors were old and did not lock properly, the furniture was dated and bulky and the layout was really uncomfortable. There were beds, an armoire, some chests of drawers, a mini-fridge and an old TV. No chairs or couches to sit down! Plus, we found 8 dead round bugs in the bathroom and along the windows, and hairs inside the drawers. THE WI-FI IS TERRIBLE! There is no restaurant in the premises. This property has the potential of being a wonderful hotel, but the "renovation" is poorly done and the rooms still look old after all the work. What a pity!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice Clean Cozy Big House

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels
It was a very nice family ski trip to Shawnee Mountain. Hotel was only 5 miles down from the ski area. This is not a quality hotel, but very cozy, very clean, nice staff, they do everything possible to make customers happy. what else do you expect. The only thing is you can not set the temperature in your room during the winter. Central heating can be set by the thermostat in the hallway. Thanks to everybody helped us during our 3 nights stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel to stay for skiing

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels
I and a group of 12 friends got 3 rooms here for a night for only $291! We were crashing here for a night between days of skiing at nearby camelback mountain. It was a GREAT place to stay for a night. Simple hotel, roomy, fairly clean, and a real quaint feel to it. Best part was how nice everyone was. The staff was very friendly, and when we went to the hotel bar we got very very cheap drinks and the bartender poured everyone free shots. In the morning, there was a bad ice storm that made us stay around the hotel a little longer than we liked so the staff (despite the kitchen being closed) made everyone breakfast, coffee, and juice. It was a little far from the ski resort (20-30 min drive) but DEFINITELY worth the drive. Would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to anyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Alice from Rockville, MD

New Years Eve

Posted Jan 7, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed the amazing surroundings and antique golf hotel/resort. The children enjoyed the big, warm fireplaces they lit up on New Years Eve. The service at our NYE dinner was not as good as we would have expected, but the food was pretty good other than the overdone baked potatoes. There is no coffee until 9am, which is late for us. The staff were personable, hardworking and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

A hidden charm in Pocono.

Posted Dec 29, 2014 on Hotels
We enjoyed it so much and will definitely go there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

friendly staff, but run down hotel

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: the hotel staff were friendly and pleasant. the views of the mountains were lovely
Cons: update the rooms and facilities, clean the dust, and mustiness from the place. we all had allergy problems sleeping there. get rid of bugs in rooms
Location: beautiful views of the mountains, poor food options nearby
we were disappointed by the condition of the hotel. it was old, dingy and run down. it was an allergy bomb for us too. there were multiple bugs in the room (lady bugs mainly but also a larger slow crawling ugly bug) that freaked my kids out. there were few amenities there. it felt like a hotel lost in time and place. the hotel staff were all very nice and pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall a nice place.

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff. Nice golf course and views. Close to a moderate hiking trail.
Cons: Rooms need more updating
Overall a nice place. Our first night was excellent. Dinner and drinks at the bar with good conversation. The staff is very friendly. The grounds were well kept. The golf course was nicely manicured and the atmosphere very peaceful. We had a couple problems with the room we received. There was a recurring banging noise that went from early morning until late evening. We couldn't even take a nap after our hike. We suspect a that a door or something in the kitchen below Room 4 needs to be fixed. Anyway if we ever go back, we will not accept a room on the west wing.