Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice old hotel but not a lap of luxury cold

Posted Nov 30, 2017
My guest would not stay the night the room was cold and they said the heat cold not be turned up he brought us s portable heater which would not heat up the second room which looked like a long narrow closet with two singles staged end to end
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Sigh of relief

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Our room was clean & cozy
Cons: The breakfast buffet.
Location: We hiked both the Bushkill Falls & the Appalachian trail & enjoyed both
After a horrible experience at another nearby Golf "Resort" from which we checked out as soon as we checked in, we were more than pleased with our room at Wolf Hollow. Since we were celebrating our anniversary, our room overlooking the practice green & beautiful hillsides was picture perfect. If we could have checked in earlier, we would have. We are looking forward to returning to Wolf Hollow again in the future. If we had a complaint, it would be that the breakfast buffet was average,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio/New Jersey

That Old School Pocono's Charm!

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Great value for the money!!! You can really feel that old school Poconos charm while walking through this old inn/country club!!! It reminds me of the old Buckhill Inn. There's even vintage photographs of golf champions who had actually won tournaments there back in 1927. Overall, the place is very well kept, and it's pretty clean. Folks, this is not some motel that you find on the side of the highway. This is a real inn! Kinda like a bed and breakfast, minus the breakfast part.
4 out of 5
by James

Charming Old Inn on a Golf Course

Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Hotels
We were in the area for a family reunion and needed a place to stay for the night. The Water Gap Country Club had one room available, and we were pleasantly surprised. It is an old-fashioned inn, probably was very glamorous in its heyday, but now a little careworn. But it was very clean and neat, beds were comfortable, and the whole place is very charming. There is still an old phone booth in the lobby. The rooms even had old style doors with transom windows, like staying in your great grandparents' house. It did have modern features like free wifi and a new smart tv. The staff was exceptionally friendly & accommodating. There is a restaurant on premises, but we did not eat there as we had a family party to attend. The grounds were lovely (it is on a golf course, after all). We would definitely stay there again on our next trip to PA
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017
Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We are currently working on updating the building and the rooms. If your in the area again, we would love for you to stay with us. Please call us directly for a reservation and mention that you stayed with us before for a special rate. Thank you for noticing that our staff was great and accommodating. We work hard to please our customers. Thank you again for your review we take them very serious.
4 out of 5
by Robert

Posted Sep 2, 2017 on Hotels
Good area. Nice spot even if you do not golf. Not much to eat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to you staying with us again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

"Would" have been a good overnight stay but......

Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
Room had nothing in it but bed and television. We arrived close to 6 pm and kitchen was about to close but accommodated us nevertheless. The room above us was making a lot of footstep noise all night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017
Thank you for your review. We are currently updating the rooms but have not completed them yet. All rooms are getting new televisions, paint jobs, carpets getting ripped out and new HVAC systems. Unfortunately our hotel is 100 years old and you can hear noise. Our sincerest apologizes. We hope you stay with us again.
4 out of 5
by Andrew

Could be a Gem with some TLC

Posted Aug 26, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely located stay, however, no one around, key left on desk which was fine, had to drive to gas station as no water or drinks of any kind left in vending machine. Tiki bar outside with pool but had no glasses left, had one beer at 7pm and then disappeared and shut, wifi didn't work until next morning, no one on site until morning also golf club closed which was annoying as would have loved an evening round. Rooms tired with peeling paint, this place could be amazing with some love and attention!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017
Andrew, Thank you for your review. We take our reviews very serious. We are in the process of updating our rooms with new paint jobs, televisions, new flooring and beds. The Wifi in this area is very spotty unfortunately as we are in between two mountains. Our pro shop usually closes around 6:00 pm I am sorry that we missed you. The bar closes around sunset on most weekdays during our slower time. We hope you will stay with us again sometime and please let us know that you would like to golf if it is later we will surely accommodate you. Thank you again for your review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mount Prospect, IL

Quaint, but unpleasant...

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: the view
Cons: the staff, the beds, and an air conditioner cleaning (very musty)
Location: golf, close to Delaware Water Gap
I was looking forward to staying at such a quaint hotel; however, it did not live up to our expectations, mainly due to unpleasant staff. The woman who checked us in was very pleasant and helpful. She mentioned the breakfast. When my husband asked if it was complimentary, she told us that it was and gave us the name of the employee to talk to. The next morning, when we spoke with this employee, she told us that no one had told her about a free breakfast. She walked away and I overheard her loudly complaining to another co-worker. Since this was a roadtrip kind of vacation, we had a cooler of snacks and some left over pastries from Amy's Bread in Manhattan (highly recommended!!). We decided to eat them outside since there was a magnificent view and because we didn't have any seating in the room (other than the beds). While we were enjoying our view, coffee, and pastries, that same employee came storming over acting as though we had stolen food from the buffet. When it quickly became apparent that this wasn't the case, she said that signs were posted everywhere that said that we couldn't have outside food. We had not seen any such signs. When pressed further, another employee showed us one sign that was posted by the golf course. Since we had arrived at night, we hadn't seen this sign. We had noticed some strange air conditioner smells in the upstairs banquet area and the mattresses were rather old and uncomfortable. This, however, was more forgiveable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and your review. We take reviews very serious. I apologize about the miscommunication between the front desk person and the server. Our employee should not have spoken to you or about you in that manner. I will address that employee directly. We are in the process of updating the rooms, heating and cooling units and the mattresses and beds. Again thank you for staying with us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Barnegat, NJ

The dirtiest I have ever stayed in.

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The county side and surrounding areas are beautiful.
Cons: At a minimum clean it. At best tear it down and start anew.
Location: On the morning that we checked out. We asked if there was any where that we could have a light breakfast. they suggested that we go into town, however
We arrived at 4:30, at their recommended time. They informed us that the rooms they had available were not the ones that we had requested. We had requested 2 kings. They were finally able to grant us one king and one double. The king was on the second floor but the double was on the third floor, no elevators. I don't know who's job it is to clean these room but they obviously haven't been doing their job. The rugs are filthy, the air conditioning unit in the window made noise, the curtains couldn’t be closed so the morning light streamed in at dawn, only one night stand and lamp. But, the worst thing of all was the mold in the shower and shower curtain.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. I apologize that the rooms you wanted were not available. We do try to accommodate the best that we can. We are currently in the process of updating our rooms. We are ripping out all carpeting, putting in new beds and televisions and repainting the rooms. We are also installing blinds in the room so the morning light does not come through. We are also putting in new HVAC units in each room. I apologize for the curtain in the shower. That was addressed immediately. Again thank you for staying with us and we will work hard to fix the problems that you experienced.
5 out of 5
by Winter

Beautiful!

Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017
Thank you!!! We also think it is beautiful. We look forward to you staying with us again soon!!